BT Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.8 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 9301 customer ratings since 2020-05-14 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,097 Customer Reviews over 78 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    WIMBORNE
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I utterly resent using these people. I am paying 45 a month for 8mb download and that has been completely unreliable on a daily basis, I have so many calls logged each time after a few weeks the service drops back to unusable. This all resulted after moving, in their defence BT was ok at my previous address. BT as a company should not be granted the monopoly to dictate our internet infrastructure as we are clearly falling behind our competitors in Europe, whilst they make more and more money. You are a disgrace BT and all the directors involved.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    uk
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Can not wait until contract is over. always losing connection, its the worst internet we have ever had. the router is rubbish.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Eastleigh
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Usual story, shocking customer service. Recently rejoined BT after many years away and replaced Sky for phone, broadband and TV. Broadband usually ok but drops out for no reason making the TV unviewable. Have missed numerous shows that I like to record on Discovery and Nat Geographic channels. Seems to be every few days I have to go through rebooting everything to get it working, only to see the connections lost within minutes. Have had an engineer out to no avail and given a very long cable to hardwire the set top box to the router - an unacceptable solution as far as im concerned. Wish I had never binned Sky, particularly for BT who have demonstrated exactly why when I can finally extricate myself from their contract wont be seeing me as a customer again. Ever.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    West Wales
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    If things are going well it's OK..BUT when things go wrong you've got a problem! On the technical side the Indians can only sort things up to a certain level but they don't know that,keep plugging away and get frustrated...and so do you! On plans and billing if there's a mistake the call centre staff can't get their head round the complexities of the plans. I signed up for a BT Sport plan avoiding the £5 charge by signing up for an additional 12 months. I was then sent a letter to say I would be charged. Phoned and told I was definitely on the 'no play' plan. Bill arrived,I had been charged. Phoned again, was told it would be rectified- it wasn't. Phoned again-told it would be rectified -we'll see! Call centre staff are lovely but they can't understand and/or rectify the errors.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cirencester
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    An explemary example of a company totally out of control.Moving to BT ? A unique experience. Duplicated customer accounts , billing cock ups, unintelligible customer service reps , the list is endless. Commenced service early December with promises of this speed and that. Result no where near ! Switching supply to another provider . Interesting that responses to emails to customer service take forever but cancel and you get one in two hours ! So on an 11month unexpired contract at £40 per month you can expect to get one of these emails.

    As you're still within the minimum term of your contract, you'll need to pay a charge for each month you've got left. We expect this to be £469.96 by the time you move.

    You'll also need to pay:

    £65.00 for BT broadband equipment charges
    £152.09 for BT TV equipment charges.

    This email was just after receiving one offering higher speeds e.g 76 Mbps if I signed up for 18months irrespective of the fact current contract is 52 Mbps and actual is 32mbps if you are lucky. Forget writing to OFCOM they are weak and totally unable to control BT. Lots of very bad publicity is what is needed ..
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Shropshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    overall poor. Since I decided to quit BT ive had 4 fraudulent telephone calls maintaining they're BT until I ask for their number then they hang up. This has been reported. They maintain there is a fault with the system

    Beware
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newmarket, Suffolk
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely dreadful. 0.44MB download speed! 0.22 upload? Our experience with BT has been uniformly poor. Never again. I am happy to walk away from our contract if I could be sure of finding a better supplier
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Wish I had stayed with plain broadband, i keep loosing infinity many time per day, I've been writing this now for half an hour, Witten it 4 times, but haven't managed to finish it as it keeps going down. Lost it again, now it's back. Wonder for how long.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Louth, Lincs
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have just sent the following to the BBC: Well, it's 2014, I have high-speed broadband, and I can't listen to The Archers on iPlayer because it cuts out every few seconds, sometimes coming up with the 'insufficient bandwith' message. This is for radio, not TV! I'm sending the same email to BT. No doubt you'll both blame each other. Either way, it's a disgrace in this day and age.
    Livid of Louth. So now I leave it to you guys - who's going to take the blame, the Beeb or BT? I'm told I have 40meg download speed, and yet I can't stream a radio programme...???
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Newhey - Rochdale
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    I have had a couple of problems with my Broadband
    over the past couple of years with BT. However on contacting them my problems have been dealt with efficiently and quickly. On the last occasion they even sent an engineer around the next morning and as a result my broadband was back online faster than ever. They may be a bit more expensive than some other providers but service they offer is worth every penny. I certainly can recommend BT.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ramsey
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Avoid this cowboy company at all costs. Literally the worst company I've ever had the misfortune of dealing with. Had no phone or broadband for over 12 weeks now. Six engineer vists scheduled but none have ever turned up. It's getting to the point where I have no where to turn but pursue the legal route. This company are a bunch of lying con artists who do nothing to help there customers.Avoid Avoid Avoid !!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Worthing
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolute joke of a company.

    Engineer was supposed to come between 8-1. Got to 1.30 so I called BT and they said the engineer booking failed. Had no explanation, no apology. I had no call or email to let me know of this change.

    Not one person I spoke to was English, I couldn't understand a word they were saying. In total was on the one for 2 hours! JOKE never join BT
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I pay just over £50 a month and the broadband keeps dropping avery 10 minutes. The worst experience ever is wich BT. Please do yourself a favour and don’t choose BT. Complete nightmare
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!
    One of the slowest connection ever tried. The signal keeps dropping 'till there's no connection at all. I have been calling them for 1 month for having it fixed. After 1 month they send an "engineer" who only change the socket and guess what? problem still running
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Wales
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hi everyone !
    Me and my fiance are with Bt since Jun 2013. We lived in LLandudno for 3,5 years and we had network disconations and speed internet problems. My fiance alredy spend on phone over 50 hours talking to Bt staff.
    Now we live in Colwyn Bay and you can gues it is the same crap and again useless phone talks with BT staff.
    I do not know if i have to laugh or cry, becouse for 75MB we are paing over 50 pounds and we can not change our bordband becouse of our contract !
    It is my nightmare becouse i loooovee playing mmorpg and i need strong conetion. I really want to cry.
    I am absolutly unhappy with BT it is an expansive nightmare.

    Aleksandra
  • Reviewer
    Location
    oxford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I ordered my broadband 2 months ago, including installation, it took 4 weeks to get my kit delivered and BT then decided not to send somebody to install my broadband because i already had a socket in the place i moved in. After delivery, for 2 weeks the internet did not work and i had several calls with the "helpline" until they finally sent some engineer. Now, since again 4 days after the engineer was here the internet is still not working. I paid more than 50£ of phone bill for the "helpline" and am being told the line is still not working. I wanted to cancel after 14 days but was told to wait for the engineer. Now they tell me i have to pay !!300 £!! Cancellation fee because the 14 days are over although i pad already 3 weeks for internet which is not working. I wasted every day 1-2 hour on the phone trying to talk to somebody with no result, had to take off hours at work to wait for the engineer, cannot do my work from home, will getbtroubles with taxes becausei cannot do my online banking and ALL BT DOES IS TELLING ME THAT THEY ARE SORRY AND THEY WILL TRY TO FIX IT??? NO REFUND ON MY PHONE COSTS, NO REFUND ON MY HOURS OFSPENDING ON THE PHONE AND THEY REFUSE TO CANCEL MY VCONTRACT??? i have never experenced such bad customer service, normally i have been with virgin media and never had such issues. DO NOT GO WITH BT!!! Its a waste of money, time and nerves!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Erith
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hi everyone,

    I signed up to BT fibre broadband in August 2017 in what otherwise seemed a smooth transfer which took just over 2 weeks to complete - a very good sign you'd say. Within two weeks after the service started, I started experiencing drops in connection every evening with router blinking amber, fluctuating connection speed and juddering video/gaming. So I reported my fault with BT helpline (which is based overseas, so often understanding them was an issue in itself) and the saga began. Instead of calling an engineer, BT kept resetting my router and sending me "helpful tips" how to make my broadband better - which worked for probably 30 mins, sometimes even less. Having called them for approximately 20 times (and each call was taking no less than 30 minutes), I finally managed to convince the customer service representative to call the engineer - guess what, she never called one in, although it was promised. Later on, I was promised a wifi booster and a 15m cable to rectify the issues - they have never been sent to me. I was also promised that I will receive refund for these months when I had no quality connection. Finally, in the end Dec 2017, fed up with non-existent quality and constantly dropping connection I threatened to leave - at which point BT customer service managed to call the engineer in who came in around 7th of January and identified the problem with the BT exchange, after which the connection was okay, albeit not perfect.

    A couple of days ago I called BT and asked whether they refunded me for three months of no connection and my pain and time spent on the phone with them - I reckon about 25 hours by that time. In response, I was told that they could give me £10 as a goodwill gesture as they apparently cannot refund monthly fees past 120 days(!).

    Over past 10 years or so I've been a customer of O2, Sky and Plusnet, but at no point I had such a dreadful combination of poor connection, incompetent customer service and false promises.

    I will be taking this to the ombudsman to make sure this experience is heard and appropriate action is taken.

    My takeaway is - if you keen to spend hours of your precious time on the phone and get no result - sign up to BT broadband. Otherwise steer clear.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dartford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    5 Routers Later Connection Still Drops

    After contacting BT 6 times and 5 Hub5's later enough is enough. The router resets itself many times a day and all BT do is send another router. Clearly it's not the router and after some investigation it appears the BT network is overloaded. According to a professional BT wire everybody onto the same ring and that can not handle the bandwidth of everybody at peak times.

    I contacted them a few weeks ago and they said they would monitor the connection. 8 router resets later over 4 days they claimed it had not dropped in the 4 days they was monitoring. Clearly they can't admit to the real issue.

    They also told us that in their T&C's it states that the connection can drop up to 5 times a day so tough luck. I signed up for 2 year contract a year ago and I'm regretting it massively.

    Any gamers or people that need a solid connection for personal use I cant warn you enough. DON'T GET BT.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Plympton
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I was stuck with BT for over a year due to my location and am now switching to Virgin. Imagine my eye popping rage when I saw that virgin offered over 3x the speed of BT for the same price!!! I picked up the phone and did battle with some fairly depressed sounding BT customer service drones. They fed me plenty of contradictory information and sales-lies before they finally granted me exit from their overpriced laim-speeds. Farwell BT, you are an outdated face on the head of my time.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    SW London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    17 Mb/s Im having, aways gives me about 1-2 Mb/s download speed. Customer Service never replies (phone/facebook/email). I you have a choice DO NOT go for BT. I have to stay with them since it's the only one provider in my area...
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have been with bt for years but very dissapointed the way i was treated. Very poor customer service with rude unhelpfull advisors. Switched to another operator now. Very dissapointing bt!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been a business customer for several years with BT and had the worst experience ever. For a few months I had one constant issue with BT business broadband in connecting to my card machine which is a lifeline to my business,a lot of customers do not carry cash,so after they dined and wanted to pay, they had to walk quite far to use an atm and a few times customers did not return to pay. I phoned BT faults department and they would take me through a few procedures to reset the connection and after a few attempts the fault re-emerged ‘Connection failed ‘. I contacted World Pay card machine provider and over the few months they changed the card machine twice in an attempt to see if it’s their machines are faulty. This was not the case and World Pay kept asking me to contact my internet provider (BT) I had enough of this constant issue that I decided to change internet provider and giving BT a months notice to terminate my contract. I was furious when I received my final bill payment and BT charging me an extra month for leaving, when I contacted BT about this they said there’s nothing they can do as they don’t have any record of any previous complaints. After wasting so much of time and effort to try to resolve the issue and to remain with BT this is what I get offered a £30 reduction, it’s an insult to all I have been through . I have never experienced such a bad level of service and this is a warning to all and specially businesses to keep their distance from BT.
    I find it an irony that when one calls BT one is constantly reminded that the phone calls could be recorded for customer service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BT is the worst service I have ever used. Over the past 3 months we've been getting broadband speeds of a maximum of 10mbps and a minimum of 0.01mbps - both of which will occur in 5 minutes of each other. After spending many hours on the phone and going through the same useless and redundant 'restart the hub' process we finally got an engineer sent to us - who assured us there were "no problems" and was gone in 5 minutes. Their customer service is appalling with a woman even hanging up on us whilst we were mid-discussion - not to mention the people we couldn't understand as they're all based overseas. I would rather pay double the price we're currently paying and go with someone else rather than BT but as they're unwilling to cancel the contract we have with them it looks like we're going to suffer till next year.
    My family and extended family have all been told of the issues we've been having and i can assure you that BT have lost customers for life because of it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The security is useless. If all passwords including the online login are reset by the reset button then all parent controls are useless!

    The customer service is awful. I ahve called about the security issue. I was first told repeatedly that my account was not with BT and that I was wrong. I provided all my details, eventually they found my account from all the CORRECT information I had provided, no appology was given. The opperator was short and rude.

    To resolve the security issuee I was told to put the router in a wooden box.

    You can buy routers that do not have this issue.

    Overall the service with BT is awful. I have had problems in the past and avoided BT for this reason. I had heard they were better... they are not.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    brighton
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    i am lucky to be able to write this review as i have a 5 minute window of being online before my BT broadband drops out again.

    I have been with BT for about a year in a property and they have sent about 10 engineers, ive called them about 50 times and still i cant even send an email without it cutting out.

    when i try to call up to downgrade the guy on the phone tries to sell me a higher priced product and tells me that new customers are higher priority.

    I then ask to cancel the TV package and only use the broadband (so i dont waste as much money as i do now) and he asks me why. I then say that i prefer to use netflix and he asks why and tries to upgrade the package again.

    I would highly avoid this company - load of rubbish.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    By far the worst service I have ever experienced, not even going to bother explaining as every other review covers the exact same crap I went through, after my 12 months is up going to switch to virgin or another provider without hesitation.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DO NOT GO WITH BT.

    Activation supposed to happen on 14/10/2016 and still nothing on 19/10/2016 with no answers.

    Indian customer service lines, on hold for at least 30+ minutes a time, no answers or explanations, always fobbed off with "we'll investigate and call you back" but never receive said call-back.

    Can hardly believe that the company has not shut down, operating the way that it is.

    Would never recommend and will be cancelling contract.

    Can't comment on broadband quality, as we never actually received any.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Uk
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    To me, BT is a stupid company. If there is no star I will choose no star.
    First, every charge is so expensive but the service is extremely bad. For example,the normal payment per month is £45 something even I didn't use any calls. The speed of the network is not quick under this price.
    Secondly, the company is overcharge. Once a time, my phone line is broken. Then I phoned the BT customer service I asked the adviser how much of the line need to be fixed. The adviser said maybe just £20 on and off. But I am shocked when I got the bill, the engineer fee is £120 something even the engineer just work less then half an hour , just fixed the broken iron wire. And also I think the company did't say clearly what is international call freedom on the contract. For example,I pay £6 per month but I always need to £10-15 per month for the international call.
    These are two major bad feelings to me so far, all the say I am extremely not happy with this service experience. I think BT is the big broadband company in the uk, even over the city, whey they do such bad service. They should spend time and ideas to improve the service, not how to earn more money from the customers. I want to leave this company now, but I cannot because the contract hasn't been finished. If I want to leave I need to pay £ 200 to cancel the contract. So I have to stay with it. I will definitely leave this company and won't use it any more.

    Thank you
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hitchin
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst customer care ever!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Awful customer service, I've been trying to resolve an issue for the last 8 months since I moved into a new property but it has been my worst nightmare!

    Stay away, this company doesn't give a damn about you as a customer, they will just milk you!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    As existing BT customer just attempted to upgrade from copper to fibre (Infinity) Broadband. As usual with BT this has worked OK technically, but horrendously / comically badly in terms of dealing with BT admin.
    Started with an appalling website, very difficult (for a very frequent online user) to determine current package and costs; rip-off prices for loyal customers (new customer deals for £25/ month are £50/month for existing!); after two phone calls agreed a better price, but order confirmation entirely wrong (standard prices); two phone calls, one formal complaint and a month and not sorted out the pricing. BT = B??? Terrible!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    Comments
    The worst service I have ever had to endure for anything.
    Please don't take the risk of using bt as they are truly awful
  • Reviewer
    Location
    brightonn
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    delayed my installation but did not let me know, no letter or phone call. just been on the phone for 45 minutes, 4 different departments, no progress. AVOID
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Edgware
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    DO NOT TAKE THIS BROADBAND, customer service is useless a lot of lias, is not working at all even on Facebook you can't go ...they charging for nothing...at the phone to cancel your contract they are saying you have to pay £30 for one month and £47 the fee and after they are charging £145 ...they are not serious at all...really bad customer service and experience...I fell so bad because of them...they see people like me how doesn't speak English and they trading to rope them ...be careful
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cornwall
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Diabolical treatment of customers. Heed my warning DO NOT GET INVOLVED WITH BT. EVER. YOU WILL REGRET IT.
    we moved out of our house 2 months ago I phoned BT spoke to (Sol) to ask them to cut off the phone the day we moved out, but when I realised it could be any time before midnight on that date hand to change it to the day before 2nd phone call. We have a period between moving out and we are not yet in our new house, BT (Kieron) advised me to put thing on hold as I would get a better deal as a current customer (FIRST LIE). Staying with relatives got an email as usual to "see my latest bill" I phoned to ask what was going on, spoke to 3 different people (Evette, Juliet, and David) who agreed I should not have a bill. And in fact THEY OWED ME £81.91 as I had been overcharged, for several months, I already knew that as my bill had gone up over several months from £42.59 to £65.98 but I couldn't face the trials of contacting BT. 45 minute phone call with David who said he would send me several emails with all the amounts I was owed which added up to £81.91 but he couldn't send immediately while I was on the phone because his "computer was frozen"! Ok 2 hours later surprise surprise no emails and no money back!
    I'm moving and dealing with solicitors, estate agents and surveyors so didn't have time or energy to phone BT again for another week, till I spoke to Rose who agreed BT owes me £81.91 but I CANT HAVE IT BACK AS A REFUND BECAUSE THEY DONT GIVE REFUNDS! The maximum she said she could send was£16.95 but the rest had to remain in my account "in credit for when they start to bill me at my new house when I move in". Couldn't argue any more so left it at that. 2 weeks later another email to see latest bill online. For £42.56FOR WHAT!? Phoned them again spoke to Aditya, John, and Rob (in Newcastle) they all told me I hadn't cancelled my account, it was still running and they were providing a service. WHERE FOR? I DONT OWN A HOUSE!! my number does don't exist any more! Rob was very rude and said my case is being escalated to a different department and "someone"will phone me in a few days and nothing to do with him any more. It's been "passed on".
    2 days later I got a text message saying they had tried to call me but "had not get a response". I had my phone in my hand at the time and it did not ring. 2 days later they did the same thing but as I answered they hung up on me. I have written a 3 page letter to their complaints department in Durham.
    Please read about how BT treated me, scroll down and read how they treat 1,000's of their customers. But before you choose anyone else read their reviews as well, THEYRE ALL THE SAME!!! I was going to switch to Plusnet and their reviews are just as bad. There are not many choices in rural parts of the country so you are stuck. I am still fighting them and the ombudsman will take up my case next week as it will have been 8 weeks by then with no resolution. If you are trying to fight BT or ANY of them please contact the ombudsman they will fight your corner for you.
    I can't leave no stars for customer service so have just left the lowest possible. Broadband speed and reliability ... I haven't got a phone line or broadband OR A HOUSE TO CONNECT IT TO SO that should be no stars as well!

    I am fed up with giving hours of my life over on the phone to BT.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    cardiff
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If you want to get ripped off or literally throw your money down the drain by all means join up with BT if however you don't like being conned or value your money STAY WELL AWAY!not once have i paid the amount that i signed up for half way through my contract they raised there prices without even notifying me which then on top overdrawn my bank as i didn't have enough funds to pay the bill then they charge an extra £3 a month when you do cancel your direct debit which they don't tell you about and to top it all off now when i have called up to cancel everything then call up again a month later surprise surprise no acknowledgement of me calling no record or call log?!very convenient on there behalf now to actually cancel not only have i got to pay my outstanding bill they have whacked another £30 charge on top for cancellation fee!!beyond flabbergasted and beyond disgusted and if you ever want to try and resolve anything on your account when you call there "customer service"number you are on hold every time guaranteed for at least 20mins before you even speak to anyone.And seeming as BT is meant to stand for British Telecommunications every time you get through to there call centre only once have i ever spoken to anyone british and this is me calling them literally over 100 times all there call centres are mainly primarily located in india where alot of them can't understand you and can't even speak english properly!Incompetent employees Incompetent Business and absolute sham of a company they should genuinely be ashamed of themselves avoid like the plague!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Epsom
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    "Sorry, nothing we can do" should be BT's motto
    The worse experience with anything ever. It started at the end of September when I placed an order for their full fiber 100 and TV package. It was more expensive than the competition but because it was a line take over they told me it should take only 20 days to get it set up as opposed to other companies that told me it would take a month or more. 20th of October was the initial activation date and the only thing that goes live is the landline (super useful in 2020) and nothing else. Apparently there was a need for additional work before they could get the broadband installed so I was pushed back to the 29th.

    On the 29th an engineer came and told me he could not install the fiber broadband because there is no fiber run to this building. Apparently Open Reach has also messed up their site and had the wrong details about what kind of broadband can be installed at my address. This is the beginning of the downward spiral.

    After that BT doesn't know how to deal with the problem. They put me on a temporary copper connection straight out of 1995 with less than 1Mbps speed on average and tell me it might take up to 26 weeks to fix the problem. At least the TV line was activated so good job there I guess.

    Luckily, it only take a couple of weeks for Open Reach to fix their mess but when I thought it was finally over it turns out that the original fiber broadband I have order is no longer available, in fact there is no more FTTP plan available, only FTTC. As confused as I was I said "fine get me that one and let's be done with this".

    Another small problem, because the initial order has gone through it has glitched the system and no one can cancel the order now in order to place a new one.

    Now this is the peak of autism for BT. When I call to ask for a solution someone tells me that it might be faster to make a new account in my name (the original was in my father's name) and take over the line. What he failed to mention is the penalties that will be incurred for doing so. I call them and ask them about that and they told me "it's all very unfortunate and we are very sorry but there is nothing that we can do". I was directed to the billing department to dispute it and will update this review with the results.

    So, after all that, more that 2 month of delay you would think that I finally got my services activated. Wrong! 9th of December was the new activation date and that day comes and again nothing. I called today (10th of December) and they told that they will get back to me, Almost every time they told me that nothing happened and I had to call them back.

    At his point I don't know what to say anymore. I have been treated like a door mat for BT to wipe their feet on and then I was asked to pay for that privilege. To be fair, their customer services was friendly but next to useless so what's the point?

    0/10 would absolutely not recommend, even urge you to steer clear if at all possibl
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have been using BT Infinity for a year and a half. When I had to move houses i called BT to cancel my contract, the person i talked to told me that there would be a £37 cancellation charge on top of my regular monthly bill. After that it all went wrong and BT kept emailing of outstanding bills that kept changing and no one was able to give me an explanation. I am overall very disappointed at the end of the day i had to pay what they asked in order for my account to close as it affected my credit score. I was harassed to pay a bill that made no sense because i had no choice. Would definitely NOT recommend, there are other companies out there that might have problems too but at least half as expensive on the monthly bills.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BT unable to complete my order, been waiting over a month.
    BT claim they initially made the wrong order and failed to inform me the order was cancelled. Only found out of the issue after calling BT to ask when will the engineer arrive, they claimed they never put it through even though they sent me email confirmation of the order and when engineer will arrive to set up the box.

    Later they claim they need to re order the package and will receive a call from one of the advisor confirming if it's completed. got a call to say it's now complete and will be ready next day. This went on for 4 days after which BT claim the advisors did not take correct steps as there are issues with Open Reach. So now been told I have to sit tight and wait until someone gets back to me. Absolutely speechless and so frustrating, this is the second time it's happened to me. First time I waited 6 weeks so eventually decided to go with a different provider, this time I don't have any choice as it seems BT are the only providers for Fibre.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    suddon
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been with Bt for a long time and their service sucks big time, i am supposed to be getting 7mbps download but i only get just over 2mbps, hundreds of calls to India has solved nothing over the last 6 years, i will be changing provider very soon, do not go with Bt if you don't want hassles like i have, Bt are the worst provider going in my opinion, stay well clear.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.