Plusnet Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Plusnet.

Recent Customer Ratings for Plusnet

  • Satisfaction
    3.2 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.4 stars
  • Speed
    2.8 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 6738 customer ratings since 2018-02-20 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Plusnet   Read our Plusnet buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

2546 Customer Reviews for Plusnet

  • Showing page 1 of 64, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Absolutely shocking customer service. Friend’s system wet down. Promised it back next day(Sat). Didn’t happen. Promised it back Sunday, didn’t happen. I spent 45 mins getting through to customer services, explained that friend had a serious medical need for contact. Promised a call back from engineer in 15 minutes and from a manager in 45. 3 hours on and guess what.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Abingdon Plusnet  
awful Internet speed, service disappear time to time
tests indicates 5mb/s download speed and 0.1mb upload
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Peterborough Plusnet  
Just signed up with Plusnet and so far so good. Set up all went smoothly on date promised. Had to contact customer services a couple of times and received great advice and help. My broadband speed has doubled compared with my previous provider so am very happy customer at the moment
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Doncaster Plusnet  
Never had any drops, I was told my speed would be 8-14mb and I'm getting 36, pleasant surprise! They were late to install, but refunded me for the days I couldnt use the service.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Pirbright Plusnet  
I think plusnet is brilliant. I have been with talk talk, BT and sky in the past and plusnet has been the most reliable service i have ever had.

You would think BT would beat all providers given its their phone lines, but Plusnet beats them hands down.

Well done!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Southbourne Plusnet  
Absolutely a con I've been with them since September the first couple of months was fine I was only paying £32 pound a month after the festive period I'm paying nearly £97 a month total I wouldn't recommend anyone to this sham of a provider all they want is money
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Shb Plusnet  
Poor customer service skills it’s took 4 days if
Me chasing them for money they took out of my account which wasn’t due to get
Them to put it back in the excuses they come up with and the attitude in the phone was crap!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Fleetwood Plusnet  
My router keeps dropping out. O Saturday between 7pm and 10pm it dropped out 4 times while I was watching Netflix programs. My download speed today Monday 11th Feb is 8.5 Mbs after dark seems to be the worst time for dropping out off line.
it was a solid connection up to approx December last year. My signal level is too low against the noise level especially after dark.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
38 St Vincents Close, Littlebourne Canterbury Plusnet  
Doubled the speed to hopefully get a better experience, A load of cr#p, think I’ve be moving supplier soon
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Bury Plusnet  
I changed over to SSE . It was smooth and reasonable experience . However I recommended Plusnet to friends. They were charged. Line activation was 29/1/2019 and until this moment in time they have not broadband. Customer services did not exist to resolve their frustrations. Very disappointed that I recommended them
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Newton Aycliffe Plusnet  
Can be on hold an average 20 minutes trying to get to speak to customer services. Just as poor quality customer services as their sister company BT.
I've left Plusnet shocking customer services and their prices are more expensive than talk talk
Don't stay with them out of loyalty it doesn't pay
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Wirral Plusnet  
Recently took up serrvice with plus net who guaranteed us a minimum of 25mb and an average of 38. The main reason for plus net was their so called customer service.I wanted to change service due to inability to ever watch i player without continual buffering. This has not improved and today check says 8.24mb. The person I spoke with yesterday was very helpful. The guy tonight was despicable, refusing to provide any help whatsoever without full security details which I do not have to hand. He refused to put me through to his manager. Very disappointed and looking to cancel as we are still within the 14 days.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Emsworth Plusnet  
We do not consistent connection, it drops off many times a day and stays off for minutes to a full day. I have contacted Plusnet who have sent an Openreach engineer twice now and they know the problem is there but cannot fix it. We have reported this to Plusnet five times and they have no answer. We are now trying to get a reduced contract as they are not delivering a consistent service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Nantwich Plusnet  
Plusnet will not do you proud, customer service is not good, they are rude and un helpful, Robbers.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Erith Plusnet  
Awful service and always dropping out they TOLD me that to get decent coverage I should invest in a decent router!!!
Phone charges are extortionate 0/10 is a true reflection of its value
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Sl6 Plusnet  
My broadband speed dropped off and not close to the speed that I signed up to. For 15 days I checked my speed twice a day and recorded the dates and times. I then telephone Plus Net and was through to Jack at Plus Net within 2 minutes, I informed Jack of my findings regarding my broad band speed. We reset my router wich made no difference, Jack raised a work number to sort my problem out. The following day I carried out a further broad band speed check to see my reading, I was amazed to see that my broad band was up to full speed, I also received an email from Plus Net informing me that my issue was resolved and that I was up and running at my allocated speed. For me personally Plus Net did an excellent job of sorting out my issue what else can I say, thanks Jack at Plus Net.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Staffordshire Plusnet  
Unreliable, slow, never even close to as advertised regardless of if you use an ethernet cable or not. Terrible customer support, overpriced.
London Plusnet  
I am paying for 14 mB/s, however, I am averaging on 800 kB/s - 1 mB/s. The internet disconnects between 4-10 times every day. I can't even remember the last day it didn't disconnect. It is absolute rubbish, as we pre-paid 12 months.

When I call or chat with customer services, they keep telling me the service is good, when I can see in front of me the download speed being 0.8 mB/s. The only solution they present, is having an engineer over, which would cost me £65. I'm struggling to see why I should be the one charged for their absolute ridiculous (broadband- and customer) service. 1 star is too high of a rating.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Leeds Plusnet  
Was very happy to sign up with Plusnet as the deal appeared very good for Broadband & landline 17th Jan 2019. Still waiting for connection 6/2/2019. Attempted web chat etc, no joy! PLusnet caption is "WE'L DO YOU PROUD"! Hope so when this Company get around to connecting me & sending me my router.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Brentwood, Essex Plusnet  
Agree with some comments about shambolic service.
So let's start with the Good. I moved from BT to Plusnet since my BT contract expired and Plusnet had an offer which made them competitive. Speed tests showed they hit the median value quoted.
Now the BAD
1) When my 12month contract expired, they offered me a renewed contract similar to mine. I also mentioned I was moving cities (different STDs), but they said that was no problem and that I could move over when the time was right, though a new number would have to be generated (stands to reason). What they didn't tell me on during the conversation was that it costs £65 to change address. They offered an alternative, which was to cancel the existing renewed contract at no extra cost and then take out a new 18 month contract (but different tariffs). I reluctantly agreed to the latter
2) So switchover date arrived, but our line still showed as being disconnected. Received numerous emails and texts on the day to say everything had gone swimmingly. Tried calling them, but as with others' experiences, they phone customer service is a lottery. Double their estimated time for a human to answer the call would be realistic at most times of the day. So I tried to use their chat. The 1st chap I spoke to eventually tried to arrange an Openreach engineer with a strong warning that any issue with the line found within the boundary of our rented property would result in a £65 charge. Any need to re-visit following such a conclusion would result in more charges if it wasn't possible to resolve on the first attempt. I need to seek permission from our landlord before going ahead.
2)I had thought, what happens if I call the new number provided? It actually rang and on the 2nd attempt, got through to someone other than my spouse. Not a happy bunny.
3) Following 2), I went through the arduous call process. Wow! The various Teams within Plusnet really struggle to talk to one another or know the infrastructure. Started off in Customer Service. Was then pushed to Tech Support. Told to wait....found myself back in the queue..start over. Eventually told I must have a crossed line and that the order hadn't successfully completed. Then put through to the so-called 'Provisioning Team', who denied it was an order fault and should be the Tech support guys responsibility. They eventually booked a BT engineer to visit our property in the notorious 1/2 day window.

Its ironic that Plusnet have some Northern lad boasting to endorse a company with 'Northern' values and customers' interests at hand. Errr! Have you tried contacting your own help line?

Total call time 1h 59sec. Took the full length of my 40 mile commute home.

STAY AWAY
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Cardiff Plusnet  
The service was fine for a while but the wifi eventually became unstable, slow and unusable around the house. plusnet were unable to solve and said that they do not guarantee service around the home!

When I left to go elsewhere they slapped me with high early termination charges which were in their ts and cs but I felt unreasonable given I didn't want to leave them. I asked for a waiver and/or discretionary credit, but they refused.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
uk Plusnet  
i have had nothing but trouble from plusnet i would never recomend the company to anyone thay are false advertising on tv saying thay will go the extra mile its all rubbish i have asked for a manager to call me back on several acations but no body ever rings back as soon as my contract is up im out of here i am taking my case to the pdf and the onbudsman as this is rediculas the way ive been tret the staff tell you one thing then thay dont do it im contacting the papers about the service
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
colne lancashire Plusnet  
I have been Signed up for 2 weeks and still have no internet. V long wait for customer service on phone. Engineer was supposed to call today - No show. Another hour on the phone. Wish I had stayed with talk talk. Helpful staff on phone but can't make up for appalling overall service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Coleraine Plusnet  
Probably the worse company I've dealt with for a long time.. Their customer services are rude and don't care..my broadband has been not working for almost 3 months. I have reported it on the phone, online and yet its not fixed!!!! So I'm paying for a service that I'm not receiving. My contract ends in a month so can't wait to leave them. Even one star rating is generous!!!!!
London Plusnet  
I've been with Sky before. Tried vodafone (crap).... Now I have moved my mobile and broadband to Plusnet. Never had quicker internet. Easy to set up and fast as **** !! I'm sofa king happy!! Thanks plusnet!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Burton on Trent Plusnet  
Hi there

I want to warn other people who are potentially thinking of changing broadband provider. I was with Virgin but was experiencing slow speeds and was paying too much for a service I only partially used. I looked online and thought the plus net deal for phone and broadband looked good so I signed up. I then faced a very long wait trying to speak to someone as I have plus net phone and broadband in one of my business premises so I wondered if they might have been able to offer me a better deal....I was transferred to someone else and lost the will to live having been on hold for over half an hour. Later I received a text saying my installation had been changed from PM as requested to AM - I tried to contact plus net about this but faced an unacceptable wait of over 30 minutes each time I tried. I then managed to log my question about this on their website and received a response saying it would be dealt with in 24 hours.....no response after 2 weeks and counting. Anyway, I digress, the main reason I am disgruntled is due to the fact that nowhere on the site does it explain that if you don't currently have a BT phone line a new one will have to be installed which may involve drilling a hole into an external wall; maybe to some people this is obvious but I am a compete dunce when it comes to technology and I did not realise this - if I had I would never have signed up. I think there should be a check-list on-line for people to complete when they sign up for a service so people are aware of what may be involved. Our engineer arrived this morning and within 2 minutes he said that he recommended staying with Virgin as he was going to have to drill a hole from outside in to our new extension and run several metres of cabling......he said to call plus net and say I wanted to cancel and that I would be in the cooling off period so all would be well. I see from other complaints that the cooling off period applies from the date you place your order, not the date of installation - very convenient for plus net. When I called to cancel (after another long wait) I was told that they would process the cancellation but that I would be charged £49 for the engineer's visit. I said I was upset about this as he didn't do anything except advise us to stay with our existing service and he was literally in the house no more than 4 or 5 minutes. I said I wanted to complain and a case was opened but during a call later in the day I was told that they were sticking with their decision not to refund me for the engineer's visit. I think this is shocking and want others to be aware so they don't make the same mistake as me.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Edinburgh Plusnet  
Would never go with plusnet again got account cancelled just because a neighbor had gone with the (caravan site) and cut me off with no notice and wanted more money for reconnection spoke to manager but no help was given poor service and would like to see them in a law suit
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Wisbech Plusnet  
Regular calls to customer service due to service dropping out regularly. Now on the last week of my contract and they hit me with a £13 bill for changing suppliers 6 whole days early. Last cs rep was unpleasant and bordering rude, don't bother using Plusnet.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Rushden Plusnet  
Do not use this conpany it is shambolic something needs doing about them.They do not know what customer service is absolute incapable of doing there job's.I an still waiting for my refund.I have tooo my complaint to the FSA everyone who has experienced the same thing should do the same.The stress and upset they have caused me is unreal.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Doncaster Plusnet  
Poor speed and reliability. The customer service staff are the most rude and offensive creatures I have ever had the misfortune to encounter. Raised 3 complaints in one day and they were closed unresolved with 12 hours. Fault not resolved and given the address of their 2ndstage which had to be done in writing and send by post. Staff refused to give the the CEO's Email. Cant be bothered participating in their biased maybe non-existant complaint system. Found the CEO's Email on-line. You got a lot of explaining to do mate. Where is my missing private data? Expect an Email from me soon I AM THOROUGHLY DISGUSTED BY YOUR RUDE ATTROCIUOS STAFF. My personal data has gone missing and I want it back Shame on you.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
CHICHESTER Plusnet  
Something needs to be done about this absolutely shambolic company. I so wish I had read all these atrocious reviews before I gave them my business. They need shutting down. Even though calls are recorded - this means nothing to them. They make false promises and lie through their teeth. PLEASE PLEASE stay well clear of this company. I cannot begin to tell you how much stress, time and aggravation they have caused me and my family.
Cambridge Plusnet  
Absolute dire customer service. Constant lengthy queues to get through to speak to anyone - promise of calls back from Manager - as they are never available (which don't happen) Calls not returned, instead receive emails (if lucky) which I am unable to reply to (as account closed). Would not recommend this company to anyone.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Cambridge Plusnet  
What a lousy disorganised outfit. Have been overcharging me since September and are either unable or unwilling to resolve.
CS staff are very matter of fact about the issue and believe that an eventual refund will suffice.
Will change supplier and chalk this up to experience. If they were a movie they would be X rated.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Falkirk Plusnet  
What a shambles - my previous contract expired last year - Plusnet were looking for a 50% increase to renew so I said I would move service. They then said they would reduce my bill again to stay on an 18 month contract so I agreed (big mistake!). Since then they keep trying to bill me for the price they originally wanted. I have to keep phoning them to get then to correct their system. They keep blaming a new computer system and a whole load of apologies, but reassure me they have now corrected their records and this would not happen again. Today I receive four automated emails from them saying that I had an unpaid amount on my account from Dec last year and that they would be terminating my service and changing me a £227 cancellation fee. So I phoned them again and after waiting for someone to answer the phone they agreed this was a terrible mistake with their IT system, very sorry and this would not happen again. Im fed up with having to keep ringing them so said I wanted to talk to a manager about these reoccurring problems. They refused my request. Considering the size of this company and part of BT, they are running it like a bunch of amateurs.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Reading Plusnet  
Speed has been very good comparatively to friends with other providers. Brilliant customer service (they accidentally overcharged us and responded by refunding us and giving us the next month free). Wifi never gone down unexpectedly.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
St Andrews Plusnet  
Where do I start with this review? Quite simply, an utterly appalling company, not fit for purpose. DO NOT BECOME A PLUSNET customer PLEASE!!
Signed up with Plusnet on 03.12.18, paying 12 months advance line rental to take advantage of the discount (£201.88p). Nice fluffy Welcome letter assured me that Plusnet would do everything to activate my new service, including contact my old provider BT Wrong! This didn't happen. On 15.12.18 when I contacted BT CS, I was advised that Plusnet needed to do this as an account transfer, giving 30 days notice before activating the new service with me. BT had no idea that I was transferring and told me that, potentially, I would be paying for 2 accounts; an existing one with them and the new one with Plusnet!
Meanwhile, Plusnet was insisting that there was a problem recognising my billing address and this could be solved only by installing a second landline. Nothing could convince them that the line from which I was speaking was working perfectly! I refused to even consider this as an option.
Despite this 'problem', Plusnet text/emailed me to confirm that my order was due for completion on 19.12.18 (nicely just beyond the 14 day cooling off period as experienced by other reviewers unlucky enough to have had the Plusnet experience).
After days of stress/being on hold/having fruitless conversations with apparently clueless CS advisors, I cancelled my order (on 15.12.18) and have remained with BT.
However, getting my £201.88 refunded took further days of stress/on hold/unhelpful calls. I was told initially that this would be refunded by the billing team onto my credit card in 10 working days. A Plusnet router arrived and I was advised that I could do what I liked with this; no need to return. No refund after 12 working days so further CSA calls to be told that they had a problem with their automated system so this amount would be paid manually into my bank acc within 5 working days. They confirmed they had details. I was told that they relied on customer reporting to confirm this problem. What a dreadful system! No refund after 5 days but an email from Plusnet informing me that I would be reimbursed by cheque in the next 14 days!!! CSA (more calls/more stress) told me they did not hold any account details for me, despite confirmation from the previous advisor that they had this information. He then said the previous advisor must have been making it up! WHAT a truly appalling organisation!! Told him I was SO glad I'd left.
Finally emailed the CEO of Plusnet (andy.baker@plus.net) with a chronology of all these events and asking for his help re refund. A member of his 'CE Team' left me a voicemail promising to email me. Needless to say, the email never arrived. However, a cheque for the refund did turn up 48 hours later, so maybe my email did hasten this dreadful process and help it to conclude.
Almost the worst stress I've experienced since my husband died some years ago. Would hate anyone else to go through anything similar so PLEASE heed the warnings and avoid at all costs. I consider I had a lucky escape before the end of the 14 days.
If I could rate Plusnet at less than zero, I would do so.
This is not a rant; it's a series of facts.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Thirsk Plusnet  
Completely and utterly let down by plusnet. I originally placed an order and booked a days holiday for an engineer to come out. After no one turned up I called up to find out my order was cancelled without my Knowledge. I was assured it would all be set up again and told I'd be contacted regarding a new engineer appointment. After not hearing from them I called up only to find they had booked an appointment and not told me the day or time. Because it was too short notice I could only take the day off as unpaid. The engineer never showed and after contacting them all they could do was raise a dispute with open reach and couldn't book another appointment until that was sorted. After over an hour on the phone I asked to cancel, only to be put through to an arrogant customer service rep who told me I was free to go and use whatever Internet provider I liked from now on. I'm down a days pay and left with no broadband, totally disgusted at the lack of customer care.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Yeovil Plusnet  
Please can I advise people not to use pulsenet. I joined last may, informed them what i use the internet for etc and was advised on the package i needed. I have never had reliable broadband. I have contacted them several times regarding this and advised to try all sorts of things without success.
Contacted them again on friday to cancelled to be advised that I am not on the right package???
Trying to get through to Pulsenet is impossible on the wait for over half an hour.
I have been waiting for a call back from a manager for the last 2 days without success.
They are horrendus, don't live up to what they say you will get.
Please stay away
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
leigh Plusnet  
This is the worse company I have ever dealt with.
I am 69 years old & in all these years I have never, ever dealt with anyone as poor as this.
There customer service is terrible & their technical department is so bad that my limited knowledge of technology is far superior.
They simply are unable to comprehend basic principals , they want you to send them numerous examples but are unable to comprehend the detail you send.
I have wasted countless hours trying to get my message across to them but they just ignore you when you try & help them deduce the problems.
A terrible, shocking company who should not be trading.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
RAMSEY Plusnet  
Absolutely disgusting company disgusting customer service only had it 5days does not work called to cancel over 1 hour on phone passed from one person to the next now want a cancellation fee even though I’ve paid for 1 months supply would never recommend to anyone
Bolton Plusnet  

Loading...

  • 2546 reviews, showing page 1 of 64, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk