Plusnet Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.4 stars
  • Speed
    2.8 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 7068 customer ratings since 2017-12-15 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

2425 Customer Reviews for Plusnet

  • Showing page 1 of 61, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
AVOID Plusnet is a joke, if you want slow,intermittent reception, your in the right place, my speed has always been Very Slow, I hace contacted them, they pretend to do something, but it never gets amy better, as soon as my contract ends, im sacking them. AVOID AVOID AVOID
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
doncaster Plusnet  
This is the worst company I have ever dealt with. All they are good for is money grabbing. I signed up wih Plus net for broadband and on the day we were told verbally when an engineer would come round. My husband took the day off from work because one of us needed to be at home. Nobody came on the agreed date and time. I called Plusnet and they said we emailed to say we changed the date. Plusnet had changed date to the next day. They didnt send a messge, a letter or call to say they had changed the date. They emailed us when they knew we didn't have access to the internet. We were charged £65 because we didn't give  48 hours notice for the date of the engineer to be changed. They ruined our evening with their terrible cutomer skills and tried very hard to pin the blame on us. DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY!!
London Plusnet  
I wish I had looked at this site first. This has been an awful experience. Wrong dates promised. Engineers turning up when the date has been changed. You get emails which you know are wrong, but cannot notify them of mistakes as email does not reply, so you have to call them and wait 1 hour to get through. DON'T, it's a shambles
Glasgow Plusnet  
Cannot give this company any stars whatsoever apart from money grabbing.
They took an immediate payment of £31.99 for a "connection" fee.
However after a better offer from my current provider I declined the changeover and asked for a refund.
Over a month later I am still waiting, been told it was being processed more times than I can remember, first it was up to 5 working days, then up to ten, now they are saying that it will be neither instead it will be sent by cheque, guess what after a month still no refund, what an incompetent couldn't care outfit.
The add says`we will do you proud.
DAMNED RIGHT, Well and truly
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
CWMBRAN Plusnet  
Terrible internet. Constant dropouts. Very slow speed mostly, often less than 1mbs. Customer Services won't resolve anything or send a technician, blame our own devices that work perfectly fine elsewhere. Can't wait till our year is up will never use them again
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bristol Plusnet  
Still waiting for a refund after cancelling my account (poor service and poor provider). Now been waiting 6 weeks and just been told they thought they had put the money in my bank but they realise they haven't so are sending a cheque - which will take ANOTHER 21 days to get to me!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Glasgow (City of) Plusnet  
Broadband is a bit hit and miss,some days it is pathetic especially when trying to watch on demand. But there are days when it is pretty decent,my average speed is about 8_10.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Dronfield,. Derbyshire Plusnet  
This is the worst company I have ever dealt with. First they send an engineer that wrongly told me I need access to the neighbours house for a phone line. Then they send me one text with a another date, then a get another text with a different date, only for the engineer to turn up on the first. The list goes on, I eventually cancelled broadband and complained. I was meant to be getting my initial deposit of £80 back, still waiting. The left hand does not know what the right hand is doing, pathetic. DO NOT GO WITH THIS COMPANY, is my advice. ps impossible to get on the phone, up to an hour wait.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Dundee Plusnet  
Very very poor customer service. Switch my ISP from Plusnet to another provider, after 3 weeks of delays they swopped over and then immediately scrubbed all my emails - hundreds of them with no chance of getting any of them back. Terrible
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Clitheroe Plusnet  
Used to be good and work fast. The past few weeks it’s been extremely slow and it’s ridiculous. Moving networks.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Plusnet  
I was supposed to switch to Plusnet on the 26th November from Talktalk. My Internet connection was cut off on the 21st November,and I lost my phone connection on the 26th. Eventually, after much drama, I got my Internet connected a week late, on 3rd December, but still no phone on the 5th December.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Swansea Plusnet  
Shocking service only equalled by appaling customer care. 0.38Mb upload speeds recently, unusable. When we asked why (after 4 years of 2.0Mb uploads) they said ‘we couldn’t possibly comment’!! This was a manager......Award winning broadband?? Awarded to themselves only.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Scottish highlands Plusnet  
After years of suffering TalkTalk we changed to Plusnet and our broadband speed is even slower. If I hang on long enough waiting to speak to customer services, they are at least in the UK but that is the only slight advantage. So very disappointed.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
London Plusnet  
I have signed up with them over a month ago and still have heard nothing from them. only an email to say there is a problem. no other details. There is no way to contact the customer service as they don't provide an email address and you cannot reply to the automated emails they send.
the online chat is usually switched off, stating that they are busy with other customers, and the phone number has a wait time of over an hour.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
London Plusnet  
I have tried on numerous occasions to contact Plusnet regarding the failed billing issues which are affecting myself and many others. Although our account is fully paid up and running on the net we keep getting failed billing messages when we try to contact some sites.
  • Reliability
    1 star
Prudhoe Ovington Plusnet  
Horrible service. Started a contract with them and they started charging me, even though I still have no Internet connection due to technical issues.

They avoid sending a technician and they try constantly to claim there is a fault in the house installation so they can charge another £65 for the repair. I Keep explaining them that I just moved into the house so I can't be faulted for anynthing but they don't listen, they just keep mailing me their generic "fix it yourself" email that is not helping at all.

Absolutely horrible, avoid at all costs.
Bristol Plusnet  
Worst customer service I've ever received. Unless your purchasing a product as a new customer you have no chance of getting through on the phone.Currently writing this to pass the time whilst on hold. I have been told I will have a 5 minute wait that was 20 minutes ago. Gave up after an hour the other day, simply appalling.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
ETCHINGHAM Plusnet  
I've been with Plusnet for years - occasionally something goes wrong - my router died recently and it just took a phone call to get that resolved. Now I'm moving house and I spoke to the house move team who has made this really painless. I can honestly say Plusnet's customer support is always outstanding and so many other companies could learn a lot from them. Thanks :)
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Northern Ireland Plusnet  
When I joined Plusnet over a year ago the customer service was brilliant, I've now just had possibly the worst customer service I've ever received after questions being billed months after leaving the property. 30 minute wait for an incredibly rude woman to tell me it's sorted now and then hang up on me.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
London Plusnet  
Plusnet Joe had better start looking for a new job !
Plusnet what on earth has happened to your customer service?
Having been a customer for over seven years, I previously used to recommend them to friends, due to their friendly helpful customer service.
However due to recent supply issues and obstructive, manipulative responses received from their “CSC Analyst’s” I can no longer recommend PlusNet to anyone!
They now seem to automatically start with the presumption that any reported fault is in the customer’s premises and could not possibly be part of the external Openreach network.
There are serious problems with their communication (Lack of information and updates to their customers) and also problems with their billing system where they are charging customers the incorrect amounts and not as per their agreed contract.
I am not sure what has promoted this dramatic decline in service and current behaviour towards the customer, but they fail to take ownership of issues to ensure that their customers receive the service that they pay for and that PlusNet are contractually responsible to provide.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Kent Plusnet  
Be vary of Plusnet when renewing
i tried to cancel my contract and was put on the same contract and was told this is after accout review
I was never send an email confirmation of terms of contract or the deal iteslef and after a month my contract came up £12 more than agreed and when called to check this i was told i agreed to this deal and cannot cancel it anymore.
Liars unprofessional comapny staff are useless and so are the managers
A dissatisfied customer
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
leicester Plusnet  
Utter rubbish – there are a subsidiary of British telecom and so no better than them. The customer service was terrible and the only way that you can cancel or terminate your contract is by Sending a recorded delivery letter or by phone. I have spent almost 3 hours on the phone trying to get through to the right department to do the cancellation and lo and behold I’m never put through to the right place. It’s both illegal and disgusting.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sussex Plusnet  
Had nothing but problems with Plusnet since I signed up. You're supposed to have a 14 day grace period the moment your new bill is put in place so that if you can't pay your bill on time, you still have a set number of days before they add any restrictions to your account. Do you think I get that service? Hell no. Today is just another example of their mocking. They chose the date that I pay on, despite me claiming several times that they won't get their money that day due to it not being my pay day, but they didn't budge, instead choosing to tell me "You'll have 14 days to make the payment before we add any restrictions." which was the initial reason I switched to them to begin with, but instead, they add the restrictions the exact same day that the bill is due, completely breaching their contract with me (meaning I do have the right to terminate) and then adding restrictions to their own website so I can't connect to click the 'Not ready to pay?' option. Nor could I get onto it to get Live Chat support, or just to log in and pay if I had the money. If they don't want their money that bad, then that's no problem for me. But considering they know my difficult situation regarding why I need the internet, not want it, and that it's all apparently 'written in my notes' on their end, they don't seem to have any trouble messing me about at every possible opportunity. I've been their customer for over a year now and cannot recall a single time when this has never happened to me. Obviously their motto 'We'll make you proud' and their claim of being 'there for the people' is about as legitimate as my claim to the throne!

Personally, we should revolt against this disgrace of a company and come together to petition against their joke of a company, then send it in to trading standards, watch dog, and ofcom. Let's get the results we deserve from them!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
South Wales Plusnet  
Amazed to read so much negativity on this forum relating to Plusnet. I switched to them from BT some years ago after years of what can only be described as personal abuse.
No, they're not perfect - and their service has declined under BT's ownership, but you do (eventually) get to speak to a UK agent - rather than someone on the other side of the world with English as 2nd or 3rd language.
As with most things in life, you get what you pay for, and while we all chase the cheapest deal suppliers will make service decisions based on profit rather than offer the service that we all crave - but seem unwilling to pay for. Check out with friends & family what broadband costs in other countries !
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Aylesbury Plusnet  
I decided to go with pilsner as sky were putting up the price
We have a poor connection as we live in a remote area. Sky wanted to charge 40 a month so I decided to go with plusnet
18.99 a month £75 amazon voucher

I signed up on 5/11/18 they took £23 out my sccount
Been chasing them for days to find out why I’m not connected. They said this is due to the system cancelling

When I asked to speak to management they didn’t put me on hold and just started a conversation amongst themselves
In Urdu then they said all day these customers have been complaining

When I asked the manager to listen to the call coincidently the call hadn’t been recorded

Hope the company gets shut down poor customer service they ain’t interested in you just your money avoid
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Cotswolds Plusnet  
In this area plusnet just doesn't work anymore iv been a good customer for the last 6 years iv moved not far from my old address [which is also now getting the same problem] and the nets been cutting out loads since may iv heard from loads of excuses from there systems let's people bunny hop on to others Internet to its my bits at home that connect to the router iv changed my ether net leads twice iv had open reach do almost absolutely everything from a new socket to having a lift and shift witch is having my line removed from the server and added to another they've promised made loads of empty promises which iv had to sort out again the week after as the customer services ether are so over worked or they generally don't have a clue what there doing I'm now at a point where I want to be removed from there services free of charge and I'm going to take it ^
  • Speed
    3 stars
Braintree, essex Plusnet  
Do yourself a favour steer well clear of these thiefts, they have had my money for 4 weeks and i,m not even on there books, even after over 4 hours of phone calls they still have my money all £257.87 i have had every lie, excuse, promise, they took the money 5 days after they where told not to,
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Dundee Plusnet  
The customer support team washed their hands of a problem when I now realise it is quite common. A blame someone else culture
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Essex Plusnet  
Impossible to contact , clearly not interested unless opening a new account and paying them money , fed up being told the phone line is busy , chat line would not open so have to write a letter , no e.mail address total disgrace and now need to find another useless company
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Eastbourne Plusnet  
I cannot recommend this company in anyway shape or form, the speed although supposedly averaged at 11 Mbps, mine when it wasn't offline was 3.9 Mbps. Trying to get through to seek help/advice was pointless as the waiting time was at the minimum of 35 minutes. Having decided to go with another provider and because of the vagueness of the transfer date, then I am being charged an early leaving fee because I am leaving 20 days early although I am paid up to the end of my contract. Absolutely disgusted with this provider.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Liverpool Plusnet  
Customer service extremely slow took me over 50 minutes to get through heard a lot of rubbish music to keep me amused!! The router came quickly but I was not told that I needed to phone and activate so when my old supplier finished I have been left approximately 7 days without anything. I explained a difficult situation regarding someone with learning difficulties that requires the internet however the slow workings of plusnet could not accommodate or move any faster, difficult when someone relies on something they have limited understanding of. I was going to have plusnet in my own home at the end of my contract with BT however have had to have second thoughts about this, so would not recommend this company to anyone, please take note go elsewhere.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Canvey island essex Plusnet  
I started to join Plusnet on the 22/10/18 on the 5/11/18 they took £23.99 i left it to a couple of weeks but nothing was happening I emailed and received no reply I posted 2 messages and was meant to get a reply within 14 hours, you guessed it no reply I rang at least a dozen times and was in a queue for 1 hour. In the end I rang my current provider and was told Plusnet had not contacted them to say I was leaving, this was now 25/11/18 finally on the 26/11/18 I contacted my bank and they refunded my money. Beware Plusnet customer service is very very poor so glad I didn't go with them in the end.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
Durham Plusnet  
This company does not honor their promises to customers, If I could I wouldn't even give one star.
Last year on Black Friday I was offered £50 cash back for joining PLUSNET internet services, BUT UNFORTUNATELY it is now the next year, the next Black Friday and I still have not received this minor £50 despite several email and 3 phone calls, I would not trust this company or believe any deals they offer, haven't gor a clue about customer services.
Thanks TT
LONDON Plusnet  
Such a waste of time, the actual broadband was always slow and lagged, got cut off for 6 days after calling 8 times they managed to fix / chase up open reach! And for my trouble was give £2.16 off my next bill
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Romford Plusnet  
Switched to Plusnet at least 6 years ago and service was great. Unfortunately, over the years customer support became less accessible (on hold on the phone for over an hour before giving up, and webchat constantly busy), and the price became less competitive. Eventually switched provider in early August, except Plusnet didn't close the account (despite the service having migrate and them no longer providing a service). Was pestered with requests for payments for months that I was no longer a customer. Eventually my account was officially closed, all good, except they now claim I owe money from the date that they closed the account rather than when the service discontinued and forwarded the "debt" request to a collection agency. I understand that I am far from the only person in this scenario. I have filed a complaint with Ofcom and have advised them that there will be repercussions if my credit rating is affected. Whereas I would have once highly recommended Plusnet, I would now have to strenuously discourage.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Kilmarnock Plusnet  
I received my box late after I joined. Left me with 3 days without internet which was fantastic when you work from home. - they said they would refund me the days without service but never did.

Consistently cuts out and is 100% not suitable for online gaming.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
Edinburgh (City of) Plusnet  
Oh how I wish I had read these reviews instead of believing the silly advertisement on TV! Awful awful company a complete joke they might as well advertise free broadband at least you might smell a rat! The guy in the cancellation department didn't even bother trying to convince us to stay he must be so exhausted dealing with the same problems all day! Terrible
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Northern Ireland Plusnet  
The broadband is pants... plusnet lie and lie about why it’s so rubbish. Finally my contract is up and I try and leave. Because I won’t tell Chelsea the retention’s woman the cost of my new provider, she starts being rude and really difficult. (I understand you have to go through security questions, but she kept going over and over asking my numbers from my password, my bank account, sort code, memorable word...it was ridiculous...she almost took the full passwords on all of them!) cocky staff, slack attitude and a rubbish service...thank god im free!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
South bucks Plusnet  
My issue with this company is WiFi,I can only get 2.4ghz. 5ghz does not work and has been disabled. Bearing in mind I live in a bungalow WiFi will only work with 2.4 in the room that the hub is in. I have had to buy a booster to use my tablet in the bedroom. Was promised a gesture of goodwill payment when this was suggested but the person dealing with this has been replaced. I've had enough, just waiting for contract to end to get out.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Sedbury Gloucestershire Plusnet  
This company are liars and idiots, who is the big daft bugger on the telly who says we do you proud , i don't know about the proud bit, they certainly do you. Its no point complaining , i was warned they are *****. Took me 2 hours on my mobile to discover I should repair my non working phone line. Said I should take a course on u tube in phone repairs. ******** who are they. Does anyone know their office address so I can stuff the router up the bosses rectum.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
Melton mowbray Plusnet  

Loading...

  • 2425 reviews, showing page 1 of 61, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk