Virgin Media Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Virgin Media.

Recent Customer Ratings for Virgin Media

  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.8 stars
  • Speed
    3.2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars

Based on 1110 customer ratings since 2023-02-21 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Virgin Media   Read our Virgin Media buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

4,651 Customer Reviews over 117 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Poole
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Do not touch with a 10ft pole
    My father died last weekend, due to everything I have subsequently had to deal with, I was late paying my bill and was put on restricted service. I tried phoning virgin to be told to go online to pay bill. I am disconnected from internet, so how could I do this. My mobile is on virgin, but mobile data does not stay stable for longer than a minute before losing connection, but I managed to pay. All of this because they have now done away with all phone lines for customer service. The number they gave me 0345 4541111 is no such number and does not work. They remove all options to speak to a person, expecting you to do it all online, but you are disconnected. FFS, Virgin sort your act out, I will be changing supplier as soon as possible.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Portsmouth
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely stressful awful experience with them. From the day of taking out my contract, they knew there had to be an initial installation to get a connection to my building. They kept changing the dates of this initial installation appointment without checking with me and knowing that I am not at home during the day. I have spoken to so many employers and it comes across like no one knows how to do their job. And then they push the same excuse each time the date is changed without my consent. If they know there is an issue to install the first part, why keep giving dates and times that they can't fulfill. The complaints team doesn't exist, and who ever does take on your complaint does nothing about it. They forever are writing notes on your profile whilst you sit for hours on a call with them but what is the point of making notes when they have no regard/respect to actually follow them? They just change things according to what suits them, and then it goes as a missed appointment if you're not available. Their excuse is that the pre installation is done by a 3rd party company, but no one knows who they are so I cannot contact those people and complain that they have no regard for what they client says about their schedule. And after sitting for hours on a call being transferred to all the wrong departments because no one knows what they are doing l, we then agree on a date/time. Then randomly I get an sms with a new date and time which I didn't agree to. I would hate to know what it would be like actually having an active service with them if this is the stress I reviewed before even getting the connection point installed. They guy who sold me the contract didn't plan anything properly. My memorable word didn't even work for the O2 part of the package. And all they do is over talk and talk and just go on about things to sell you something, but they don't know how to plan /schedule all the things that need to be done with the sale. It's atrocious. And when you ask to speak to a supervisor, they make some excuse as to why they can't come to the phone. I don't want to ever deal with this again. It's as though I've been inside the Mad Hatter ls house rather than a business. I've cancelled everything.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    morden
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    terrible company had problems from the first attempt of the works they lie and have calling centre's in India and the Philippines who can't speak English they are the worst company I've ever dealt with after 2 months of hell I've had to cancel because of there incompetence they are an absolute joke
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Woodthorpe
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Great service from your engineer.He had to find a box outside, run a cable to our flat and drill neatly through the wall.Every thing was done with a smile and he left with All working.Welldone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dublun
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    The customer service sucks. I am a customer of virgin media from over two years and I am experiencing the terrible customer service. The waiting time is around 1hr to speak to one of their agents and when I asked to terminate my existing plan then they are charging 150euros extra. Please don't use virgin media.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I have only had virgin for 2 months. I am not happy with virgin. I feel like cancelling my direct debit. I am not paying another penny. My broadband has stopped working since Tue 29/11/22. Virgin will send someone to my home Sat 03/12/22. That is beyond a joke.

    My wife works home home and she needs the broadband to be working. We will have zero earnings for 4 or 5 days because of Virgin is taking this length of time to get someone out to fix it

    And I have 2 kids, you can imagine what my 2 kids will be like without broadband for 4 or 5 days. They cant watch Netflix, they cant play there playstation online, they cant stream movies.

    I understand my credit rating will get impacted if I stop my direct debit. But I have already made up mind.

    Terrible customer service as well.

    I switched from BT broadband to virgin. BIG BIG BIG MISTAKE.

    And another thing i am still waiting on my £100 Amazon voucher. I was meant to receive it for signing up. Well it's 2 months I have been waiting.

    And another thing, BT BROADBAND has a much better signal than VIRGIN.

    With BT I could get a good signal up and down stairs, all over my House I got a good signal.

    With virgin the signal buffers up the stairs.

    I would give virgin zero starts if it was possible.

    I am gonna find every website and give virgin a bad review, and hopefully people don't go with virgin.

    Everything I have said 100 per cent correct.

    If you go with virgin you will regret it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aldershot
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If could give -10 I would. Previously with sky for 18+ years no issues other then slowish internet so went for virgin for speed …… oh how ironic

    Please anyone thinking of moving to these jokers avoid

    Richard Branson et al makes millions and has all overseas workers whos standard response to any frustration is “I understand” and then carry on as normal

    Lies lies and more lies. Even have engineers come to house say simple job and personally call
    If any more delays… again no replies

    Give dates constantly move then more promises more dates moved

    Explained with wife in tears need internet to work anything. Kids homework her work from home

    Was set for early Nov then end nov then mid December then poss mid December

    Shame on you Virgin I doubt any change as simply don’t care

    But sure they will say “I understand”

    Please anyone avoid I promise it’s not worth the difficulty
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Chelsea, London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Poor reliability, really poor service and calling them is a very painful process.
    They hide charges within the contract which is awful. Take the customers for a ride and don't have the product capability to keep up with it
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      3 stars
    Comments
    What an awful company!! Constant outages, constant failure to deliver minimum guaranteed speeds, and absolutely no customer service. no one in CS has a clue what the problem is when outages occur - currently ours is predicted to last a week. Customers cannot speak to anyone who does know. A constant stream of misdirection, bluff, misinformation and at times, outright lies. DO NOT UDSE THIS COMPANY. On top of all this they increase your rates without informing you and you have to negotiate hard to get any semblance of your originally agreed rate/contract. I'm complaining to the Ombudsman, they should be put out of business for clear profiteering and stonewalling complaints.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Chronic dropouts.
    Horrible support.
    Infuriating ‘self-service’ nonsense.
    Hours on hold.
    Repeating my problem 9 times per session.
    Useless.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    LONDON
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    What an absolute joke of a company.
    They're happy taking your money but absolutely useless when things go wrong.
    I handed in my one month's notice on 23/10/22, as advised by their own customer service representative, due to lack of service, for which I'm paying £50+ a month. They said they'd resolve the issue before the month lapses or else, I'd be entitled to terminate my contract penalty free.
    One month lapsed but no such effort from their side.
    Contacted them on the morning of 23/11/22 only to be told my complaint is still under investigation and that someone would be in touch with me by the end of the day.
    It's now 28/11/22 and still, nobody has contacted me.
    I'm seriously considering cancelling my DD, and deal with any consequences later, even if that means taking these thieves to court.
    I can't stand paying them another penny for a service which I'm not even getting.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Very poor service. Poor internet speed even with IG. TV service is very poor.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bath
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Was a customer for a long time. Found the service to be reliable in that time. Switched to BT because Virgin would not do a package without TV and it was too expensive. They still charged me after my cancellation date. They explained this by saying they bill in advance and the bill was generated before the disconnection date. I was not warned of this when I went through the cancellation process. They then expected me to wait 40 days to receive a refund by cheque. I complained and was instructed to raise an indemnity claim with my bank. Apparently it is completely impossible to refund me themselves. My advice to anyone leaving Virgin is to cancel your Direct debit as soon as you have paid your final bill as they will absolutely continue to charge you.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Don’t use Virgin especially for business
    They don’t care, they are unreliable and if you phone the business line it will say we are experiencing a total outage permanently only to find that you still need an engineer to fix the problem. Virgin system down for the 4th time in 2 years and having to wait 2 weeks for it to be fixed. When you are an internet business especially on Black Friday period it is unacceptable. No internet service no phone service no card machine and they just come when they feel like it. Costing me a fortune in lost revenue. Don’t make the same mistake as me
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Derby
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The Virgin Trap
    2 years ago during lockdown we tried to cancel our virgin, we had issues ongoing since the install 2 years prior, after promises and lies, we had enough, we spoke to a chap who at the time was working from home (mobile) as most of us were back then, he promised to change our wifi to a more powerful one, and send us out two boosters, from the two main problematic rooms, once the engineer arrived, we soon realised that these promises were Virgin Lies. After months of calls and emails, we started to realise that we were not going to get anywhere, and were told, they don’t give boosters and that we had made this up, and Virgin lied its way out, at this point, we were out of our cooling off, and Virgin Trapped!!

    Fast forward to 2 weeks ago, after what seemed like a lifetime of rubbish internet, we called again to cancel, This time a chap gave us all the promises, he advised us to take small business internet, and that this would GUARANTEE us cover the whole house and in EVERY ROOM GARENTEED, it’s a different router and he guaranteed us that we will never call them again with issues (we have this recorded this time, you can trap us once Virgin, but we won’t be trapped twice) he even goes on to say, you even get a £100 back if this isn’t the case…. All recorded Virgin.

    So yesterday the engineer came, a nice chap, who tells us, he isn’t sure why but the wifi isn’t working in every room (shock horror) he was shocked to hear, that we were given a guarantee but not to worry, as all we need is two booster (arh the old booster promise) we explain that we had been promised these before, he told us that he wasn’t sure what had happened in the past, but this time he was writing up an essay for our case, and we would defiantly get these boosters, We explain we don’t want the wifi as we do not have faith in Virgin and wish to cancel our contract, he tells us, he cant do that, but not to panic, we have a 2 week cooling off period, in that time we will have the boosters and all will be fine….. HERE COME THE VIRGIN TRAP again…

    Today we called Virgin, as we don’t want to be in the VIRGIN TRAP again, we call and the person advises us, that we cannot have boosters, we have no Wi-Fi in every room guarantee, no £100 cash back for our inconvenience and worse of all, no cooling off period, we cannot cancel our virgin, we are again in the VIRGIN TRAP, after 84 minutes of being on the phone, being refused a manager call back and being told we cannot make a complaint or cancel, my partner finally got involved in the call and we have now been promised a call back, and advised that they have escalated a compliant, if this happens or not, we will see.

    A week later and still no call back from anyone!! We call again, this time we are told that a call was logged, but not complaint has been escalated, or they couldn’t see that one has, they can not guarantee a manager call back, but will let the field agent (the con man who sold us this) and let him know haha. The only thing they could confirm, is that we are now tied into a 2 year business agreement!!! That they will ask that a manager call us back, but they cant guarantee.

    2 days later, still nothing!! DO NOT DEAL WITH VIRGIN.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    Comments
    the place to find true incompetence and terrible customer service. My email and webmail have been down since 11 November. each call to customer service is 30 minutes - they can't fix it, and the referrals they make to technical support and the complaints team never come to anything. Dreadful company!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Liverpool
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely terrible.
    When it's time to cancel they drop all your calls, harras you and then try to bully you in to extra charges for Kit that you've probably already returned.
    Avoid
  • Reviewer
    Location
    St Helens
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    First date was the 9th then 16 then 23 next they phoned from a call centre could understand the lady call not from uk they say now 1 ov December this is atrocious customer service I will be without Internet for two weeks. This is crazy
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Belfast
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    This is the second time I’ve had virgin in and now I remember why we got rid of it in the first place. If a sparrow farts in the street the internet goes down. Utterly utterly useless. I can’t update any of my devices. I can’t play my consoles
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    If I could give Virgin Media a 0 I would: The worst customer service of any business in the UK by far! After being passed from call agent to call agent to find out why my service did not get set up on the day agreed, I was finally told I could not have Virgin Media for 23 days because Virgin Media would not set up my account whilst the previous owners of the property still had an active account -- which they never mentioned when they were taking my money.
    I finally cancelled my order which again took several calls from department to department whilst they kpts saying "sorry, I can help you with that" and "I can offer you a better rate" before they finally got the message.
    Virgin Media has the worst customer service of any company in the UK: expect long wait times to get through to "customer service" agents who pass your call around from department to department before disconnecting the call in order to meet their daily targets. I finally got fed up and tried to cancel my account and the agent kept asking me why and saying, "but I can offer you a better package." Terrible training! Avoid Virgin Media and go to BT who: answered my call within 3 rings from the UK, got me set up immediately on Hybrid Connect whilst I wait for their engineer - all very friendly; all very easy.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    thomas
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Horrible horrible service the broadband pretty much doesn't work so if you're thinking of registering to this broadband DONT DO NOT DO THIS obviously unless you want to throw money away and pay for nothing
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lichfield
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Literally the worst broadband provider I've ever been with. Customer service is shocking, service itself is terrible. Don't bother.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Castleford
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    All round terrible experience. When I first signed up, I did it through Quidco to get cashback worth £140. Factoring this into the overall cost made it an 'OK' deal. However, after 6 months, Virgin decoded not to pay out, so be aware if you get suckered I to one of these offers, Virgin don't pay out.
    Secondly, throughout the entire length of the contract I was supposed to get 500mb download speeds. The best speed I actually got on a rare day (perhaps 3 days in the full 18 months) was 100mb. There were lots of times when it was as low as 2mb. After lots of arguments, I was able to cancel the contract a few months early and as far as I was aware, I b
    Paid what I owed and we should have been done. They cancelled my online account, so I could no longer check balances etc. A few months later, they issue me a default for £23, which has now screwed my credit rating.
    Overall an appalling product, terrible service, poor value for money, they don't pay out on cashback and they will deviously screw your credit rating without making you aware you owe anything and make it impossible for you to even check.
    AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hampshire
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We have had absolutely horrendous WiFi for over a year (11mb/s download speed when sat directly next to the router). Upon trying to improve this, they have repeatedly tried to encourage us to buy an extender, but an extender would not improve the speed when sat directly next to the router! When one contract ended, we stupidly upgraded the WiFi to the next fastest in hopes of improving the speed. We are a household of three mature students and so it is vital that we have the use of WiFi for our studies, therefore we cannot wait weeks for an engineer to be sent out so that they can keep us in a contract! When we spoke to virgin media via their online chat, we were offered multiple new deals to try and keep us and when we told them that we wanted to terminate the contract as they were not upholding their end of the contract (and so it was null and void), they told us there would be a terminated fee and closed the chat on us! We will not be paying a fee to exit a contact that is now null and void as they have not provided the standard of service advertised!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Brent, London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin media has been giving us trouble for a few months now. During the 'cooling off period' we experienced no issues with Virgin. But as soon as that ended, we've been having such an awful, stressful time.
    Virgin makes lots of promises, but doesn't keep them. At first, we experienced lots of random cut offs during the middle of the day and in the evening. We complained many times and sent evidence of this. We also requested for the router to be moved closer to the PC. They eventually sent an engineer over, who just did a diagnostic check and nothing else. He said that the cables outside were old and needed replacing and that he didn't have enough time to move the router. He asked for a good review, for doing absolutely nothing, and left. We were promised a revisit to change the router location. Twice were we sent a message to say they'll be coming, we moved the furniture etc to make it easier for them, but guess what, no show up twice. We apparently get charged 25£ for not being present at home upon their arrival, but it's completely fine for them to make false promises and waste our time. They then sent someone to change the cable outside the property and the internet completely cut off for 24hours now. After having called virgin to complain, they said they can send someone in 5 days time. When we need the internet to work from home. Such a stressful experience. We asked if we can cancel the contract, and change provider. But afcourse they said no. Useless company. Avoid at all costs. They are quick to take your monthly money, but do not give you the service you're promised.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    St.Albans
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    C-101122662
    I wonder if it is true that VM executive team deliberately engineer an impasse with the complaining customers no matter how valid a complaint, so as to kick the complain towards CISAS and close down complaints quickly meeting internal performance targets?
    Be aware of the contractual catches to avoid responsibility for faults reported to them, thus placing you in a 'no resolution' queue that leads nowhere/arbitration, because you are accused of disagreeing with them when discussing a way forward. It's a deliberately designed trap is my opinion. A play on words in the discussion.
    I tested my service speed using Ookla over wifi. I have lots of devices on my LAN. But while I had a 200Mb/s service, using this testing process (not wired to the hub), I always saw 200 or slightly more for many years, so imho it's accurate! Then after a requested hub reboot because of a VM network upgrade I started to see drastically less speed intermittently, and full speed or slightly more 80%-90% of the time, (smells like my test is reasonably accurate you would think). How, if WiFi is used it can cause Ookla to only show 10-20 Mb/s in error for their claimed 250Mb/s amazes me. I get the WiFi being naturally flakey connection in design, but with my previous testing success on mine, it was fine. But that's the contractual wording trap and now you are doomed!. VM want you to fall for the customer LAN devices, third party devices and wifi can cause that much of an error when it tested. If they had said a drop of 10-20 Mb/s on WiFi I might have agreed, not 230! Like I am a liar! Its a contractual, and unreasonable in this case, exit door of avoidance. oh come on! It's nonsense VM. Seems like a get out of jail free excuse when I am not even trying to be contractual with you, just wanting fairness! Plus my appointment with your engineer was scheduled between 8-12. He got to my house at 17:45 as logged on my CCTV. I was told by your support team earlier that day that all local engineers were fixing a serious network issue that might explain my speed problem ( their words), hence the engineers latenesses! Go listen to your telephone recordings to hear it VM. The engineer when he arrived had trouble getting the new hub to work, it was showing the white led band display on hub4, but we were unable to log into the hub. The engineer, could only see 150Mb/s with no third party equipment connected. The engineers words not mine, and he was using your engineering tools to measure the speed! Slow confirmed by VM and supposedly reported back to his manager? Was it, I bet not? He left before the hub was fully working much to my surprise and it took me a further 2 reboots of the hub to get it working properly and get my LAN up and running as it was before he arrived. This WiFi/too many devices/third party kit nonsense that never affected Ookla measurements on the old 200Mb/s service seems to me to be a sidestepping excuse when I never wanted anything but a stable service, I was not trying to pin you down or be difficult, I just couldn't get you to see the point that it's a reasonably accurate test even if only in my case, and it can't be scuppered by WiFi to the tune of a missing 230Mb/s. The CEO lady dealing mentioning Ofcom and arbitration, which seems pointless and confrontational because she couldn't see my very valid point. I'm not trying to cause you contractual issues, I just want the promised speed and reliably without BS. Fyi, a day after the hub change, the speed measured with my supposed flawed process is easily 250, sometimes 280, so is that black magic now? I just hope it stays that way as the CEO lady didn't seem to take into account it was intermittent.
    Also, sending me an 'out of contract' email on the same day as this fiasco seems contentious don't you think? Are you telling me to go away?
    I was told by the CEO lady that VM know exactly what speeds people have been getting up to their hub historically (not WiFi speed). If that is the case, why do customers ever have to complain to get an engineer out to fix it? Why are you not proactively fixing these speed problems before the customer notices as some faults affect large numbers of customers, not just single customers. If you have that ability, what is the motive behind keeping it under your hat as it doesn't seem very customer focused? Or was the CEO lady stringing me a line to fob me off validating her position, as I did have issues and I am not a liar.

    Date of experience: 14 November 2022
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Cambridge
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    350hb fiber for 55 pcm. cuts off often, and goes down completely almost every evening requiring hub restart. never again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Truly appalling. After being a client for 8 years I recently moved into a building that isn’t wired for virgin media. The property manager denied them access to install the cable, so I’m now being slapped with a £200 early termination fee for something that is out of my control. I will never use their service again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Surbiton, Surrey
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Moved back to the UK end of August and got Virgin Media as our broadband provider as we had them before so boxes in the house and should be plug-and-play. on 1-Sep technician came and said we don't have a signal to the house. The information given was this would get fixed within a week. A week later I am told 7-Oct we will get connected as the job requires external work. A few days before that date it gets postponed to 24-Oct. I am staying home to be around that date but nothing happens. New date given was 14-Nov. Last week I called to confirm this and also asked for confirmation on VM forum chat and was told "yes" it will get done. Then on 14-Nov nothing happens, then sms asking to contact VM. Information "there is external cable work scheduled for today. unfortunately we are unable to send our crew today". Next available date 28-Nov.
    Sorry but I have had enough. Will switch, get my money back from VM what I have paid so far (coz the emails re "your bill is ready" come promptly, plus recommendations on what wonderful new movies I should be watching). Enough is enough
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hatch End
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    A truly attrocious service, both in terms of broadband and customer services. My broadband has had issues from day 1 of the service and was told to increase my broadband package to improve this. I paid more for this and even then the service kept cutting out during important zoom calls.

    Their customer services does not have a clue and all they seem to want you to do is reboot your router several times.

    The final straw came when I was left without broadband for over a week so decided I had had enough and was going to cancel the service. When I called to cancel the services they said their computer system was down so could not cancel my service.

    3 days later and I am still waiting for my services to be cancelled.

    This really is appalling and would recommend anyone who is considering moving to Virgin Media to stop and rethink.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    UK
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    They make it as hard as they can for you to cancel a contract. I was on the phone for 2 hours, had t o spend 20 minutes convinving the first agent I wanted to cancel, who then put me on hold for 1+hours waiting for a different agent. That agent hung up as soon as we connected. Two days later I'm not in a text chat that will apparently take all day. DON'T USE THEM! YOU DON'T WANT TO HAVE TO GO THROUGH THIS!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Wirral
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Pay for the 350Mbps package but only ever managed 250Mbps, upload only 34 of the 50 adverised.

    router is garbage, 5G wifi drops out and all other interfaces reset when it happens. settings often disappearing

    customer service not a great experience
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Preston
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    The worst customer service:
    -The bots ask irrelevant questions
    -After many questions you can be told they cant help as they are too busy
    -You go through security and then get transferred to whatsapp
    -You then have to go through security again
    Long waiting times between answers on whats app, up to 10-15 minutes
    -Questions have no bearing to the issue, its like a bot again
    -Loads of copy and paste: dont worry, i know how u feel, i would be too, but never get to the issue, its like a bot again
    -Was told the information they have access to is limited so they end up asking you questions, such as, did you receive an email, who did u speak to, etc
    -Silly policies dictate illogical offers
    -Orders will get cancelled without explanations
    -Support is an exercise going through the motions
    The most frustrating
  • Reviewer
    Location
    South Yorks
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    Informed we were being given an upgrade, but there was no difference to the speeds after rebooting the Hub
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Colchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I wish I can give a Zero star to virgin media but unfortunately the lowest star is 1. If you intend joining a network and don't want your bills to keep increasing without being informed then please don't make the mistake of joing virgin media. They are set of liars and they lied to me in May 2019 that if I join there network I will pay £33 pounds for 18 month contract. After 4 month of being with virgin media, they increase there price to £59 pounds month, which wasn't what they initially told me. When I realised that they've increased there monthly bill, I had to end the contract, because I ended the contract they further bill me of £102.27, a bill that I never used and insisted that I have to pay, they began to send the debt collector to disturb me about the payment, they spoilt my credit rating as they reported the case to the credit authority and my credit has been affected by them.
    If you love your credit report, and don't want to keep on paying extra bills in comparison with what you initially agree, Don't join virgin media.
    Lastly, when I saw that they've gone a bit further to spoil my credit report, I contacted them to voice out my complain, one of there customer service Listened to my complain and confirmed that my bills have been written off via there online chat service, after 2 weeks of confirming that my bill have been written off, they came back to say that was not what they meant that I still have make payment of £102.27. I showed them the evidence that confirms that my bill has been written off, but they said written off means I will have to pay. I wonder how stupid this people are that they taught they are tricking a kid.
    In conclusion, if you love your credit score and don't want excessive bills after some certain month of joining a network, please Don't attempt joining virgin media they are liars looking for ways to extort customers.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Croydon
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    I was sold a package for 1gb speed and 2 tivo box 6 but when i ask for it they act like i am not given those. Get everything in proper writing. Their sales team are there to just put you on a contract and then they remove what is promised.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    MACCLESFIELD
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Quite simply you don't get what your sold. For example if you are say switching from BT 67mb package to Virgins 108 mb package you will notice the following.
    1) Your actual wi fi speeds will more than likely be slower than BT. Id say I got an average of 30mb download speed compared to about 50+ with BT.
    2) Your wi fi signal from the HUB 3 will not have the range compared to the BT hub 2
    3) Speaking to someone is near impossible unless you book a day off work to sit on the phone

    on the plus side I found it more reliable than BT but maybe Ive been lucky?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Harrow on the Hill
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Virgin is just the worse broadband company. I’ve been trying to book an engineer for months and finally got it booked last week for Monday (7th November) and guess what???? I called them on Monday to confirm the visit and they said it wasn’t booked
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      4 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    very rude and unhelpful. I tried to make a complaint, but the call handler refused to put me through to a manager and said “all complaints are through her” and I wouldn’t get a follow up response.

    I tried to raise a complaint on the website but the link wasn’t working.

    I’m incredibly disappointed! I’ve been overcharged, and was promised a £68.72 refund. I’ve received £14. I cannot face going through another ordeal again.

    Virgin you win, but you will never have my business again!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hersham
    Reviewing
    Virgin Media
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Absolutely useless service ,no communication and treat the customer the worst

    I had received a payment overdue from them a few days ago and all of a sudden they cut my internet connection.

    I do have a direct debit with them every month which I am paying my monthly bill.

    had attached my bank statements to them by email and was expecting from them to fix my internet connection promptly and apologise for their mistake or compensate me for all this days that i have to pay from my pocket to have some internet at home but after 5 days nobody communicate with me ,when i try to call them the automatic answer machine says that my account is freezed and have to do the payment for them to be able to unfreeze it

    Literally i don't have words to express my frustration

    I will certainly discuss it with my solicitor and get another broadband that cares about their customers

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.