BT Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    3.1 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.9 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 6234 customer ratings since 2020-09-26 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,158 Customer Reviews over 316 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    central london
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    15 months without a phone line and without broadband, and BT are sending debt collectors to take £600 off me for a service they haven't provided! This is with the ombudsman now and also registered at ofcom.On the 31st October 2012 I contacted BT and informed them that I would be moving house on the 1st November 2012 and asked for my phone line and internet to be moved as well. The lady seemed intent on selling me the infinity package and I accepted to upgrade to this.

    It took you over 6 months for BT to arrange to connect the broadband. I made over 40 phone calls to BT chasing this and all the while from October 2012 - May 2013 they continued to bill me for the phone line in my OLD residence despite not having connected my phone and not providing me an internet service in my new residence where I was now living.

    I made several formal complaints to BT, the first being in March 2013 having waited 4 months for a phone line connection but they were all ignored.

    Thorughout December 2012 - April 2013 they were unable to arrange a visit to connect the lines - they gave dozens of excuses for the delay, including a claim that I was in a remote area! (i am in central London). Each time I rang I had to explain everything all over again and then they would say they would call back but they never did. I wrote to them but never received a response.

    They then left me a voicemail while I was abroad telling me they were going to attend in May to connect my line. I was abroad at the time, so did not pick up their message and was clearly not here in London to let in their engineer. They made no effort to agree the time of the attendance with me first.

    At various times BT said they were going to waive the first 2 months or 3 months line rental for the massive inconvenience caused but none of their subsequent bills reflected that.

    The phone line and infinity connection was supposed to be as a package of £80 where the phone line connection charge is included but instead they charged me for both separately coming to a total of £130.

    BT continued to charge me for a line rental from 31st October 2012 until 25th May 2013 despite not offering any services whatsoever.

    They charged me for phone calls made on my old line after I moved out of my last property on 5th November (£130.59 and £26.88) by the new tenants that had moved in and they did not disconnect the phone line in my old property despite a written order form saying they would.

    I made several formal complaints to BT but they did not respond to any of them. (they never do apparently)

    I then made a complaint to the ombudsman and in response to this BT refused to speak with me at all about my service and disconnected my broadband altogether and charged me a disconnection fee!

    A preliminary investigation by the ombudsman asked for BT to pay me £100, a full refund of the excess charged by BT and a formal apology but their bill does not reflect any of this. BT have still not paid a refund. This whole saga has cost me a fortune (60 phone calls to BT from my mobile on their premium line in order to chase up the absent services that they had agreed). I have been obliged to use my mobile phone for international and other calls and this has added several £100s to my expenses over 15 months.

    BT did not answer any of my letters or emails and did not respond to 2 more formal complaints submitted by post and by email.

    However, they did react to my complaints to the ombudsman by then piling on a late service charge of £7.50, then £2.00 and then proceeded without warning to disconnect my broadband.

    BT then added a further disconnection charge.

    BT then proceeded to add more and more to the bills despite still not providing a service.

    Now I have received a letter from a debt collection agency and from BT to inform me that they have added a further 25% to what BT were billing me previously for 'late payment'.

    I would warn all of you out there to avoid this draining and time wasting nightmare. BT is an awful company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Crawley
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    Awful in everyway. They've made 3 appointments and haven't bothered to turn up to any. Didn't ring to apologise. Want to make a fourth but refuse to guarantee attendance, they refuse to give exact time so I'm to wait in again from. 1- 6 pm. In my naïveté I thought they'd be sorry about not turning up 3 times but no they actually believe it's their right to turn up at their convenience . I've no email, no Bt vision hones hit and miss. Only constant reliable fact is that my bill is paid in full on demand. What's the definition of theft? The chairman is not concerned his company are fleecing customers or he'd contact and apologise. I even tried placing an ad in the Times for his attention, I intended paying but they didn't ring back. There's no way of contacting this" communication" company. I'm told we've got. .24 of a gig I don't know anything about tech stuff but one of my son does . I phoned them been on hold for hours, been in conversation with them 2.5 hrs at a time . So fed up don't know where else to go to get satisfaction.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    So bad. I had a total sky package and wanted to save a few pounds so decided to go to BT but really really regret that decision. If you are ever in my position NEVER CHOOSE BT. Everything has been a disaster, broadband, TV and phone. It has been one problem after another. They can do nothing right and just lie down the phone to you. i have never had such a bad customer experience in my life.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wilton, near Pickering, North Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely dire, called broadband when I'm lucky if I get 150kb, 1 mile away they enjoy 35MB, BT wont go the mile to our village, pass you around the different centres. Cant wait for 4G to come, we all have mobile contracts with data packages, then BT will be gone. £41 a month they rip me off for, they state on the BT website l get 1-3.5MB, total lies, Rightmove web site speed test states 100kb, that's a realistic figure, THANKS FOR ABSOLUTELY NOTHING BT AND THANKS FOR THE LOST WORK AND THE NON EXISTANT TECHNICAL AND CUSTOMER SERVICE. YOU LIED TO ME AND AS YOU CANT GIVE WHAT YOU PROMISED 3 YEARS AGO, I THINK YOU MIS SOLD ME A PRODUCT, LIED AND THEREFORE SHOULD BE DONE FOR MIS SELLING BREACH OF CONTRACT.
    DON'T BOTHER WITH BT IS WHAT L THINK
  • Reviewer
    Location
    HENGOED
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    Comments
    BT USELESS

    Wish I had read all the reviews before ordering BT infinity package - completely disgusted with the customer service. Due to have an engineer on the 22nd of January, turned up but engineer was not qualified to enter attic space and left the property saying someone would come back to me in four days!! Rearranged another appointment for 29 the oh January, waited in all day, no engineer arrived. Rearranged for 30th of January and guess what - no engineer. Wasted three days leave and still no broadband. customer services will lie to you just to get you off the phone. Open reach are next to useless and Kelly Communications send unqualified engineers and you still have to wait 24 hours for a call-back from a trouble-shooting team who will no doubt make promises they can't keep.

    DO NOT CHANGE YOUR BROADBAND to BT INFINITY
  • Reviewer
    Location
    dy6 9sz
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Don't bother worst company I have ever dealed with I have cancelled after numerous calls to get no were
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Streatham Hill
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely dreadful service DO NOT USE BT. Four times I have been told the fault would be sorted that day and 4 times they have failed to do so and failed to contact me saying there's an issue. Every conversation I have had with them they have assured me it will definitley be done that day and said the issue was at the exhange. I then called today as the fault is still not fixed and was informed that an engineer came to the flat, three days ago; engineer didn't even borther phoning when he couldn't get in. Having not been told soemone was coming I wasn't in. Two days ago I spoke to BT and no reference was made to the engineer turning up the day before and again they assured me it would be sorted within 24 hours. They are now saying thay have to wait three days to update the order (6 days from when the engineer came round)before they even consider dates for a new appointment. Again DO NOT USE BT
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Louth, Lincs
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    I have just sent the following to the BBC: Well, it's 2014, I have high-speed broadband, and I can't listen to The Archers on iPlayer because it cuts out every few seconds, sometimes coming up with the 'insufficient bandwith' message. This is for radio, not TV! I'm sending the same email to BT. No doubt you'll both blame each other. Either way, it's a disgrace in this day and age.
    Livid of Louth. So now I leave it to you guys - who's going to take the blame, the Beeb or BT? I'm told I have 40meg download speed, and yet I can't stream a radio programme...???
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    Comments
    If you're with Virgin at the moment and tempted to switch to BT because Virgin don't give loyalty points to long time customers, pls don't. You'll end up wishing you're still with Virgin. Internet's so slow, programs don't appear on its TV guide. Can't wait for my contract to end.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Somerset
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    In a world where Broadband and telephones are just about essential BT cannot allocate an engineer to fix a fault IN THEIR TELEPHONE EXCHANGE in less than a week. We have no useable telephone and no broadband and the earliest they can fix it is January 28th. Perhaps if they took customer service seriously they'd reflect on this employ more engineers and maybe reduce the pay of executives by a small proportion to fund this - the outgoing chief, Ian Livingston, was paid £18.5 million (yes million) last year. An extra engineer or several on £30K or so would hardly dent his pay.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.