BT Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for BT.

Recent Customer Ratings for BT

  • Satisfaction
    2.9 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.9 stars
  • Speed
    2.7 stars
  • Reliability
    2.8 stars

Based on 17356 customer ratings since 2018-04-24 (Show all time ratings)

Visit BT   Read our BT buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

2796 Customer Reviews for BT

  • Showing page 3 of 70, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Bad service bad customers services its the bad company in UK I have to much to say
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
acton BT  
So it has come to this, writing a review in order to vent my spleen or in the vague hope that a miracle might occur and someone leaps into action, I'm being too positive.

I moved home in April last year using the BT Home Move Service. Since the day I moved BT have continued to charge me for two accounts, one from the old home and one from here. To add to this they sneakily added BT Sport to BOTH accounts, absolutely without my consent, I never agreed to this..ever.

The effort I have put in every month since April last year to get them to stop illegally stealing money from me is beyond words, I would honestly punch the CEO repeatedly in the face if I was ever to see him.

Every month, hours of my time wasted on the phone to some other country, the promises that it is sorted I hear every time and NOTHING changes, the bills keep on coming.

If I could ask the police to go and arrest the boss of BT for stealing my money every month I would.

The customer service is outrageously poor in every respect, from understanding the problem to downright lies about how it will be sorted. How a company can get away with this time and time again is beyond me.

BT steals my money and when they are caught they won't pay it back, even when they say they will, not a penny received, not a problem sorted.

Unfortunately I don't have a choice here, the minute I do then BT can go hang. Makes me sad they are allowed to use the word BRITISH, they should change it to MAFIA Telecom.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Acton Burnell Shropshire BT  
It is a matter of fact that BT is the worst company in the UK. They do not provide anything close to a good service. When you have a problem they will lie and lie for weeks until they fix it. Customer service people are morons who don't right down any information you give them so you end up repeating yourself a thousand times in the space of 2 days and for all this pleasure you pay more than most other broadband companies around. Only reason BT is still around is because they gain all their money from line rentals. Without this they would have gone bust a long time ago.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Adam BT  
Horrendous"service". No broadband for 2 weeks. Constant phone calls to try and get it sorted. Promises of "some one will call you back". Believe me - that never happens. Been on now for 3 days and told Im going to exceed my allowance. Worst decision I ever made to move to BT. DON'T BE TEMPTED. JUST DON'T DO IT!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Adlington BT  
It's generally pretty fast but does drop occasionally for no apparent reason. Never had to contact customer service so I can't rate them.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Adlington, Lancs BT  
One * = most unsatisfactory.
After a number of complaints to BT and various line checks etc. I am still frequently getting download speeds of just 0 .11Mbs which seems to be quite usual throughout the village. I am paying for better than this and not getting it. All I get from BT is a verbal shrug of the shoulders and offer of yet another line test.
Admaston Staffordshire BT  
At first quite good speeds and reliability though expensive. Then over the years the connections began to drop now and then. I never complained as I thought they're the best out here. Then today total failure. I completed their diagnostic tests countless times with no joy. Tried to phone their service status helpline about 7 times but only managed to get an automated message twice which informed me everything was grand where I lived despite the message being over 2 hours old. I was then told to phone their helpline however it was constantly engaged throughout the afternoon.

Finally after 3.5 hours when I had just managed to get an answer on their helpline the broadband worked with no explanation. Never actually spoke to an engineer just heard another automated message saying we are having problems and for me to leave my name and number for a customer survey!

I did then get a phone call back from BT on my number asking who I was! They then said oh we are having problems ourselves and so I cannot help you.

Brilliant. I just hung up. Useless company.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Ahoghill, County Antrim, Northern Ireland BT  
Very poor service. Plenty of process and talk but little progress in a rural location.Finally quit BT and moved to 4g. Good riddance.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
AIRDRIE BT  
Ihave had this package for six weeks it has been unavalable on three occations for up to three days the current speed is 594% less than is avalable in my area the only thing that has been reliable is the apologies from there helplines i have a contract for 1 year i hope the next 11 months sees a vast improvement.
Airdrie BT  
I have recently found that my broadband speed was 0.5 Meg per sec. I made an effort to improve this by contacting BT. They informed me that I could get 9-15 MBPS. I then went through the process of upgrading and was told that this would be completed by 18.03.16. I called BT on 28.03.16 to find out where my new hub was and that I hadn't seen any improvement with my broadband speed. I was then told that I couldn't get anything better than 8MBPS. They also informed me that there was no evidence of the order being place.
I have wasted several hours of my time attempting to sort this out when it should have been quite an easy process. Also, why was I sold a package that can't be delivered?
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Albans House BT  
BT have always tried hard to help me, but am faced with speed problems which do not seem to get cured.I am aware being in the country speed can be a big issue, but problem speed has been the main issue for some time.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Albourne West Sussex BT  
Had appointments of engineer 3 times but never turned up. When I phoned them, every time I was told there were errors. Shocking !!

Finally managed to cancel the service. I'm so glad I'm with them anymore. It is better not having broadband than their awful service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Aldershot BT  
Poor speed and disconnects of its own accord. Pay for 8mb and recieve a high 1.5, finally called BT and they said we where in a low demand area, although we are in a high competitive area, was also informed on upgrade the connection was due to be upgraded, this was 4 years ago???? Seriously considering changing to another provider
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Aldershot BT  
After seeing the advertisement with Ryan Reynolds getting wifi signal all over his house I thought BT would be good. They are not and on contacting them I was told that the advert was completely inaccurate. So I can not get access in my entire home. Its a small 3 bed detached.
I was told by the engineer to swap to wires in my master hub by removing the front cover. On doing this the insides fell out also.
I called bt as that should not happen as there should be clips holding it in.
BT said they can fix the box at a cost of £250. This was after hours of trying to talk on the online chat where they pass you from person to person and get you know where. Horrible company and I can't wait to be done with them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Alfreton BT  
bt infinity 2 = joke !!!!!

11mb download
5 up

even had bt engineer out. he said nothing can be done..
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
alloa BT  
We moved into a new address and services were scheduled to start 24/5/18 but actually started 4/6/18 because BT did not swop the line over to our name.No TV,phone broadband etc unable to use laptop or printer etc only irritating texts asking if we were happy wit our new service.Phone caller from BT addressed me by my first name which I don’t like and at age 66 find patronising.Avoid BT
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Altrincham BT  
We moved into a new address and services were scheduled to start 24/5/18 but actually started 4/6/18 because BT did not swop the line over to our name.No TV,phone broadband etc unable to use laptop or printer etc only irritating texts asking if we were happy wit our new service.Phone caller from BT addressed me by my first name which I don’t like and at age 66 find patronising.Avoid BT
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Altrincham BT  
Administration!!!

Are they going into administration???

Awful!
No line for days.
Paying for zero service.
Customer service -worst ever, they put you on hold and hang up.
They lie.
Never turn up on the agreed date -turned up the day after.
Did not do the full job on the day ie all my sockets around the house.
Call them they say I have no account with them when I've been billed already.
Constantly on hold.
Eventually when you do get hold of somebody they advise their servers are down.

There's no hope here with this company.. This sounds crazy although this is BT, they seem very dodgy as in setting up lines and contracts, with no service, and perhaps taking money.. Which is possibly fraudulent, as there's an exchange of contracts... Goods for money.. But here there is money but no goods ie no service. Is the company perhaps going into administration and perhaps trying to trap customers into contracts they want to get out of..?? And then trying to charge extra money for it, set up, non existence line rental, broadband, cancellation, and then one month extra rental for the 1month noticed period.. If this is the case then this is a money maker scheme for BT!

Customers be warned and don't bother with rubbish service.
Altrincham BT  
What can I say. BT are a shower of s****e. Their broadband is slow in my area and keeps dropping. Since November I have had a faulty land line so no phone/broadband. I have been lied to constantly by an “Executive Level” Customer complaints advisor. So I am “walking” and going off to Virgin Media who activate me on Saturday. The funniest thing is BT Openreach’s sub contractors (Oakus Limited - what a bunch of cowboys) turned up yesterday lunchtime and started digging a trench for a new phone cable. So BT will now have to restore the pavement at the same time as losing a customer!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Alveston, Bristol BT  
Pathetic service from BT epecially if in a hurry to get an active line. They will promise you an installation date in approx 1-2weeks time and then tell you repeatedly on the day that it doesn't activate till midnight , then the next morning you will call as not activated and the will give you another date 2 weeks down the line. when questioned on why? they will blame BT Openreach so then you will contact them and they will blame BT. Its all a big joke and they will offer you absolutely nothing, leaving you with no internet to complete any business over the christmas period.

Beyond Bad service , dont deserve 1 star at the moment.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ammanford BT  
Pathetic service from BT epecially if in a hurry to get an active line. They will promise you an installation date in approx 1-2weeks time and then tell you repeatedly on the day that it doesn't activate till midnight , then the next morning you will call as not activated and the will give you another date 2 weeks down the line. when questioned on why? they will blame BT Openreach so then you will contact them and they will blame BT. Its all a big joke and they will offer you absolutely nothing, leaving you with no internet to complete any business over the christmas period.

Beyond Bad service , dont deserve 1 star at the moment.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ammanford BT  
It's a shame I have to give a minimum of one star, I can not even fathom how this garbage company can even exist.
Our internet and land line went down on the 17th of December, it is now the 6th of January and it seems that nothing has been done to fix the problem.
Must be since we live away from crowded areas that BT couldn't care less if their services work or not.
The best part is that they still feel like it is acceptable to bill is for a month of nonexistent services.
Even when we try and try to phone them to see if any progress has been made, we get put through to someone useless person on the other end who couldn't care less about our situation and we have been hung up on several times. The deadline for this problem to be fixed has been postponed several times, first it was the 22nd, then the 24th. Then they decided to give themselves a bit of room to sit on their chairs and do nothing so it was the 4th and then they said and I quote 'it will definitely be fixed by the 6th, 100%' and here I am on the night of the 6th wondering how BT even have customers anymore. I honestly wouldn't wish this sort of service into my worse enemies. Absolutely appalling!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Anglesey BT  
Extremely disappointed in the service provided by BT. The new e-mail system is a bit of a joke. I feel that the customer service that is provided is just there to frustrate you and make you give up on the enquiry/complaint.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Anglesey BT  
This review is of a new connection and we are new customers to BT. BT's broadband checker suggests 2.34Mbs where as 3 other independent speed checking sites suggest 1.82Mbs, 1.94Mbs and 2.04 Mbs. BT have failed 4 times to connect our Broadband, each time giving a definite date, assuring us that the connection has been fast tracked. On the 5th attempt after the engineers rejected the request for fast track, it was connected but a day later than promised. Customer support was appalling - both call centres based in UK and India were as bad as each other, BT's policy will not let you speak to a manager - who you get taking your call is the person that you will deal with, yet after each person assured us that they would personally check and email and call me to update - NONE of them have. A complaint was raised and the person dealing with the complaint said they would call me back at a specific time, it is now 4 days later and no call. Apologies if this is a rant but if this is what a company is like to NEW customers, i dread to think what it will be like once we are no longer regarded as NEW !!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Angus BT  
Stay away from this company. They have the worst customer service and they have the worst broadband speed and reliability. The wifi crashes 2 times every hour and we just lost 200 pound concert tickets to a crash. This company needs to go bust.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Anon BT  
Renewed 12-month contract with BT to maintain the discount. They said everything would be the same except I could expect slightly faster broadband. When the new contract started the Broadband stopped working and I am left with a flashing DSL LED. Called their help desk and was told I needed to wait 48 hours before the service would start working and they were going to do nothing in those 48 hours to help. Children were off school for study leave had to take them to the local library so they could study. I work from home and had to sit in my car at a local car park and use my phone as a hotspot so I could work as the 3G is useless where I live. After 48 hours still no broadband. Called the help desk (it sounded like a call centre in India) they said I needed to stay on the phone while they tested the line. During the test the line went dead and I was left with only the dial tone, they did not call be back. After hours of waiting I called again and explained what happened. They looked at the notes and said I had put the phone down on the support parson during the test so that’s why they did not call back! They then started querying how I had my name spelling on the account name saying that is not how my name should be spelled. They also had my house number wrong in the system they were now using they had everything correct except they had the wrong house number. This support person was extremely rude to me (it sounded like a call centre in India) They tested the line and said it was fine I must have done something to stop it from working. They were unable to help and were even describing the hub and open reach modem incorrectly telling me there were not the ports on it I was seeing. They said they would send out an engineer to have a look. The following day I looked online when I was using my phone as a hotspot and on the BT site, the fault said it was fixed. I called them again and was told to stop calling them! they were dealing with it!!. I called them the following day to confirm an engineer was coming as their website said there was a fault and when I clicked on the link it said the fault was fixed, they had a look and said they could not see any appointment for an engineer. I asked them were they sure. I told them when the engineer was supposed to be coming and they then said they could now see the appointment. So far no broadband or engineer. I have spent countless hours waiting it queues as their automated system says we are extremely bust at the moment. The children have to keep going to the library to use broadband as their homework’s are posted on Show My Homework website. I cannot do my work properly I need to keep going out in my car to find a good 3G/4G hotspot. I told BT I worked from home but they are doing nothing at all to help me! I would advise everyone to avoid BT at all costs they are a nightmare to deal with.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Antrim BT  
Signed up for 18 month contract and Paying for SUPERFAST FIBRE Advertised Average speed is 50Mb. Only getting 0.01Mbs!! phoned the call centre and they say my guaranteed speed is only 0.5Mbs!!!. They said it said this in the small print on the contract and laughed at me saying " Ha Ha Ha.. You did not read the small print" upgrade to the fastest service, I am already paying for the fastest service available, why am I being charged for premium service and getting slower than dialup? I work from home and can't work, it very frustrating and my employer is not impressed I could lose my job over this.I have spent 12+ hours trying to be understood by a foreign call centre. They won't do anything to try and help me BT don't care if I loose my job over this!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Antrim BT  
i cant get through on phone as they just hang up. the speed is much lower than promised. any problems you have they dont want to fix without trying to charge £129.99. should never have went with bt!. cant give no stars or half stars 1 star is still to good for the service you recieve
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
ARBROATH BT  
Broadband speed is shockingly slow
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ardrishaig Argyll BT  
Very patchy customer service. If you fall into the right category, it's not too bad, but if it's a bit complicated, then you've got no chance. For a communications company they're very difficult to get in touch with.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Ardrossan BT  
I transferred to BT Mobile after 14 years with Three. Not only did I get a cheaper deal, but the 4G average is 97mbps compared to Three’s 53mbps. I honestly thought that all providers used the same masts. I’ve had 2 issues with 2 calls to knowledgeable people in the UK! What a difference not having to repeat myself again and again. Both calls were answered quickly and sorted in a single call. I have signed up for BT Plus and Broadband speed is decent for my area. Having double my mobile plan means for workers from home I can tether to my iPhone and get websites uploaded 700% quicker. I still believe the fixed line could be quicker, but overall, very good to have a British brand firmly back in Britain!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Argyll BT  
I have been with BT for 10 years and watched their customer service slide and slide to the point they are unreliable and take a long time and a lot of calling to resolve basic problems. Staff vary in knowledge and helpfulness.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Argyll BT  
Reviewing this simply due to the fact of how shocking BT's Broadband is. For the last year the Broadband in our area has been disconnected every second night without fail during peak times for around 1-2 hours, on top of this when it is actually running you are lucky to get any decent usable connection, when streaming video's you are consistently directed to 140P, even on this you still run into buffer problems, whilst contacting customer services about the situation BT essentially said there is nothing they can do until Fibre is installed, even then I doubt their speed will be all that great. Would highly recommend not going with BT for Broadband.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Argyll BT  
Having been with another company for over 25 years I transferred to BT Broadband. Before doing so I asked and was told that I could ask, if it ever became necessary, to speak to someone whose first language was English - no need to say anymore about that (And I have no prejudices) it's just that I'm not a qualified English teacher! So after three different contracts I eventually got my equipment. BT admin is a total disaster. Things have been going along reasonably smoothly, apart from when they tried to blackmail me into signing up again for 12 months in order to get BT sport. But FINALLY - for some unknown reason I recently received my latest email bill from BT. When I tried to have a look at this - instead of the usual pages coming up I was informed that I would have to register with a new BT ID. Now my troubles really started. I spent 1 hour and 20 minutes trying to explain to a person whose first language was not English that I was quite content with the system that I had been using for the past 25 years i.e. Outlook Express. I asked to speak to the line manager but he was too busy so it was arranged that a person from the next level up would phone me to resolve my problem. This WAS done and the level 2 agent spent over 20 minutes with the system so that I would continue getting my email via Microsoft Outlook Express. Needless to say this hasn't happened. Now I can only get my email through the BT server, using a BT email system and already I am getting spam that I've avoided for over 20 years and, into the bargain, I'm also now getting BT ads for other companies that presumably pay BT for the privilege. BT ARE A CROWD OF MONEY MAKING GANGSTERS _ DON'T EVER SIGN UP TO THEM!!!!!!!
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Argyll, Scotland. BT  
the wort internet I ever had. BT cant provide proper services even they say so
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ashford BT  
Joining the club of BT frustrated customer .!!!
Nothing to add to the other reviews . I am so shocked how a British company like BT Trap the customers , being rude to the customers and hang up the phone for a mistake done by BT.I have forwarded the complaint along with these reviews to Ombudsman Communications .
Libby Bar , be proud of your worst customer service team , I bet they are following their leader .
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ashford , Kent BT  
When BTMail started, I lost all my email addresses on MacMail, I contacted BT on 3 occasions and spoke to BTIndia.on all 3 occasions it ended up after they had read thru their sheets with failure. I have paid my line rental for the year so would lose this if I try to move to another ISP.
I was told it was a problem for Apple which is rubbish and that I should pay £35 and talk to them. Lately I got Sky TV and although I have Infinity it still takes up to 20 minutes to download a one hour programme if you try to do it at 5pm
I am waiting to see what they do next. Maybe it will be someone in the UK!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Ashford Kent BT  
Too slow for fibre optic and too expensive for the speed.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Ashingdon BT  
Internet kept dropping out and i Spent months on the phone to them to be fobbed off and passed on saying they've found a fault but arnt sure what it is had engineers booked and cancelled without being informed so took a unpaid day off work for nothing they have no interest in fixing anything and have said I'm entitle to no compensation because it isn't total loss of internet it's only intermittent but what use is internet if it only works for 5 minutes then disconnects for 5 minutes and so on this is the worst broadband I've ever had and as for the call centres being up based what a load of manure this company should be called Indian telecom
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ashington BT  
BT was good for the first year however they have decreased my broadband speed and it is now 10x less than it should be. I do not recommend this broadband.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Ashington BT  

Loading...

  • 2796 reviews, showing page 3 of 70, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk