BT Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    3.1 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.9 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 5736 customer ratings since 2020-10-28 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,174 Customer Reviews over 318 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Isle of skye
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    Comments
    I was with talk talk for the last few years. Recently my broadband speeds were down to 0.5 in the evenings making watching youtube or anything impossible. I spent hours on the phone to their help line and had an engineer out who said there was no problem with the line.
    I decided to move to bt although the reviews online made me wary. I had good reports from friends who are using bt broadband. I took the plunge and ordered bt unlimited broadband with evening and weekend calls. I received my hub 2 days before connection date. And on the day of connection I was struggling on with my old talk talk connection at a speed of 1.5 and received a text from bt to say my bt broadband was ready to use. I unplugged my old router and plugged in my new bt hub. Took just a couple of minutes including taking it out of the box. The router took a couple of minuted untill the light turned solid blue and typed in the wireless key and password into my ipad and was online. Less than 5 minutes and it was surfing at a speed of 6.5 I have only had it for a week but the speed has remained above 5 in the evenings and during the day. So far very happy but I will write another review if there are any problems at a later date. I still think that getting reviews from friends and neighbours in the local area is far better than online reviews.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    shams
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I joined BT on 14/02/14, I have broadband but no land line, over 4 days I am having a hellish time, it is absolute torture, customer service is an incompetent one and have no clue and gives no help whatsoever.
    do not join, do not join BT you will regret.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surrey
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Shocked by BT's customer service/tactics when it came to leaving. First BT operator said they would send out MAC code in post and should arrive 5-10 days. After 2 weeks called again and I was assured MAC code was in the post. Called again after a further week and third operator left me on hold for 18mins only to tell me they would call me back - they never did. Called again to be told that MAC code could in fact be given out over the phone - not impressed. BT = expensive + dreadful customer service. Hopefully EE will be better - they are certainly more price competitive.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Uk London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I renewed contract with bt and as the old router was providing never-ending disconnection problem, they sent a new router but the new router was even worse than the old one that the Internet gets disconnected every five secs. I called bt and the tech guys have been doing never ending testing but would never call me back. I had to call back every single time, they promised to call back for four times but never happened. After never ending arguing with hopeless customer option team as well as tech guys for entire three days, I ended up going barking mad at them, and they finally proposed to send a new router. They are just absolutely irresponsible, useless and hopeless in helping or sorting problems out!!!!!!!!! Just can't wait till the contract ends. And no wonder why people complain so much about bt.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Argyll
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Reviewing this simply due to the fact of how shocking BT's Broadband is. For the last year the Broadband in our area has been disconnected every second night without fail during peak times for around 1-2 hours, on top of this when it is actually running you are lucky to get any decent usable connection, when streaming video's you are consistently directed to 140P, even on this you still run into buffer problems, whilst contacting customer services about the situation BT essentially said there is nothing they can do until Fibre is installed, even then I doubt their speed will be all that great. Would highly recommend not going with BT for Broadband.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Mytchett
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    WOW.
    What an awful company.
    I switched over from Sky Broadband last May, as the current infrastructure only offered me up to 2Mbps, in reality it was only 0.7Mbps.
    BT had a fibre backbone, so could offer much higher speeds. I clocked it at around 79Mbps.
    After 2 missed appointments, and 2 days off work on my part, I finally had it installed. As a goodwill gesture for wasting my time, the guy on the phone offered me my first 3 months free, which I agreed was acceptable.
    After 3 months I got a huge bill for around £190. So I called their ridiculous phone system, and on the 3rd or 4th try managed to speak to someone. They denied all knowledge of this promise of 3 months free, and I urged them to listen back to the phone call as I would like the goodwill gesture that I was offered. They said they would listen to the call, and call me back within 7 working days. 7 days passed, no phone call. I called again (through THAT phone system) and asked why I hadn't received a call. No knowledge of the request. Great. Apologies, blah blah, they will call me back within 48 hours. No call. Getting angry now.
    After a few calls on different days, trying to get somewhere, I gave up hope. Very angry at this point.
    So I had a moment of madness and decided to email Mr Ian Livingston.
    He replied back within about 20mins saying he was very sorry and would pass my details onto a 'top level customer service manager' - sounded promising.
    Sure enough, the next day I had a call from a lovely lady. She said she was sorry I've had such a bad start with BT, and that she didn't need to listen to the original call. She will refund all the charges so far, including the late payment fees (I refused to pay a penny until it was resolved).
    So, as of 1st October 2013, I was about £4 in credit.
    Wonderful result!!
    Alas, it has gone downhill from there.
    My standard month bill is £44.45, Infinity 2 + line rental.
    I don't have a phone connected to the phone line, and BT Infinity 2 is unlimited - so I know what my bill will be each and every month.
    Unfortunately the BT computer system doesn't see it this way.
    I had a letter saying "You are using more than you should, so we are increasing your monthly payment to £70 to cover this".
    I was furious.
    Every month I call them, speak to managers, other staff, explain the whole story time and time again. I have been on the phone for 2hrs more than once and not got anywhere.
    They have taken a total of £350 over the last 5 months (5 x £70), instead of £207.25 (5 x £41.45).
    So I figured they owe me £142.75. They refute this.

    Another thing is they generate a quarterly bill, which I wasn't told when I entered into a contract. I am also on what they call 'Monthly Billing' as opposed to a standard Direct Debit, all because I wanted the DD to exit my my account on a specific date. This practice is standard in the 'Utilities Industry', apparently. Which is funny because I don't have this problem with my gas and electricity providers.
    By having a 'Monthly Plan' (they tell me) that the amount can be adjusted by them each month as they see fit. BS.

    All I wanted was a bill each month for my usage. Whether that's in advance or not, I don't really care, because I KNOW what that bill will be because I CAN'T go over my allowances due to it being unlimited and not having a phone connected.

    I had my final call about a week ago, and after 2 hrs I asked to speak to the cancellation department. After another lengthy hold, and explaining the whole story AGAIN, the adviser said I couldn't cancel as there was an outstanding debt on the account and I need to speak to billing first. I was furious.
    An outstanding balance?? When I am owed over £140??? I couldn't believe it.
    Again I was put on hold, back to billing. On hold waiting for a manager... Explain the whole story YET AGAIN... Either he hangs up or we get cut off.

    .........

    Speechless.

    So, I'm still at odds as to what to do.
    No matter how many times I speak to them, or who I speak to, I never seem to get anywhere.
    Heaven knows how much time and money I have spent calling them from my mobile.

    To add insult to injury, Sky released their own fibre service about 2 months into my BT contract.

    On another note, 3 weeks ago some nice person decided to crash their car into the green BT node at the end of the street, severing internet and phone connections to my whole street. This is not BT's fault I know, but it took around 2 weeks to fix, with no email or phone call to apologise. I called them to ask why I very rarely saw an Openreach engineer at the crash site. They said they would look into it...

    Internet is back now, so I'm expecting a refund for the 2 weeks I had no Infinity 2. What do you think my chances are?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    central london
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    15 months without a phone line and without broadband, and BT are sending debt collectors to take £600 off me for a service they haven't provided! This is with the ombudsman now and also registered at ofcom.On the 31st October 2012 I contacted BT and informed them that I would be moving house on the 1st November 2012 and asked for my phone line and internet to be moved as well. The lady seemed intent on selling me the infinity package and I accepted to upgrade to this.

    It took you over 6 months for BT to arrange to connect the broadband. I made over 40 phone calls to BT chasing this and all the while from October 2012 - May 2013 they continued to bill me for the phone line in my OLD residence despite not having connected my phone and not providing me an internet service in my new residence where I was now living.

    I made several formal complaints to BT, the first being in March 2013 having waited 4 months for a phone line connection but they were all ignored.

    Thorughout December 2012 - April 2013 they were unable to arrange a visit to connect the lines - they gave dozens of excuses for the delay, including a claim that I was in a remote area! (i am in central London). Each time I rang I had to explain everything all over again and then they would say they would call back but they never did. I wrote to them but never received a response.

    They then left me a voicemail while I was abroad telling me they were going to attend in May to connect my line. I was abroad at the time, so did not pick up their message and was clearly not here in London to let in their engineer. They made no effort to agree the time of the attendance with me first.

    At various times BT said they were going to waive the first 2 months or 3 months line rental for the massive inconvenience caused but none of their subsequent bills reflected that.

    The phone line and infinity connection was supposed to be as a package of £80 where the phone line connection charge is included but instead they charged me for both separately coming to a total of £130.

    BT continued to charge me for a line rental from 31st October 2012 until 25th May 2013 despite not offering any services whatsoever.

    They charged me for phone calls made on my old line after I moved out of my last property on 5th November (£130.59 and £26.88) by the new tenants that had moved in and they did not disconnect the phone line in my old property despite a written order form saying they would.

    I made several formal complaints to BT but they did not respond to any of them. (they never do apparently)

    I then made a complaint to the ombudsman and in response to this BT refused to speak with me at all about my service and disconnected my broadband altogether and charged me a disconnection fee!

    A preliminary investigation by the ombudsman asked for BT to pay me £100, a full refund of the excess charged by BT and a formal apology but their bill does not reflect any of this. BT have still not paid a refund. This whole saga has cost me a fortune (60 phone calls to BT from my mobile on their premium line in order to chase up the absent services that they had agreed). I have been obliged to use my mobile phone for international and other calls and this has added several £100s to my expenses over 15 months.

    BT did not answer any of my letters or emails and did not respond to 2 more formal complaints submitted by post and by email.

    However, they did react to my complaints to the ombudsman by then piling on a late service charge of £7.50, then £2.00 and then proceeded without warning to disconnect my broadband.

    BT then added a further disconnection charge.

    BT then proceeded to add more and more to the bills despite still not providing a service.

    Now I have received a letter from a debt collection agency and from BT to inform me that they have added a further 25% to what BT were billing me previously for 'late payment'.

    I would warn all of you out there to avoid this draining and time wasting nightmare. BT is an awful company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Crawley
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    Awful in everyway. They've made 3 appointments and haven't bothered to turn up to any. Didn't ring to apologise. Want to make a fourth but refuse to guarantee attendance, they refuse to give exact time so I'm to wait in again from. 1- 6 pm. In my naïveté I thought they'd be sorry about not turning up 3 times but no they actually believe it's their right to turn up at their convenience . I've no email, no Bt vision hones hit and miss. Only constant reliable fact is that my bill is paid in full on demand. What's the definition of theft? The chairman is not concerned his company are fleecing customers or he'd contact and apologise. I even tried placing an ad in the Times for his attention, I intended paying but they didn't ring back. There's no way of contacting this" communication" company. I'm told we've got. .24 of a gig I don't know anything about tech stuff but one of my son does . I phoned them been on hold for hours, been in conversation with them 2.5 hrs at a time . So fed up don't know where else to go to get satisfaction.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    So bad. I had a total sky package and wanted to save a few pounds so decided to go to BT but really really regret that decision. If you are ever in my position NEVER CHOOSE BT. Everything has been a disaster, broadband, TV and phone. It has been one problem after another. They can do nothing right and just lie down the phone to you. i have never had such a bad customer experience in my life.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wilton, near Pickering, North Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely dire, called broadband when I'm lucky if I get 150kb, 1 mile away they enjoy 35MB, BT wont go the mile to our village, pass you around the different centres. Cant wait for 4G to come, we all have mobile contracts with data packages, then BT will be gone. £41 a month they rip me off for, they state on the BT website l get 1-3.5MB, total lies, Rightmove web site speed test states 100kb, that's a realistic figure, THANKS FOR ABSOLUTELY NOTHING BT AND THANKS FOR THE LOST WORK AND THE NON EXISTANT TECHNICAL AND CUSTOMER SERVICE. YOU LIED TO ME AND AS YOU CANT GIVE WHAT YOU PROMISED 3 YEARS AGO, I THINK YOU MIS SOLD ME A PRODUCT, LIED AND THEREFORE SHOULD BE DONE FOR MIS SELLING BREACH OF CONTRACT.
    DON'T BOTHER WITH BT IS WHAT L THINK

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.