SSE Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for SSE.

Recent Customer Ratings for SSE

  • Satisfaction
    3.1 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.4 stars
  • Speed
    2.8 stars
  • Reliability
    2.9 stars

Based on 430 customer ratings since 2018-09-18 (Show all time ratings)

Visit SSE   Read our SSE buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

329 Customer Reviews for SSE

  • Showing page 3 of 9, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Signed up June 7th... Still no broadband. Stay away from this company....they are not worth the aggravation!!
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Sheffield SSE  
Nearly switched from Sky until Sky advised to look at Fibre Broadband connection charge which can be from £30 to £60 approx. It's in the small print. Naughty as I thought SSE was above that.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
Wirral SSE  
I wrote first review of SSE Broadband on 22 October 2015 because my switch over was a disastrous, tedious and it took 6 working weeks all together.
My contract was taken on the 18 September and Broadband started working finally after many phone calls to the customer services & many complaints on the 2nd November .
I was without broadband for 5 and half weeks.
On the 9th October I called the customer services and was assured that my router will be sent to me in the next 7-10 days and broadband will work. I was very polite, and a lovely lady at the call center told me that she would fail a complaint, because I was waiting 3 weeks.
12 days later, after 25 min of waiting to speak to customer service, I was told that my broadband order has not even been placed. That they will look into the fault on my line and someone would call me back. No one called me back, I had to spend another 30 min, waiting to be connected to the customer services. I wasn’t getting of the phone until I spoke to the supervisor with assurances.
They use BT engineers, so they depend on their scheduling of repairs – another delay.
After BT engineer repaired the physical fault on the line, I waited another week for the router to arrive and for the broadband to go live.
First week broadband speed was very low - on average it was between 4,6 Mb download speed up to 5,4 Mb. The contract is for 17 Mb download speed, I was explained that first week is stabilising period, and that in reality in the future I will be receiving between 5 and 8 Mb depending on my area. Today is 22nd November and speed is 10,8 Mb. I had 3 days last week of speeds between 1,8 and 2,5Mb but this resolved itself without having to contact SSE Broadband customer services.
The advantages are: call centers are 0800 number, staff is polite and well trained, very good deal for broadband and phone rental.
Disadvantages: incredibly long and troublesome change-over, call centres closed on Sundays, phone line Service Charge and Access charge, details below***

If you want to spare yourself agony of waiting TO COMPLETE THE SWITCH OVER from your old broadband supplier, call SSE as soon as your phone line is connected and check on your order status. Call every day – is my advice.

***Depending on the package you choose 0845 & 0870 calls are either inclusive up to 70 minutes during the same inclusive periods as your call package or are charged :
Unbundled Tariff Numbers beginning with 084, 087, 09 and 118 are charged as the sum of two elements: a ’Service Charge’ and an ’Access Charge’. The ’Service Charge’ is as published by the business being called while the ’Access Charge’ is 6.9p per minute. 0845 and 0870 calls remain non-chargeable (no Access Charge or Service Charge will apply) for the first 70 minutes,
for the relevant periods of your calls package and calls to these type of numbers will not be subject to a set-up fee.
When not inclusive in the package, 0845 calls cost a maximum of 13.90p for a one minute call and 0870 calls cost a maximum of 19.90p for a one minute call for all these packages.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Klem SSE  
Broadband service AVOID at all cost! No matter how good the special offer is, it's not worth the hassle!
My contract date started 18 Sept 2015 special offer , 2 years free broadband , £8 for line rental( not Fibre).
After receiving all paperwork, contracts, no router arrived. I was without internet for 5 weeks, after my old supplier was informed and disconnected me ,my phone line didn’t work for 2 weeks and when it started working, there was a very loud noise disturbance on the
Telephone line. I couldn’t make any calls. On the 9th October I was assured that my router will be sent to me in the next 7-10 days and broadband will work. I was very polite, and lovely lady at the call centre told me that she would fail a complaint, because I was waiting a long time .12 days later, after 25 min of waiting to speak to customer service, I was told that my broadband order has not even been placed. That they will look into the fault on my line and someone would call me back.
Nothing happened! I called again, to the point when SSE manager Michael Frankland called me back, to assure me that my broadband will be ordered. I asked to have it sorted in 3 days as a priority customer, for waiting so long, he wasn’t able to do so.
I am leaving SSE , and going back to SKY broadband – had no problems with them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
Maida Vale London SSE  
Broadband service AVOID at all cost!
My contract date started 18 Sept 2015 special offer, 2 years free broadband £8 for line rental.
After receiving all paperwork, contracts, no router arrived. I was without internet for 3 weeks, my phone line didn’t work for 2 weeks and when it started working, there was noise disturbance on the
Telephone line, I couldn’t make any calls, because it was so noisy . On the 9th October I called the customer services and was assured that my router will be sent to me in the next 7-10 days and broadband will work. I was very polite, and a lovely lady at the call centre told me that she would fail a complaint, because I was waiting a long time. 12 days later, after 25 min of waiting to speak to customer service, I was told that my broadband order has not even been placed. That they will look into the fault on my line and someone would call me back.
Nothing happened! I called again after 4 hours, to the point when I got to speak to SSE manager assure me that my broadband will be ordered and to explain to me, that because e they source their engineers from BT it will take a while.
22nd October: I called again, to check what the status of my broadband service was. This time I got to speak an engineer, that told me because on the fault on my line, he will have to send a technician to physically check the line and the earliest appointment is on Monday 26th of October.
I will come back and write a follow up . I am in London area of W9 \Westminster, so if you want to spare yourself this waiting agony, call them as soon as your phone line is connected and check on your order status. Call every day – is my advice.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Westminter W9 London SSE  
I am still waiting to get a broadband service set up after 3 weeks and have just been told that it will be another week before the account come online. I have been passed through 5 separate "advisors". However I was not told of the time scale involved at any point - I have had the router for four days now and cannot use it for another week - appalling amounts of red tape and no consistency between call handlers. Not worth the hassle.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Surrey SSE  
Woke up at 9-15 am this morning on change over day for phone & internet changed over routers from EE to SSE hey presto all up and running by 9-30 am could not have been better. Now getting 38mb,I was getting 30mb with EE so that is a good result and hope it stays that way.
Well done SSE this is a great deal £21.00 for all calls and Internet .
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Neston wirral SSE  
Couldn’t ask for better customer service. There were problems, which were down to the wholesalers, Daisy, and I had to wait 2 weeks past my connection date, but this would have happened with whoever I went with. The difference was whenever I called SSE they were lovely. They gave me £5 off the first month for the inconvenience and I didn’t pay a penny till it was sorted. The connection is great, once the 2 week testing period was over and although I chose the standard broadband, not fibre, it has been perfect, even when watching YouTube and BBC iPlayer in a town house, the coverage is brilliant. I highly recommend them.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Somerset SSE  
the cooling off period is supposed to be for customers it's does not mean SSE should do nothing for 14 days ... been waiting 3 weeks for broad band and still nothing ... wish I never changed ..Plusnet connected my phone same day how does it take SSE 4 weeks to push a few buttons? Was going to change gas and electric but can't go without fuel for up to three weeks!
Hopeless company. No emails no letters. Not told it would take
so long not happy avoid like the plague
Bristol SSE  
Ultra Fast fibre really bad. BTW downloads can be below 40Mbps. Worst is 100Mb test file dowloads Think Broadband: Download rate can be anything from 120kb/s to 4Mb/s. Their test file downloads can be 10 minutes to 20 seconds. I am right on the BT fibre cabinet, it is their Daisy ISP that seems to be putting in the throttle or bottleneck for what should be an Ultra Fast Fibre service. Try the test file download yourself and at different times.
Southampton SSE  
Abselute nightmare! How can these people be allowed to run a company! Previous property, they took 2 weeks after 'Live Date' to actually connect us, promissed engeneers will turn up, they never do. Engeneers actually said SSE send them the wrong information. Move property a few weeks ago, again same story! Supported to conect on the 18th, after hours on the phone with a manager. The 18th comes, am told order was not put through, wait another week, complete an unbeliebvab1le waste of time!! DO NOT GO WITH SSE!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Inverness SSE  
Switched from Plus.Net due to price - MASSIVE REGRET.

Download speed and Web latency is just fine. Gaming Latency however is DOUBLE to TRIPLE! P2P capped at 50K/s.

Atrocious. Cant wait to get out back to Plus.Net - all if forgiven.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Sheffield SSE  
I joined SSE on the 10/06/2016 taking advantage of their home phone/broadband deal.
Was surprised to have a BT engineer turn up to connect the line. If I had known this I probably would have gone elsewhere, because I don't want anything to do with BT, but anyway, the broadband switch has been swapped over smoothly and seems fine, even though its been only five days. The problem is I have no landline, incoming or outgoing.
I tried going through the email side, but that was a big waste of time, so I finally got to talk to a person at customer services today.
The girl was polite, knowledgeable, and knew exactly what my problem was, which has me highly suspicious, because I had the distinct impression she was reciting from a script.
Reading these reviews there is a common trend of one or the other not working, and I am worried that this is gonna take a while to fix.
I think this provider is playing both ends against the middle, where the customer is concerned, and are beholden to BT for their continued monopoly on landlines,but it doesn't stop SSE collecting valuable subscriptions.
Seriously considering cancelling within the cancellation period before this drags on.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
warwickshire SSE  
Very pleased with the Internet. Coutinuesly good connection and speed. Would recommend.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
KINGS LYNN SSE  
I have SSE broadband for 2 months and am very pleased with it so far. After paying double the price with BT it's very good value for the money £21 per month , the only thing I will say is that the upload and download this bank holiday is really really low. They Ping is 14 ms and download speed is 0.16 Mbps and the upload is 1.07 Mbps so very poor but will just keep an eye on it
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Oxfordshire SSE  
Just got my broadband from SSE! Very satisfied with customer service and punctuality! I don’t need more. Speed is not the issue as it flows on the same cables. I did left sky for terrible customer service!
Thank you SSE!!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Colnbrook SSE  
Haven't even been able to get started with SSE broadband. Good communication while you're signing up but doesn't extend past this. I was given a 21 day wait start up time, lengthy but fair enough. Date comes and goes with no notification. Get a call a few days later saying they actually cancelled the order because of an admin error but will restart it. 10 days till start date, that then comes and goes. Phone them up, "oh just another 4 days" with no explanation. Another 4 days past this, phone them up once again, "That data got changed again, it'll be another two weeks, nothing I can do".
I can deal with disappointing wait times but to not even phone, email, text me to say these massive delays are coming, unreal.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Oban SSE  
only joined just under a month ago, I emailed them through there online form to complain about my speeds on the 28th of june 14 days after i was connected. I was estimated 55mbps download and this drops to under 7mbps in the evenings, as of today the 6th of July still no response and just tried to contact them by phone again and was on hold for over 15mins without speaking to anyone . I give up .stay well away from this broadband supplier and don't be tempted by the cheap prices , I admit I was but just not worth the hassle .
Newhaven east Sussex SSE  
It started badly and went downhill from there, on the day of connection waited for an engineer all day, by about 5pm I lost my patience so called SSE was told that they didn't need to send one and I just needed to connect my router - so day wasted then!
I connected the router and then waited....nothing...so I duly called SSE, I was then told due to an administrative error my broadband order had not gone through and it may take up to a month to get connected.
Obviously I got very annoyed at this and to cut a long story short four days later they managed to sort it out, so problem solved....
However, the speeds and reliability of the broadband was appalling so two new routers later they offered to cancel my broadband which I duly took up, I then went to Virgin and tried to carry my number over I then received a letter from SSE informing me I owned them £130 due to early cancellation......
Luckily my notes on their system back up the fact regarding the cancellation so the bill will be waived, however the numerous phone calls I have made to them ranging between 20 - 50 minutes of being on hold just add to the frustration.
They just are not set up to offer broadband from the infrastructure to being able to mange the customer service - I would avoid!
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Bristol SSE  
I have to write this for a friend who still currently has no internet.

SSE are a terrible company and shouldn't even be considered. You may as well go for a more expensive company over this or a company which provides less Mbps.

My friend recently moved last week and had to pay £200 just for this company to transfer over the broadband signal. They were promised that by the 4th this month they would have /both/ their broadband and internet. However, surprisingly, the 4th comes along and by the end of the night only the phone works. They phone up and got informed there is a 40 minute queue and that SSE will phone them up later. Later comes and there's no phone call. My friend continually phones them and she gets informed that she will have to wait until midnight to see if the internet connects. Midnight arrives and there is still no internet. They phone up the next day and get informed that oh, actually, your internet should be up today, not tomorrow, but we didn't tell you about this, nor did we give you any documents informing of the change. Nonetheless, my friend waits the day out. Nothing happens.

Now it hits today, the 6th and still no internet. They phone up, asking why the deadline hasn't been delivered and guess what SSE say? They inform my friend that actually, they aren't customers anymore because of the moving, that actually they are sending a new Router over because apparently their current router isn't good enough and that the router will most likely take another week to arrive.

My friend lives in Wales and only moved over a mile or two away from their current address so it's not as if the signal was going to struggle.

My friend is now £200 short.

I hope no one else bothers with SSE due to how appalling they've treated my friends family. You may as well dish out an extra £5 a month to get a broadband provider that actually helps you.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Wales SSE  
Terrible broadband, slow, unreliable. Disconnecting every 5 min. While I'm writing this I have to use my mobile data because wifi is not working. I cant believe that such bad broadband still exists in 21st century. I'll be forced to switch to another network ASAP.
Not to mention that they sent engineer to the old address when I was moving so I was waiting for internet for 1 month. Overall really terrible.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Reading SSE  
I am a long-standing customer of local loop unbundled services over Openreach copper twisted pair telephone cables and related ADSL2+ services at a number of locations and can say without a doubt that SSE are always ready to help with any issue. Their staff are polite and always do their utmost to keep in touch and provide timely updates. Their call centres are actually in the same country too! The connection is at ADSL2+ upper speed limits and I can't find any reason to complain about speeds at all.

The price for line rental and free broadband is locked in for 2 years, although the contract for line rental is only for 12 months with the option to stay for an additional 12 months at the same price to take advantage of the 24 month free broadband offer. I don't think I will ever find line rental and free broadband at this price or speed ever again, as prices have been nearly doubled with other providers since I moved to this service at the end of last year (September 2015).

Whilst the physical connection to the exchange is pushing the limits of the ADSL2+ connection (24mbps downlink 1.3mbps uplink sync speeds) and my ADSL2+ modem is just less than 200 feet away from the telephone exchange (low noise, SNR and good Noise Margin), the connection suffers from MASSIVE BUFFER BLOAT (excessive network packet buffering). This is not the fault of the equipment I use, the modem used to connect to the exchange's ADSL2+ hardware or any of the Openreach (formerly British Telecom) infrastructure.

The problem is with the way in which Daisy Communications leave network buffering mal-configured on their network routers and switches! They have not configured their network routers and switches to disable the unnecessary buffer memory (to allow data through without artificial delays). Network Packet Buffering on intermediate network switches and routers along the data path was once, long ago, thought to ease network congestion. Now, network specialists across the globe agree that network buffering causes many more issues for network users than simply allowing lost packets of data to be gracefully retransmitted by the original source in a timely manner.

Daisy Communications appear to be ignoring this industry standard and the advice to remove packet buffering from their switches and routers which forces all upstream data to be buffered, rendering their customers' broadband troublesome and oftentimes useless for a lot of Internet services, including financial trading, eBay Sniping, online gaming and any other service that requires customer's requests to be transmitted without artificially being delayed in massive network buffers. 1500ms+ delay is an eternity in electronic terms and does not help any broadband user in any perceivable way. Unfortunately the problem is hidden from many frustrated traders, gamers and eBay snipers and they just put up with it, not knowing the cause of the problem, not being able to do what they need to do online through this incompetent practice of ISPs allowing mal-configured network switches and routers to persist on their networks!

It's a shame that SSE have not been able to encourage Daisy Communications to properly configure their network switches and routers.

I'm currently seeking a switch to Eclipse, the other wholesaler of Broadband products that SSE uses to see if their network is any better.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Northamptonshire SSE  
Broadband is quick, but they seem to charge you for everything that is free with other providers. IE CALLER DISPLAY £2.36 PER MONTH, 1571 £1.06 PER MONTH.PLUS OTHER THINGS, So really their FREE BROADBAND IS NOT FREE, BECAUSE THEY GET IT OFF YOU IN OTHER WAYS (ROBBIN HOOD COMES TO MIND)
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Shropshire SSE  
Moved to SSE 7 days ago, still not working since moving to SSE
Open reach engineer signed off job as live when it wasn't on day 1
Reported everyday with no appointment for engineer
Given engineer appointment for Monday which is 7 days,
Engineer didn't turn up
Now been told the appointment will be Friday which is 12 days without Internet
Very disappointed with the service which appears to be handled though a company called daisy
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    2 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Trowbridge SSE  
Having got cheesed off with the 'special offers' that BT was offering me to stay with them that were higher than I was already paying them for a dreadful service (home hub requiring rebooting many times a day etc.), I swapped to SSE. After two months I cannot say that I can say anything other than it seems to work better than the previous BT ADSL service. The changeover was effortless and the only times I rang them to enquire about personalising the modem I was dealt with by someone who was very clued up (UK call centre). My previous BT speed was 6-7Mbps and the same line with SSE regularly gives 10-12Mbps.
When the line went down (an ongoing fault from BT days), the Openreach technician appeared within a day and spent a generous hour or two fixing the wiring problem to the premises.
The only two negative observations thus far: it is time-consuming to ring their faults line (they should have a separate number for telephone and internet) and if you want to have the number displayed facility on your phone, the cost of this with SSE is above the norm of others. I am encouraged enough to now swap the connection at our Scottish home to SSE.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Middlesex SSE  
I have been with SSE for a few months now, on their UltraFast Broadband and Phone for £21 a month. I should have known it was too good to believe...

Of course, the phone is fine, and at the start, the Broadband seemed great.
However, a few months in, and now the broadband speed is pants.

Ping is fine and reasonably constant at around 8-20ms.

Speed tests at bt.wholesale.com are always good, at around 73Mbps down /18Mbps up, with a ping of around 17ms.

However, real life speeds and downloads are abysmal.
I have yet to identify if there is a pattern to it as the testmy.net results over the last few days are like a "scatter graph".

I am in conversation with SSE at the moment. If it can't be resolved in the next week or so, I may have to try and weasel out of the contract, citing the service not being as advertised.

I will just add that, for me, SSE customer service has been excellent each time I have called them. I have even been called back several times.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Northamptonshire SSE  
I have been a customer of see for close to 48 hours now and have no internet or phone for the first time in ten years! Upon contacting them about this issue I was told that it wasn't their fault it was another company called Daisy something I can't remember but it turns out that they use a third party that everything goes through that they have no control over and can only email them and wait for a reply so 9am tomorrow morning I'm calling my old supplier to get put back on ...extremely poor service for this day and age !
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Newcastle upon tyne SSE  
Having been with SSE for 3 years, I was disappointed to note that my monthly charge had increased without any notification when the contract had lapsed after 2 years. On contacting the Customer Service Team via email with my complaint, it was dealt with in a very professional manner & within 4 working days. They promptly transferred me to a better deal & gave me a small financial credit for my troubles. I am happy to say, this was a very easy complaint to sort & dealt with very efficiently. I continue to be an SSE Broadband & Phone customer.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Halifax SSE  
Just moved to their ultra fast fibre broadband two weeks ago. It's ultra bad. Worse than standard copper ADSL we moved from and incapable of even delivering Netflix to a single device in the home reliably. The line is capable of receiving speeds of 79mbps according to our open reach installer. We're about 25m from the fibre cabinet on a proper copper line, but we're getting about 5mbps. Ultra fast? Ultra lying thieves.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Blackpool SSE  
Do not trust these absolute thieves. They DOUBLED my broadband bill and when I noticed 4 months later they told me they were at liberty to increase the rate without notifying me. They said that had I gone and logged into their system I would have seen a notification there that they were doubling my bill. But they didn't e-mail me or send me a letter - they just expected me to log in each month to check they hadn't arbitrarily doubled my bill. Cancelled and moving supplier. Oh and also when I signed up to them in the first place they told my old supplier to cancel my contract but then SSE forgot to connect me to their system, so the first month with SSE I had no broadband at all. Steer well clear. There's a reason they have such dismal reviews.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London SSE  
My FIBER internet with SSE is appalling it is forever dropping connection. I have since learned that you only have fiber internet if it is delivered straight to you house.mine come from the local exchange down to local box then is delivered to house by BT old underground copper cabling. No company should be allowed to advertise this without explaining it won't stop any of the problems you currently with connection while on this system. It is false advertising, I still have the same problems with fiber as I did with broadband but I just pay more now. My contract is due to end and I will go with the only company I know of who delivers fiber straight to the house which is virgin. Sick and tired of being ripped off
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Kent SSE  
I have switched from Sky and service is good, speed is constant 70mb+ downlink and 20mb+ uplink competitive price. 3 months passed no issue so far.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Eton Wick SSE  
Do not bother with this shower. Signed up to move from BT due to issues with BT. Lord knows why I bothered as BT are far superior based to this shower. SSE told BT my move was scheduled for the 20th March which BT actioned. However Shambolic Service Extrodinaire managed not to tell BT that there were problems - result = no broadband for me. Have wasted at least two hours of my valuable lifespan trying to resolve the issue. SSE not really interested and still cannot give me a date as to when the transfer will be completed. Looking at going cap in hand to BT to go back to them. Suppose the old adage is you get what you pay for, and with SSE you get poor service where they blame the other party until its proven its SSE's fault. Ofcom here I come. They offered £30 to buy a mobile dongle, great if you live in an area where mobile signal is ok - guess what, I do not. When I told them that no other offer made.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Flintshire SSE  
Moved from Sky to SSE, what a great decision and great deal.
Everything happened as planned and at the arranged times, I have absolutely no reservations in recommending this service and thank SSE for a hassle free changeover and look forward to being a customer for many years to come
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Bicester SSE  
Same as other complaints - I used to get 10mb with my other supplier now at peak times lucky to get 1mb and often down to 0.5 with constant drop outs - if you want easy cheap broadband on a budget then great if you need any sort of speed or reliability look elsewhere.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Swansea SSE  
I moved to SSE about a year ago. Prices were competitive. I cannot "rubbish" them totally as their hands are very much tied by the service they get from Openreach.
On the positive side, getting through to customer service never proved an issue and they were quick to follow up. There call centre is also in the UK which is great.
On the negative side is the ongoing issue of slow speeds and the broadband dropping out regularly. Despite several engineer visits, resets, etc the matter was never resolved.
SSE have finally agreed to release me from the balance of my contract. Fair play to them.
Our area has just recently had fibre installed so moving back to BT.
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Whiteley SSE  
To anybody thinking about joining SSE broadband have a read of this and you will never consider using them again.

Nothing but problems ever since i ordered from them. Next door neighbours phone line was changed to SSE instead of my own line , took them 2-3 months to figure out what had even went wrong and finally get connected even after i had mentioned to them what the problem could be the adsvisor knew better than me and said the engineer would sort it out. Engineer never arrived twice , he turned up at the house the first time and said that he knocked and there was no answer so he left , i was told i would be provided with photographic evidence that he actually arrived at the right door but this was never provided , the second time he was given my mobile number to call me when he was outside but once again never called and just left. 2 days taken off work for nothing , not that anyone from SSE cared.

The next issue was my connection going on and off consistently about 20-30 times a day ruining whatever work i had to complete that day aswell as games and music i had been watching. For some reason i was advised to call the faults line 12 midnight by an advisor , when i rang up the automated line said i was in a Q to hold on and that my call would be dealt with very shortly , i waited on the line all night expecting for someone to answer and sort my connection out but nothing. The automated line told me to wait in the Q for an advisor even though the line was infact closed and nobody was there until 6am , another £20 vodafone goodybag wasted based on an SSE advisors advice.

Obviously a complaint had already been made by this point and next up was the manager dealing with the complaint Rachel from SSE. On initial contact she told me everything would be investigated properly and compensated accordingly. A previous advisor mentioned something to do with a connection fee of £60 being added to the bill as a engineer had to visit .When i spoke to Rachel an arguement took place and i explained that if i had to pay the fee after all the issues that i wouldnt continue with SSE. She assured me i didnt have to pay any fees and the previous advisor was incorrect. She took no responsibility for any of the previous issues raised apart from the automated line complaint .A month later i checked my bill online and what do you know a £60 connection fee charge added to the bill , i rang straight up to try n speak with Rachel , she wasnt availiable and hasnt been ever since that moment and along with that she pretended as if none of what she said previously had even took place!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Consett SSE  
Had issues for the length of the contract. Using an old Plusnet router helped but as soon as I have switched back to the SSE router I am having problems with internet dropping though the router shows no problem and being connected. Continuously unable to load a web page.
Customer service are helpful but go through the same process every time meaning you are repeating previous checks and wasting your time. Not sure how many times I have taken the socket of the wall to do their checks for them as I have lost count.......
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Kent SSE  
Just had fibre bb installed this morning, was online immediately with speeds of over 34mbps download speed and over 9mbps upload speed. I was sceptical as SSE are the new kids on the block but so far so good. All for £10 a month for 2 years!
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Westhill, Aberdeenshire SSE  
Wow...the worst experience i have ever had dealing with a company. We have been left without internet for about a month.
The Customer service team would say one thing one day and another thing another day. One day they would give us one date and another day another for us to go live.
It became so ridiculous with so much communication and always been told something and that not really being the case, that I eventually had to cancel it to get out of it.
Customer Service people seem to be helping and seem sincere, but it appears to me, they themselves have no idea often about stuff and just come out with something just for the sake of providing an answer.
what a waste of our time!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Edinburgh SSE  

Loading...

  • 329 reviews, showing page 3 of 9, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk