BT Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    3.1 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.1 stars
  • Speed
    2.9 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 1333 customer ratings since 2023-05-22 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

3,598 Customer Reviews over 90 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    castlewellan
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    very slow broadband. blocked me twice only been with bt about 6weeks. the cost so far is around £150. made very few calls it is a right ripoff.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Caterham
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    A main pitch of BT Sales, why to switch to Infinity broadband, is a stronger more reliable connection. In the 7 weeks since switching it has proved the worst in 20 years of internet connection, even dial-up was better. Sporadic drops, possibly more frequent afternoon and evening. On my third Home Hub 5 which crashed my PC 10 minutes after plugging it in, BT deny any responsibility. Have referred case to Ombudsman, for what that may be worth, as I've had more than enough. Feel I was mis-sold fibre broadband as BT's revisionist line is they can improve things so I get "fewer" drops; well if drops had been part of the sales proposition then I would never have signed up at all.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    central London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    So frustrating. Just opening the pages to write this review nearly made me lose the will. I haven't waited for pages to load like this for about 7 years. I can't stream anymore - is this a strategy to force you onto fibre optics?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    central london
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    15 months without a phone line and without broadband, and BT are sending debt collectors to take £600 off me for a service they haven't provided! This is with the ombudsman now and also registered at ofcom.On the 31st October 2012 I contacted BT and informed them that I would be moving house on the 1st November 2012 and asked for my phone line and internet to be moved as well. The lady seemed intent on selling me the infinity package and I accepted to upgrade to this.

    It took you over 6 months for BT to arrange to connect the broadband. I made over 40 phone calls to BT chasing this and all the while from October 2012 - May 2013 they continued to bill me for the phone line in my OLD residence despite not having connected my phone and not providing me an internet service in my new residence where I was now living.

    I made several formal complaints to BT, the first being in March 2013 having waited 4 months for a phone line connection but they were all ignored.

    Thorughout December 2012 - April 2013 they were unable to arrange a visit to connect the lines - they gave dozens of excuses for the delay, including a claim that I was in a remote area! (i am in central London). Each time I rang I had to explain everything all over again and then they would say they would call back but they never did. I wrote to them but never received a response.

    They then left me a voicemail while I was abroad telling me they were going to attend in May to connect my line. I was abroad at the time, so did not pick up their message and was clearly not here in London to let in their engineer. They made no effort to agree the time of the attendance with me first.

    At various times BT said they were going to waive the first 2 months or 3 months line rental for the massive inconvenience caused but none of their subsequent bills reflected that.

    The phone line and infinity connection was supposed to be as a package of £80 where the phone line connection charge is included but instead they charged me for both separately coming to a total of £130.

    BT continued to charge me for a line rental from 31st October 2012 until 25th May 2013 despite not offering any services whatsoever.

    They charged me for phone calls made on my old line after I moved out of my last property on 5th November (£130.59 and £26.88) by the new tenants that had moved in and they did not disconnect the phone line in my old property despite a written order form saying they would.

    I made several formal complaints to BT but they did not respond to any of them. (they never do apparently)

    I then made a complaint to the ombudsman and in response to this BT refused to speak with me at all about my service and disconnected my broadband altogether and charged me a disconnection fee!

    A preliminary investigation by the ombudsman asked for BT to pay me £100, a full refund of the excess charged by BT and a formal apology but their bill does not reflect any of this. BT have still not paid a refund. This whole saga has cost me a fortune (60 phone calls to BT from my mobile on their premium line in order to chase up the absent services that they had agreed). I have been obliged to use my mobile phone for international and other calls and this has added several £100s to my expenses over 15 months.

    BT did not answer any of my letters or emails and did not respond to 2 more formal complaints submitted by post and by email.

    However, they did react to my complaints to the ombudsman by then piling on a late service charge of £7.50, then £2.00 and then proceeded without warning to disconnect my broadband.

    BT then added a further disconnection charge.

    BT then proceeded to add more and more to the bills despite still not providing a service.

    Now I have received a letter from a debt collection agency and from BT to inform me that they have added a further 25% to what BT were billing me previously for 'late payment'.

    I would warn all of you out there to avoid this draining and time wasting nightmare. BT is an awful company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Central London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    The most horrendous experience I have had in 35 years of business. Our BT broadband was cut off after sevaral phone calls it transpired that someone unknown and completely unconnected to the business had been able to circumvent BT’s security and asked for the broadband to be terminated. I have spent over 9 hours over the last 5 days trying to get it reconnected. Despite BT admitting there had been a mistake and they are investigating my business has had no internet and as we have a VOIP phone system we had not had our telephone lines. I have made over 32 calls some lasting as long as 2 1/4 hrs (from which the so called manger responsible for sorting out the problems put the phone down on me principally as I had asked, for the fourth time, to speak her manager). Nobody is apparently remotely interested in resolvolving the issue and all this time my business is suffering. It is absolutely shocking they have a monopoly and behave like this despite it being their incompetence. I strongly urge anyone who reads this to never use BT Braoafbsnd if you can help it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ceredigion
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I've been with BT for as long I've had a phone/broadband, I've finally had enough and I'm switching to another company. The final straw was being charged £129 by BT for a visit by an engineer. The phone line was struck by lightning, the hub blew, and I had to replace the phone. The engineer knew that it was lightning to the line that had caused it, we discussed it at length, yet his report didn't mention a thing about it. Spoke to endless BT staff and have been told that it was our fault and we have to pay the charge. Countless times over the years the phone or internet have not been working, we've never once had a penny knocked off our bill. They once took 6 weeks to come out and look at the fault. I am tired of the call-centre staff being overseas, I'm tired of the endless options when phoning them - press 1 to speak to an idiot, press 2 to speak to a lesser idiot. I'm tired of their ineptitude, broken promises, and lack of customer service. They are too large and unwieldy, they don't care about individual customers, they have too much of a monopoly, particularly as they own Openreach. I hope that the company we are in the process of switching to will be a breath of fresh air - they already score points for staff being in the UK, being smaller and friendlier (we're moving to Zen, they have really good reviews). Between the phone, broadband, and BT Vision we spent on average £50 per month, may BT enjoy their pyrrhic victory, they made us pay the £129 charge but they have lost £600 a year in payments.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Ceredigion
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    In the little time we have been with bt, it's been completely rubbish, got 150meg plan out with call package only to be charged for all our calls, then they told us you should have read what your getting, on top of the ultra unreliable Internet with max speeds of 30meg down to 2.8meg. Got 4 phones off them which only worked intermittently. Everytime we spoke to the technical team there advice was to spend more on products to try and make it better. I put 1 star as I can't leave minuses.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    cf44 8ll
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Terrible: First month the internet speed was good. After, little by little in a few weeks from 52 MBs was going down to 2 MBs
    Was impossible to use internet. But They advice me upgrade package for a better speed!!!
    Also the bill was increased little by little and end up paying 5.65 pounds more. See your bills regularly, you may have a surprise !
    I have give up BT.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    ch88ad
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    my fiber broadband has dropped to about 2 mbs download , despite paying for "up to" 52 mbs. I am only 100 meters from B T cabinet
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chard, Somerset
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    We are just on standard broadband as connected directly to the exchange (95yards). Download speed is about 13mbps, so not too bad. The service dose drop out every now and then, but generally not too bad. Customer Service is time consuming, but they sort it eventually.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheadle
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    loved BT from the first broadband I had.
    Then the cost sky rocketed and 8 times out of ten the speed was not what I was supposed to get.Sky have given to me the same speed and the cost has almost halved
    When BT say they can guarantee super fast broadband surely lower speeds should be as good
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheadle Hulme
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    So glad I found this review site as it's clarified I'm not imagining how poor BT services are. For the 16 months I've been complaining of drop out broadband unable to use BT email mail lost BT sport freezing constant lies and fob offs from call centres an engineer came before Christmas and confirmed the cause of the trouble. Seems two local boxes have cards running 50 lines and my box has four faulty lines. Told me other service providers are also using that box so at any time my line has been connected to any different terminal as lines moved to 'resolve' the latest complaint. This is borne out by my bank security not recognising my IP address and other sites I use confirm my IP address has changed within hours of sorting it again. I also received a warning despite having unlimited broadband my usage was excessive. It's very obvious it's all running on a wing and prayer. 2 hrs yesterday of call centre who then also lied to uk engineering. Well BT today I decided enough is enough I've given notice I'll go elsewhere as at no time have you been physically capable of providing the service I'm paying for as your management apparently take the view ok 4 lines are duff but that leaves 46 that work and so it carries on. I'm going to chronologies events for Gavin Paterson and off com expecting a substantial refund of monies paid. I've also been told today my PAC code will be with me in 5 days time. See you in Court.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheadle Hulme
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BT's Broadband speed is far, far too slow. Getting through to Customer Service is a time consuming nightmare. All in all, a desperately poor service.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chedburgh, Bury St.Edmunds
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Having gone to BT because of their Infinity deal a year ago (approx.) I have had numerous problems, an unhelpful, round in circles, conversations.
    Currently, I have spent over a month with a background "crackle" on the phone making conversation next to impossible, and my "wonderful" Hub cutting out and recycling,(on 1 particular day from 11a.m. to 4.30p.m.).
    My suspicion is as follows;- On this estate, the cabling comes in underground (and the Fibre only comes to the distribution box, apparently}. Whenever we see an Openreach Technician doing something to the wiring in the compartment on the FOOTPATH outside our property (we assume adding another customer to INFINITY)when he/they leave we invariably have the problems. At this moment in time my Internet SEEMS okay, but the phone is still not right, and I wait with baited breath for another Openreach occurrence.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheddar
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Very happy customer! Install was spot on, install the fibre all with no charge,that didn't look like a small job. On BT fiber 900 speed over Lan 950-1gb. So fast and so far very reliable'-)
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chelmsford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    New customer, 1st 14 days brilliant but now dropping all the time, coming back when I call them which I have to do everyday.
    Why are they advertising if their current systems cannot cope with current flow?
    Surprisingly I was told by their customer services its my fault because I use alexa yes, so with BT one cannot use WiFi devices! Actually cannot use email, internet, ...
    No services but still cashing the money.
    All congested yet they still chose to float their cables in trees, wind and rain... oh dear it is still extremely slow when dry and sunny
    It is so obvious ombudsmen not doing their work!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chelmsford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We left sky to come to bt, We ordered bt phone and broadband on the 25/4/16, we was told our services would go active on the 10/5/16, the day came, broadband speed was good but then it gradually got worse and worse until we got to the point that we couldn't even change the page, we made numerous phone calls complaining, was told by an Asian woman that we still had 9 days left to cancel if we werent happy, phoned today 17/5/16 which is 10 days after we became active only to be told that we can't cancel as we are out of our 10 days period from the date we ordered, we wasn't told any of that until we tried to cancel, but by have told us we can cancel but they will charge us £350 to end the contract when we was only told 2 days ago that we still have 9 days to cancel if we change our mind but now we want to cancel they want to charge us, we are leaving bt and going back to sky, at least sky are honest, bt are just a big conartist company who like to entrap their customers! Please please please don't go to bt, avoid like the plague, they are crooks, customer service are all Indian people who can't even speak English properly and their services are appalling!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    chelmsford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I'll work backwards for this. Reliability, none, its the worst broadband service ive ever used, talk talk were rubbish but these have beat them hands down on rubbish reliability. Speed, the slowest broadband i ever used and im sorry i still say it shouldnt matter where you are in the country you should get the same service after all, you dont pay less or more based on post code. my nan works faster and she died 16 years ago. Customer service, no experience with this really as i get bored once ive sat on the phone for over half an hour waiting to talk to someone. Overall satisfaction, if i could give zero stars i would. i am going with another provider because of how bad these are so im out of contract yet they still want to charge a broadband disconnection fee. thats the best joke ive heard since i see lee evans live a few years back. BT promise all sorts and judging by these reviews and my experience i would stay well clear, well over priced for the lack of service provided.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chelmsford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    Can't wait for my contract to end!!!! Customer service is so bad. I'm paying for the fibre but not getting the guaranteed speed. If I was to cancel early then I would have to pay!!! No one knows what they are talking about and either pass me on to a different department who then hangs up or tries to call me back on the home number during working times, even though I asked them to make a note to ring on my mobile after 6pm. Do not recommend BT at all!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chelmsford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Hopeless, charge the earth after promising the universe. I give up. We live 5 mile from Chelmsford where Marconi did magnificent things with radio but we can't get 1 meg from this crap company BT. But they get our money no probs. do not use BT at any cost. Rip off, rip Bt.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chelmsford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I'm absolutely disgusted with BT. My mother whos in her 80s switched from EE to BT in what she was told would be a straightforward process taking a couple of weeks. 3 months on and she still hasn't got broadband. This is despite 7 visits from a number of incompetent workmen who in most cases did not have the skill or equiptment to complete the work the came to do. BT are still charging her and it's taking over 45mins to reach BT to complain. BTs fraudulent abuse is nothing short of criminal.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chelmsford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I ordered fibre plus 1st February 2021. I asked for a check to make sure all will be OK, that is a quick survey, and was told by text this will happen. Installation was due on the 19th March, I received emails and texts to tell me an engineer will attend between 8am and 1pm.
    The day before I called to make sure but was told there will be no need as cable does not need to be replaced. Then between 7am and 7:30 one guy was at my door from Kelly communications, he refused to install and left!
    BT then decided to place an order as if I did for ordinary fibre.
    Today 26th March it is very slow and carry on breaking!
    I am elderly so probably they think i do not need good and reliable broadband.
    Horrible company all about money, no sense of duty or morality.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chelmsford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    Comments
    The worst broadband I have ever had. Go with fuel, plusnet, any of the others...half the price and the performance is far superior!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    chelmsford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    absolutely shocking!
    we dont get half the channels and the ones we do are always juddery and cut out, the on demand tv works about 20% of the time, got solf movie channels but all of them are pay-per-view. the phone line is crackley and the internet needs to be restarted every half hour or so. Also even though we have 'unlimited' internet we got charged £100 for excessive usage (thanks to the flatmates bf!)
    we have never been on hold for less than 30 mins when trying to get help and their explanation was that we lived in a poor reception area... why did you recommend this package, charge and install it for us then!?!
    this is our first flat and internet ect was the one luxury item we had on our budget. thoroughly disappointed in BT and would never EVER recommend.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chelmsford
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BT's service is appalling to the point of being fraudulent. I have had 9 visits by incompetent workmen who in most cases could not complete the work they came to do. I have also had 2 appointments cancelled without any notification. It's now 4 months since I started the contract and I still do not have the full service I paid for. Customer service is unhelpful and do not care if your installation is working but are only concerned with your payments. I have been lied to about the cost of the service and given incorrect information about future increases. I believe they are knowingly defrauding elderly users such as myself and I will be reporting BT to Ofcom.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chelsea, London
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Allow me to explain my rating...

    Unfortunately the minimum is 1 star. The reason this is unfortunate is because I cannot tell you what the speed or reliability is like. After 8 months, I still do not have BT internet.

    My flatmate and I have spent an astonishing amount of time on the phone in order to reconcile some sort of service (any will do at this point) from one of the most poorly run organisations I have come across. We have both lived and worked globally and this is the worst company I have dealt with. It is an organisation which is about as reliable as Tony Blair's promises.

    Back in July 2015, we purchased BT internet on a bundle with BT sport. We waited a month or so to be connected but got nowhere. BT could not connect our wifi and they said they would send an engineer out. They then texted to say "apologies, this our mistake, we will cancel the engineer". They did not cancel the engineer. Instead, they charged us £130 for the engineer.

    We used to have BT Sport. They stopped our subscription around Christmas because we haven't paid our wifi bill. We have had no wifi.

    After about 28 phone calls, with an average wait time of 50 minutes each time, they actioned a formal complaint on our behalf. they said they would call us back. Guess what..?

    I urge anyone, in fact no, I beg EVERYONE to not purchase BT wifi. You will be making a grave error. If you choose to ignore this advice, then best of luck. You'll need it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Broadband regularly drops out on both streaming tv channels and internet browsing.
    Repeatedly talked to BT and nothing is different.
    Will pay more and go to Sky next time around.
    Pathetic service for 2017, like BT is stuck in 2000.
    Inconsistent customer services.
    Inconsistent sales team and my service is worse since going through the renewal process.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had been with plusnet for a year and had No issues at all. Probably only really needed to restart my router about 3 times in a year.

    With BT now for a month, as I wanted to get bt sport.the internet is terrible. I used tobe able to get a potential speed of 16ms/s and now I am downloading a file which is 424mb and it says it will take 6 hours! I restated my router and still the same. Very poor
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely shocking, changed from virgin to BT and was the worst mistake ever, engineers came and had to fit the boxes out on my balcony as they said they can’t drill the wall but did on my neighbours, had to get a giant extension lead from there to the living room, signal was always poor even tho I had the 5G booster box. When I said I didn’t want it anymore they said okay no worries just pay £233. Yeah nice one thanks for that
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    I have ordered my brodband at the start of September.On that occasion I have been told that even if it will be two separate instalation charges of £50 I would be charged only for 1. I have been told that about 10 times during my first call when I was ordering the broadband. They conected the phone, fee days after internet and tv. And the problems starts tv box didn't work.Contacted the servise to have it replaced- impossible. They had to send and engineer to fix it and as we said we are in work during the week nobody get back to us. And guess what our first bill was £100!!!!!!!!!. Surprise surprise. I call be the bt on 15th been on the phon for 30 min been told I will receive my money by next Friday. And whats happend? NO MONEY ARRIEVED. Called again on the following Friday asking whats happened with my refund, apparently nobody placed it but this time they will speed it up and it will be on my account soon. And whats happend NO MONEY ON MY ACCOUNT AGAIN. Started to get a bit annoyed. Contacted them on the chat just to be told again NOBODY PROCEED THE REFUND. And the person I am speaking with has no power to refund my money and I should speak with PERSON WHO PROMISED ME REFUND!!!!!!That's started to feel like a sick joke. Called the customer service to heard that I SHOULDN'T BE WORRY. Coz the complaint beeing placed and now I have to wait for the complaint o be resolve before I can see my money.Great.MORE WAITING FOR MY MONEY. Really not happy with customer service and their structure. Last time I was dealing with them.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Hobson's choice here with service providers. In general though the 20Mbs speed is acceptable and the service is generally reliable. However, the biggest bug-bear ever is the VERY poor customer service. They simply don't care. If it can't be answered in 5mins and from a script then forget it! I've been 2 weeks and counting with an issue and passed from pillar to post and all just want to get you / me cleared off their books just to satisfy their KPIs. Forget actually resolving the problem!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    BT is the most unsupportive, badly organised company I have ever dealt with and completely incompetent. The put me on the wrong contract, sent me the wrong equipment 3 times, I could not connect to the internet for 7 weeks and would not help me. I could not get through to Bt spending hours trying to get through when I did manage to get through, BT staff were clueless about my situation. Nobody from BT would phone me back either. But they still kept on sending me bills for a service that I could no use. I have just finished my 1-year contract with BT and I'm going with TALKTALK. BT do not care about their customers or rectify their mistakes. I am so relieved to see the back of BT. I WOULD SUGGEST NEVER SIGNING A CONTRACT WITH BT- YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheltenham
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    BT-ARE-ATROCIOUS. It took BT two months to install infinity broadband in my house. Once it was installed it was good, it could handle four reasonably heavy users without slowing the speed. Unfortunately...the honeymoon period ended after 2 months....Broadband light went red. Been onto customer service multiple times, they have no clue...."have you checked the wires are connected?"......this question is the limits of their fault diagnosis. "Sir, the line will be live by 6pm the next day"......nope....."I'm sorry Sir, it may take a bit longer, please reset your box by midnight tomorrow when the line will be live"......nope...."I will send an engineer out to look at your connection, he will arrive on Tuesday between 8am - 1pm"..........nope......."I'm sorry, I noted down your contact mobile number down wrong, the engineer could't contact you on Tuesday".....but nobody has knocked..."An engineer will be out on Friday to fix your line".....I'm losing the will to live here. I don't think he is coming on Friday and even if he does he is only going to check that I've plug in the box and connected the internet cable. I wish I had plusnet in my life right now, yes they may not be as fast but they were damn good are providing an internet connection which is something I value highly with my internet provider. I genuinely cannot wait to celebrate the day when BT are out of my life. Godspeed.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chepstow
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    They try hard when you manage to work out how to speak to a real person, but in our area, given that BT has owned the entire network for ever and paid out billons to shareholders, coverage and speed is shockingly third world. Also, if they want to get rid of all their employees as all companies obviously want to, you'd have thought they'd have made sure their 'fault bot' actually works. We reported a fault using the automated service and when no-one turned up we checked with a real person - they had no record of the fault. What a shower.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chertsey
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I was with Sky broadband and decided to move to BT for 12 months as it was on offer for the same cost and I'd have BT sport included.
    The reliability and signal strength of the router they so proudly advertise on their adverts is terrible. It has where near the range of my previous Sky router and drops connection. BT give you a 14 day cooling off period to cancel their services. The problem is it took over 14 days for the switch to take place from when I placed the order. Therefore I didn't know how unreliable their internet was until it was too late to cancel.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Moved house, requested a change. On the day there was no connection. 10 days later, still no connection. Awful customer service, lie after lie to get me off the phone and no clarification on when we'll be connected. Decided to look elsewhere and cancel our subscription immediately
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Took almost 5weeks to reconnect me to my new house less than 100yards away from my old one, then said they could not find my property only to find they were working on the house next door, soon after my neighbours were disconnected then reconnected with my house phone number!!!!!! The average speed we receive is about 1mb poor customer service due to there English skills., also poor value for money I still ended up being changed£63 for the month I never even had any internet or tv. Wouldn't recommend to anybody they are a joke and I won't be staying with them! Tryed to charge me saying it was a fault in my property when in actual fact it was poorly connected at the main box, they did nothing to try to resolve the situation and later basically called me a liar saying I had not called as it wasn't on there system worst company I have ever been with!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Comments
    The WORST I've ever been with.
    Connection keeps dropping which is a HUB5 Firmware fault, but the stupid INDIAN call centre wont have it.

    Just had some woman on who I had to say stop shouting down the phone at me, didn't she realise I'M THE CUSTOMER!!

    They want me to pay £68 for the new hub out. I said Why am I going to pay for a decent broadband, when I'm ALREADY paying for a decent broadband.??

    Can't get out of the contract either unless I pay the £220.

    Friggin unbelievable
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I signed up for broadband and calls just over a month ago when i was drawn to the attractive offer of half price broadband for 6 months. Not knowing what my usual usage would be i took the minimum package with 10GB usage per month at £5 per month and then £10 per month after 6 months. I went over the usage in my first month and have already exceeded this months usage. So it is clear to me that i am on the wrong package and should have taken out the unlimited package, also on offer at half price for 6 months. When i have tried to move to the correct package i have been told that i would then pay the full monthly costs of 16.99 and not receive any discount. the discount that persuaded me to join up in the first place. This is because i am not a new customer, even though i have only been a customer for just over a month! I feel I have been tempted into a good deal and then had that deal taken away from me straight away. I am not locked into a 18 month contract feeling disgruntled that i have been mislead. Why they couldn't just let me move to the unlimited package with the half price for 6 months offer i don't know?! It's total BS. I will not be continuing with there service after my contract has run out.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cheshire
    Reviewing
    BT
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Long term customer and you get no favours for that. On the back of some email password sync issues I managed to get a "deal" for a better BB service. Should have kicked in days ago and hasn't.

    The time I've spent using their online chat support service has redefined abject misery. It took time to even get a response from that but when I did I got nowhere fast. The emphasis seems to be on validating who you are, rather than resolving the problem. I mean who in their right mind would pretend to be someone else, and put themselves through the pain that this so called support service involves?

    Without boring about details, I usually sit down with a magazine or such, because on average I spent over an hour, and most of that was just that, waiting. Occasionally getting responses such as "hold on a minute" or "the server for that test is taking time" or "I'm just checking into that". They are very good at apologising though. I got that a lot.

    What has pushed me over the edge is being lied to by these people. I've got transcript evidence of 2, arguably 3 instances in less than a week where promises to email or call me back simply have not happened.

    When it got to the point of agreeing an engineer needed to look at things I was then hit with what read like a legal statement about additional costs. Now I know nothing in my home is faulty but the tone of this was appalling and came across in a threatening manner. I firmly advised I will not be paying any extra to get the service I am now paying for. I'd add that the previous BB service I was buying NEVER managed 75% of its so called performance either.

    Today I will be submitting a formal complaint. Whilst I would prefer to stick with BT as a 1 stop shop for my phone and BB, I honestly do not feel I am dealing with a company that demonstrates good customer focus, nor ability to deliver as promised.

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.