BT Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    3.1 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.9 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 1334 customer ratings since 2023-06-17 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,598 Customer Reviews over 90 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Disgusted to find my son is paying £58 per month for his broadband.

    For sure he will not renew and neither will I. Thats two customers lost and I'll try to persuade others to change.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst customer service I have EVER came across
    I moved house 8 days ago. Changed my details online 8 days ago. Called then 7 days ago to query why my broadband wasn't working. The details werent changed on their computer. I changed them over the phone. It still didn't work. I called the next day. Details STILL weren't changed. I changed them AGAIN over the phone. Still not working. The following day I was assured repeatedly that my details had been changed and that my broadband would be working by midnight. Shock horror the following morning it still wasn't working. I called back, was told there was nothing wrong their end. That I had to call back when I was at home and someone from the technical dept would assist me. I called back yesterday. Apparently it WAS their problem....that they were having "technical issues". But I was assured my broadband d would be up and running by midnight. Would you believe...I woke this morning and it's STILL not working. I called AGAIN at 8am today, to be told my details hadn't been changed! After an hour on the phone, being passed from advisor to advisor (most of which couldn't understand a word I was saying!), I was assured yet again that my broadband would be working by midnight, she even had to the cheek to say "you can trust me". Pfft. It's now half past midnight and surprise surprise it's STILL NOT WORKING!! After countless amounts of phone calls....each time speaking to at least 4 diff advisors. I can safely say I am sick to the back teeth with bt. They are the worst customer advisors I have EVER had to deal with
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Broadband speed is extremely inconsistent - varying from 4Mb+ to 0.5Mb-all the time. BT tech employees all appear to be in India with consequent language problems. Despite numerous complaints no lasting improvement has been achieved.The problems always seem to be blamed on "work" going on at the exchange!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Do NOT use BT, there inability to conduct a home move order and successfully complete is astonishing! An active line that gave previous tenants internet and phone at fibre speed seems impossible for BT to takeover? They promised a new line at no cost then cancelled that order too, I’ve been over a month waiting and 8 cancellations. They promise to call you back but not once have I had a callback I have always had to call them. The latest call took over an hour with no change on the order.

    I would highly recommend you look elsewhere, the perceived reliability of BT is unfounded and it is not worth your time and effort. Pay more for someone else if you must, just don’t trust them with anything.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    You sign up to an expensive 24 month contract with the first year prepaid. They hike the price after 12 months tell you you received an email 10 months in informing you of the price hike and giving you the option to leave. You show you didn't receive the email and they say this is an issue for you and your email service provider. It will cost you £300 to leave the new price hiked contact that you are locked into. BT is as scam and once I get out I will never use the again. Furious :(
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Arrogant abysmal service.
    Too focused on BT Sport.
    How on earth do they still have operational control of Openreach when they only meet certain targets and deliberately ignore the little people.
    I had BT TV with them for years before this obsession with BT Sport happened. Since fibre became available in my city area 5+ years ago I have been trying to get BT to connect the flat complex I live in as it currently has a very poor broadband connection. Typically less than 4 Mbps download and 0.44 Mbps upload. When BT 'upgraded' their TV service it became unuseable as the new service requires a fast broadband connection. I now have a Sky TV subscription as a result of this. I am now going to completely bin BT. Phone line, phone, broadband, TV, Sports, the works and move over to Sky for broadband and phone as well as TV. It will work out about the same total price (including my current Sky TV subscription) as I am currently paying these shysters £34 per month alone, on an abysmal unlimited broadband service. At least by using Sky they will be able to put pressure on these incompetents to maximise the performance of my current line. I will then try to get Sky to apply pressure to get fibre installed. My area is served by the Denburn exchange in Aberdeen and there is no excuse for not providing everyone within this area with fibre broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen, Scotland
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Extremely disappointing customer service and the line drops all the time. I would not recommend BT to anyone as the service is below standard but the price paid is way more than the competitors on the market.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    I've been a longstanding BT customer using both phone and broadband, had issues with an old router resolved (router started making weird noises but still worked, called BT and they sent out a new one sharpish). Had various packages and upgrades over the years, though it is very difficult to get a cheaper package, I have to "leave" BT and then sign up again which is annoying. Use broadband for streaming TV, regular surfing, speeds are good except streaming at peak times is not possible. Also use the openzone Wifi when out and about which is very handy. As long as I can get a good deal I will keep using them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After not having WiFi for around 6months finally got round to ordering some, had to wait nearly a month for my order to get fitted, which I took the day off work for. To find out that on the day for it to be fitted my order had failed and I would not be getting my broadband today. I had not been notified of this!! The man on the phone then offered to to set it up for me again, I was then put on hold for a ridiculous amount of time to where I had to hang up. I now need to re order even tho I have no idea which package I went for and will not probably have to wait another month for it to get fitted!! Ridiculous.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeenshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Would have preferred zero star rating for this company. I am told by the callcentre in India that I should be grateful for download speeds of 0.30 mbops & upload speeds of 0.09 mbops, as I live way out in farmland!!! Oh, and I should be pleased to pay £25 a month for this "service" - and by the way, BT gives no guarantee of decent speeds for a WIRELESS connection. Yep, this was the latest in their list of excuses. If BT had the honesty to tell me this mumbo-jumbo when I discussed the contract with them. I would have gone elsewhere.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberystwyth
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BT… a company nothing short of false promises. If you need wifi and and have it installed make sure you order 2 months in advance.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberystwyth
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I am new to bt. It has been 3 days since my bt hub has been installed and there is still no WiFi I keep on getting a solid organ he light and a flashing red B.. I have tried calling bt customer services an not only did they take ages trying to solve the problem the hung up on me for no reason. The problem still hasn't been solved... Not happy with the customer service what so ever
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberystwyth
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    Original order placed on 7th November. Given connection date of 28th November. That date came and went with no connection, no explanation as to why. After chasing them up in was given a new date of 19th December, then 20th December and finally 23rd December. My old supplier disconnected my services on the 2nd December so in all IF I get connected on the 23rd I will have been without broadband for 22 days. I have spent hours on the phone to them. Everything I call it get told something different by every call handler.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    ABINGDON
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This has been by far the worst service I have received from a broadband and tv box provider.
    1- The TV Box and hub did not arrive until a week later than the starting date and they did not modify the starting date.
    2- I was promised the big sport package which includes HD channels and had to call 2 times where they said the problem was fixed but it was not. The guys who talked to me did not what were they talking about.
    3- The third time I get to talk to someone who knows what was talking about. Also, the problem with my tv changed as well so to see HD channels it was asking to upgrade subscription. When I talk to the BT specialist he agreed that I should have HD but that it was not assigned and that I would have to pay extra money to get it. That is when I decided to cancel. Luckily enough I still was within the 14 days free cancelation Do not want to know about BT ever again.
    3- The sales guy that promise the package for a certain price was a scam. I honestly do not know how this service can get worst.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Abingdon
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    Totally useless service.Not happy at all extend my contract without asking me and charged me more than last year.Advisors are not doing their job properly. Make us disappointed not preferred at all.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Abingdon
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Been with BT nearly 2 years and I have to say what a big mistake I've done choosing this broadband provider as the services are extremely expensive and not worth a penny of what people pay..
    1 st thing they say that the broadband speed is up to 76 - NOT
    The fastest I've seen was 7 MB/s which can be classified as fraud and telling lies to customers as its far away from 76 MB/s
    Another thing is that connection is never stable and I always keep getting disconnected, tried speaking with the fault team and they've sent me a new router and nothing changed, after trying to sort that out for months just gave up ...
    all in all very expensive , very unreliable and very disappointing... Wouldn't recommend to anyone
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Abo
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Been without Internet for a week, Even though BT promised to have it sorted on 3 different occasions, today Open Reach tell me it will be out for upto a month. BT's response is to pass me from pillar to post, ending up with Paul from Cardiff. He read continually from his notes and kept going on mute to write more notes saying the same thing !!! To be honest an absolute disgrace, I've been with then for 20 odd years and they are happy for me to be without Internet for a month but won't let me cancel my contract - that's how to keep customers - what a service !! - appalling from top to bottom
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Accrington
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst company you could ever deal with don’t use bt for broadband unless you want to wait over a month to fix a fault no customer service you can spend days texting a robot though
  • Reviewer
    Location
    accrington
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I've had bt infinity for just over a year now and no probs what so ever.Then it wouldn't connect my tablet to net so I phone up customer services.....ha what a joke.they cant speak English never mindfix the issue.tried to contact their online help desk and got no reply.So now I've got no internet and yet they are still charging me for it.issue not solved and 1 very un happy customer.Would not recommend at all
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Acton
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have been trying to get the to fix a fault for 5 months. No follow up, deal with different person every time, no one calls to check whether its fixed (it isn't) no compensation despite being unable to use most broadband based services and take time off work for 4 engineer visits, won't let me out of the contract either. just woeful
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Acton
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have needed to cancel my contract, and I am currently trying to do this. It's still a couple of days into my cooling off period and I am well within my rights.

    I've been trying since last night to cancel. It was quite easy to set up with bt, and was told if I changed my mind it would be easy to leave so long as it was within 14days of starting. Well I'm trying now and finding it near impossible.

    What is not acceptable is internet providers thinking they can inconvenience you out of not cancelling. The best way to keep customers is by good customer service and good products. Get that right, people stay longer, refer others and you make more revenue. Trying to stop people cancelling by making it sp hard is ridiculous.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    acton
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Bad service bad customers services its the bad company in UK I have to much to say
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Acton Burnell Shropshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    So it has come to this, writing a review in order to vent my spleen or in the vague hope that a miracle might occur and someone leaps into action, I'm being too positive.

    I moved home in April last year using the BT Home Move Service. Since the day I moved BT have continued to charge me for two accounts, one from the old home and one from here. To add to this they sneakily added BT Sport to BOTH accounts, absolutely without my consent, I never agreed to this..ever.

    The effort I have put in every month since April last year to get them to stop illegally stealing money from me is beyond words, I would honestly punch the CEO repeatedly in the face if I was ever to see him.

    Every month, hours of my time wasted on the phone to some other country, the promises that it is sorted I hear every time and NOTHING changes, the bills keep on coming.

    If I could ask the police to go and arrest the boss of BT for stealing my money every month I would.

    The customer service is outrageously poor in every respect, from understanding the problem to downright lies about how it will be sorted. How a company can get away with this time and time again is beyond me.

    BT steals my money and when they are caught they won't pay it back, even when they say they will, not a penny received, not a problem sorted.

    Unfortunately I don't have a choice here, the minute I do then BT can go hang. Makes me sad they are allowed to use the word BRITISH, they should change it to MAFIA Telecom.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Adam
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It is a matter of fact that BT is the worst company in the UK. They do not provide anything close to a good service. When you have a problem they will lie and lie for weeks until they fix it. Customer service people are morons who don't right down any information you give them so you end up repeating yourself a thousand times in the space of 2 days and for all this pleasure you pay more than most other broadband companies around. Only reason BT is still around is because they gain all their money from line rentals. Without this they would have gone bust a long time ago.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Adlington
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Horrendous"service". No broadband for 2 weeks. Constant phone calls to try and get it sorted. Promises of "some one will call you back". Believe me - that never happens. Been on now for 3 days and told Im going to exceed my allowance. Worst decision I ever made to move to BT. DON'T BE TEMPTED. JUST DON'T DO IT!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Adlington, Lancs
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    It's generally pretty fast but does drop occasionally for no apparent reason. Never had to contact customer service so I can't rate them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Admaston Staffordshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    One * = most unsatisfactory.
    After a number of complaints to BT and various line checks etc. I am still frequently getting download speeds of just 0 .11Mbs which seems to be quite usual throughout the village. I am paying for better than this and not getting it. All I get from BT is a verbal shrug of the shoulders and offer of yet another line test.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ahoghill, County Antrim, Northern Ireland
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    At first quite good speeds and reliability though expensive. Then over the years the connections began to drop now and then. I never complained as I thought they're the best out here. Then today total failure. I completed their diagnostic tests countless times with no joy. Tried to phone their service status helpline about 7 times but only managed to get an automated message twice which informed me everything was grand where I lived despite the message being over 2 hours old. I was then told to phone their helpline however it was constantly engaged throughout the afternoon.

    Finally after 3.5 hours when I had just managed to get an answer on their helpline the broadband worked with no explanation. Never actually spoke to an engineer just heard another automated message saying we are having problems and for me to leave my name and number for a customer survey!

    I did then get a phone call back from BT on my number asking who I was! They then said oh we are having problems ourselves and so I cannot help you.

    Brilliant. I just hung up. Useless company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    AIRDRIE
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Very poor service. Plenty of process and talk but little progress in a rural location.Finally quit BT and moved to 4g. Good riddance.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Airdrie
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    Ihave had this package for six weeks it has been unavalable on three occations for up to three days the current speed is 594% less than is avalable in my area the only thing that has been reliable is the apologies from there helplines i have a contract for 1 year i hope the next 11 months sees a vast improvement.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    AL5
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    WHAT AN AWFUL AWFUL SERVICE. A BT engineer came to our house a week ago to set up the internet and left without connecting us for some line problem. He gave us no idea on when it would be resolved. Endless calls with BT to organise for another engineer to come today and they didn't show up. I thought it was an essential service what they provide????
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Albans House
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I have recently found that my broadband speed was 0.5 Meg per sec. I made an effort to improve this by contacting BT. They informed me that I could get 9-15 MBPS. I then went through the process of upgrading and was told that this would be completed by 18.03.16. I called BT on 28.03.16 to find out where my new hub was and that I hadn't seen any improvement with my broadband speed. I was then told that I couldn't get anything better than 8MBPS. They also informed me that there was no evidence of the order being place.
    I have wasted several hours of my time attempting to sort this out when it should have been quite an easy process. Also, why was I sold a package that can't be delivered?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Albourne West Sussex
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    BT have always tried hard to help me, but am faced with speed problems which do not seem to get cured.I am aware being in the country speed can be a big issue, but problem speed has been the main issue for some time.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Albrighton
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    very poor broadband speed
    had some work done 2 months ago. But says it is not connected every time we contact BT
    This service is very poor
    We need an explanation for this delay
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Alderley Edge
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Planned my trip back to the uk around this upgrade seems i live overseas now and i am rearly ever in the uk the guy arrived at 9:13 this morning and rang my bell and due to a motor accident i had i cant walk down the stairs at a quick pace so by the time i arrived down stairs all i see is the van driving away and a letter left saying ive missed them at 9 15 am im sorry but that is appalling service and now debating on just canceling and moving providers as im not going to be back in the uk again for a while and the next opportunity they said they can do is the 28th
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aldershot
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Had appointments of engineer 3 times but never turned up. When I phoned them, every time I was told there were errors. Shocking !!

    Finally managed to cancel the service. I'm so glad I'm with them anymore. It is better not having broadband than their awful service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aldershot
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Poor speed and disconnects of its own accord. Pay for 8mb and recieve a high 1.5, finally called BT and they said we where in a low demand area, although we are in a high competitive area, was also informed on upgrade the connection was due to be upgraded, this was 4 years ago???? Seriously considering changing to another provider
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Alfreton
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    After seeing the advertisement with Ryan Reynolds getting wifi signal all over his house I thought BT would be good. They are not and on contacting them I was told that the advert was completely inaccurate. So I can not get access in my entire home. Its a small 3 bed detached.
    I was told by the engineer to swap to wires in my master hub by removing the front cover. On doing this the insides fell out also.
    I called bt as that should not happen as there should be clips holding it in.
    BT said they can fix the box at a cost of £250. This was after hours of trying to talk on the online chat where they pass you from person to person and get you know where. Horrible company and I can't wait to be done with them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Allington
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Worst internet company!
    Services provided are very slow and unstable.
    Internet stopped working due to technical problems on their side, already a week trying to get engineer to come, but they are all busy, once I got sms confirmation about engineer coming, was waiting for one half day and eventually he came to a wrong address( next door to mine) but as paperwork with address is error, he decided not to come and help…
    Don’t connect to this internet service!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Allington Maidstone
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    very slow

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.