John Lewis Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for John Lewis Broadband.

Recent Customer Ratings for John Lewis

  • Satisfaction
    2.6 stars
  • Customer Service
    2.9 stars
  • Speed
    2.4 stars
  • Reliability
    2.6 stars

Based on 461 customer ratings since 2018-06-21 (Show all time ratings)

Visit John Lewis Broadband   Read our John Lewis buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

552 Customer Reviews for John Lewis Broadband

Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
Please save yourself a lot of hassle and DON'T sign up with these amateurs. I have never been with a telephone company that has been so stressful to deal with ever right from the very beginning and until know (5 months later). It's like you call them and they say they are doing this and that on the call when in fact they aren't doing anything. There seems to be no upper level of management that you can escalate things to either on the telephone or by email, so you just end up having to get angry at the customer service rep who can't do anything for you anyway. Join them and you will see what I mean when it all goes wrong, which there is a likelihood that it will. For me unfortunately my next move is OFCOM as the head office can't seem to solve my latest problem which is being automatically overcharged every month for mobile phone calls which were part of my original call plan 5 months ago and so far they have been unable to refund the extra £50-60 each month I'm being overcharged by. Jokers!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
Newport John Lewis Broadband  
Please avoid at all costs. Despite a great initial discussion, prompt receipt of the router and notification that we were live on teh correct date we have actually had no b/b for weeks. I have repeatedly told them to contact me via landline as we have little mobile recption and funnily enough - no b/b but they insit on texting ot emailing. The only progress is when I contact them. Their staff are bordering on rude. No respect for the time or frustration of customers caused by their lack of service. They make BT look ok and that's going some
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Monmouth John Lewis Broadband  
Reported to John Lewis on Jan 2nd, connection is dropped around ten times each day for exactly 2.5 minutes each time. According to John Lewis it is now fixed but as the dropped connection log below shows it remains exactly the same. This problem started when we switched from EE to John Lewis, paying almost double the previous rate for a fibre extra service which is really not acceptable.

Net Uptime Monitor Failure Log (NetUptimeMonitor.com)
Licensed to nick sheron

=======================================
12/01/2019 17:20:52 Log Start
---------------------------------------
Failure Start Length
12/01/2019 17:22:38 0:02:17
12/01/2019 19:34:34 0:02:28
12/01/2019 19:58:48 0:02:29
12/01/2019 20:11:38 0:02:28
12/01/2019 20:35:03 0:02:28
13/01/2019 06:48:49 0:02:26
13/01/2019 07:45:51 0:02:27
13/01/2019 08:21:08 0:02:28
13/01/2019 08:54:08 0:02:26
13/01/2019 11:10:13 0:02:25
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
winchester John Lewis Broadband  
Dont bother useless, gave up after 3weeks with no connection and cancelled before i went mad.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Essex John Lewis Broadband  
This internet service provider may say John Lewis, But it is not a John Lewis Brand at all. In fact, the internet is provided by Plus net.

I was with JL Broadband for a year. At the beginning I bought the regular broadband package. The minimum guaranteed speed was about 8mb. I was receiving 1.2mb. They failed to fix this issue.
My only option was to go to Fibre with a minimum guaranteed speed of about 25mb I got about 14mb. After weeks of complaints It finally got resolved, however for the rest of the year I was constantly raising complaints both online and on the phone.

They don't like answering queries and they haven't a clue on the phone. They are very rude in fact and talk to you like a piece of garbage.

My router brand was ZyXEL. I know, I know: 'Who'
It was awful. Signal collapsed daily, needed reseting regularly. By the way. That takes 10 - 15 minutes simply to reboot.

When I finally reached a year I left. But my troubles continued. As they don't like answering queries from customers, they don't communicate with each other in house either. My service was disconnected, however they continued to charge me and even threatened me with Debt Collectors. It was clear as mud on my bills and history. Service cancelled, please finalise account. Ignored in house.

Overal
If you would like internet that you may or may not receive, have problems constantly, have emails and query go un-answered leading to frustration and anger. Then John Lewis Broadband is for you!

If you want an easier provider that are cheaper and better. Go elsewhere.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Surrey John Lewis Broadband  
I signed up with a half price offer for 3 months and was charged full price (refunded after a complaint).
When broadband went down I was told they can no longer check the fault, it has to be sent to the faults team who could take 72 hours. It was resolved but took 24 hours. Took 4.5 and 9 minutes to answer phone but was a UK agent. The router needs resetting about once a week
  • Satisfaction
    3 stars
  • Customer Service
    3 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Staffordshire John Lewis Broadband  
No router received by switch date and have been told it will take 3-5 working days and until then no broadband. What a service!!!!!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
North Yorkshire John Lewis Broadband  
Don't touch John Lewis broadband!!! This is the worst company I have ever had the misfortune of dealing with. Shocking customer service including mis-selling me fibre which is not available in my area. They failed to inform me of this fact and only when I called back to find out why I had no wifi was I notified that I was not able to get fibre. I then down-graded to ADSL and was told that it would be active in 3-5 working days. A week later no wifi!!! Once again I called and was told that the fibre had yet to be cancelled and they couldn't install ADSL until the fibre order had been cancelled and that could take another 10 working days.
Apart from the above, every time you try to contact them you have to endure 30 minutes of torture listening to the elevator music while waiting for an agent to take the call. Hire more people John Lewis - it's not rocket science!!!
I cancelled my account on 28th October and today 5th November I was billed for the fibre I never received. Unbelievable. Am at a total loss.... I lived in third world Africa for many years and never did I ever experience such incompetence or disgusting customer service as I received from John Lewis. A total disgrace. If I could have selected minus 5 stars I would've. Don't even consider this incompetent company. They should stick to selling clothes and leave broadband to companies who know what they are talking about.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Surrey John Lewis Broadband  
As all the other reviewers my service from them has been appalling, sat on hold at the moment for 30 minutes and they still haven't even answered the call. They owe me over £300 from failing to provide a service and have still not paid... only interested in taking your money .. AVOID!
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Aberdeen John Lewis Broadband  
Now become so unreliable & they are no help in changing
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
manningtree John Lewis Broadband  
Nothing but contempt for this company. So very helpful staff. Only been with them since 09/2017 and had nothing but hassle from day one. Connection is a big joke if you can connected at all? Its costing my Wife and I to break the contract £130:40 which we cant afford but what can one do? A decent service we need not keeping fingers crossed and praying when logging on. Back to the drawing board but who is a decent helpful company??
Under no circumstances give this compnay your business but PLus Net their server is a part of BT.

Never again has cost us money like it has other with their story's of woe
I give zero stars for all catogories i clicked Customer services in error.
  • Customer Service
    1 star
Herne Bay John Lewis Broadband  
No customer service staff have no upper management for you to escalate any problems Plusnet advertising customer service won't let you down!
DON'T BELIEVE IT
Problems are just repeated 48 hours before update 48 hours for next update 3 weeks still awaiting for it to work!!!!!
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3 stars
John Lewis Broadband  
Terrible service!After waiting for two weeks for getting the service, they just easily told me to wait for another two weeks! I waited for another two weeks and again, nothing came! and again they said that you have to wait for another two weeks! So I have just cancelled it and now I think I have to wait for a year to get my money back! So, I put zero star as they are really unsustainable!
Bath John Lewis Broadband  
Moved to JLB after a price comparison website said they were the cheapest. After less than 1 month JLB increased the monthly cost. I was angry that JLB offered a fixed price contract for 18 months on price comparison then changed it after 1 month. Called JLB. My first introduction to their 'Customer Service' was being asked 'What do you want me to do about it?' and immediately being told there was nothing that could be done. After 2 months of disputes regarding intermittent service, slow speeds, long call waits and multiple spam or 'Stock' emails as JLB like to call them, I finally got through to a call handler. During each call I had said I wanted to log a complaint but nothing was done. JLB don't answer emails, they have a portal you have to log into in order to email them. At one stage JLB completely deleted my account, erasing records of my complaints and preventing me working from home. I would regularly call, complain and give my availability for callbacks, yet I would either get no call back or would be called back when I had already stated I would not be available. Most of the middle managers/Complaint Handlers I spoke to were unsympathetic, unpleasant and one inparticular seemed to do nothing other than aggressively shout me down. Even now after going to CISAS (The ombudsman) and being offered a settlement payment, JLB are still sending me stock emails, dodgy invoices and generally SPAMMING me. JLB is the archetypal cut corners approach to customer service, delegating the onus onto the customer to constantly chase them at the customers time and expense. Ask yourself "Is saving £2 per month or so on my broadband really worth slow speeds, a service that constantly disconnects, an email account jam packed with SPAM, aggressive unpleasant and unhelpful staff and a lot of wasted time?"....If the answer is "Yes" look no further. I'd like to say that JLB had at least one positive; unfortunately even the Wireless router looks naff and the hold music (which you'll be getting very used to) will drive you towards insanity and/or violent criminality
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Todmorden, West Yorkshire John Lewis Broadband  
Left before my contract even began, the customer service was so bad. 15 minute waits to speak to someone, awful defeaning loud music while they put you on hold or transfer you to someone else. Two out of three people I spoke to were unable to find my details. Then when I asked for confirmation in writing that the account had been cancelled, I got two 'contact us' messages requiring me to log into a website to see the reply, which I was unable to do as the password I was given didn't work.
One operator apologised for the wait and poor customer service, saying that the company is in the process of training up another 100 operators. Ignore the Which recommendation, as the reality falls short of expectations from the JOhn Lewis brand.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Exmouth John Lewis Broadband  
Don’t go near them with a barge pole. Cancelled my contract due to a home move. But the move was delayed so I then called to delay cancellation of contract. Was told it was fine and received email confirmation as well. But then was disconnected anyway. Was then basically told it’s my fault and that I shouldn’t have listened to the last agent I spoke to who agreed to the extension. Awful customer service, argumentative and rude. Never going back
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    1 star
London John Lewis Broadband  
Anyone working at John Lewis Broadbabd should be ashamed for letting their colleagues and employers rip off the public. I have paid for a service they have not supplied, they can not give a date if and when they might supply broadband, the Provisions Team investigate the complaints against themselves and they refuse to escalate and issues. Simply put John Lewis broadband is the worst on the market.Total scam artists. Avoid like the plague.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Essex John Lewis Broadband  
I decided to switch to John Lewis for precisely the same reason as several others here, John Lewis’s good reputation. I was not initially advised that’ll email was web based, I found this out when I couldnt get mail direct to my mobile after speaking to a guru at O2. This was bad enough but then my home internet connection was so spasmodic I didn’t know how long I could suffer this. In the end I switched provider. JohnLewis certainly got their own back on me, they completely destroyed all my current email and all my contacts. Nothing left and no way to recover hundreds of missing email addresses other than from memory and a few helpful friends. I am extremely annoyed to say the least, not sure who to contact to vent my anger.
Surrey John Lewis Broadband  
big mistake moving from BT to John Lewis. We are rural so do not get good speeds but was told by JL that we would get same speed as our BT service (3.8Mb). In fact we have never got more than 2.9Mb in the more than 8 months since the changeover. All John Lewis customer service said is to take it up with BT myself. WE also now have drop-outs vitually every day and sometimes multiple times in one day. We certainly won't be staying once the contract expires.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Auchtermuchty John Lewis Broadband  
Lousy, struggling to a speed above 0.6mb/s despite promise of 1.5. No customer service after 6.00pm. Difficult surf at times and can't complete my online study. When I can speak to someone I will be trying to get contract cancelled. Best left, go elsewhere.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    3 stars
Poole John Lewis Broadband  
What a nightmare ! If only I checked other reviews first !
Trusted the name stupidly.
Very poor broadband speed ,despite great speed before with BT.
Terrible customer and technical service too, and they want to charge me for leaving !
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Tewkesbury John Lewis Broadband  
Switched to John Lewis 6 months ago and had nothing but issues. The speed and reliability of the connection is appalling. Given up on customer service trying to resolve issues. This is without doubt the worst broadband service i have ever had.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
co durham John Lewis Broadband  
Wished I had checked the poor reviews before I signed up, worst company I have ever used , can't seem to get anywhere with them despite trying lots.
Want to leave but they threaten charging me to leave,despite their horrendous service.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Tewkesbury John Lewis Broadband  
Switched December, lost DSL service. Kept cool BT Openreach problem. JL limited in what they can do, I understood customer service and tech support depend on Openreach to sort all issues. Took a week for Openreach to send engineer, fixed within hour cause was Openreach fudging wiring in Exchange. Not happy with just refund for lost service as this was not a fault but human error by BT! JL agreed, and credited account to compensate for loss of services eg streaming TV\sky on demand, Xbox and mobile data used while down. Staff polite and as helpful as they can be understanding they cannot fix issues of BT Openreaches causing. I get full 8.1mb sec from DSL, can't offer fair comment on reliability but assume as good as BT wholesale in general.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Norfolk John Lewis Broadband  
Get another ISP there is no broad in JL broadband - its SLOW very SLOW. And quite a few drop out too. Counting down until I can cancel.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Southampton John Lewis Broadband  
just been overcharged once again, they add on extra charges and try to make you pay them. i signed up with john lewis not plus net, and plus net treat you like tescos so beware, don't expect the waitrose treatment with these lot.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
kent John Lewis Broadband  
no such thing as john lewis broadband they just drop ship you plus net so if you want a really poor experience just join plus net your self and save some money, but be warned its rubbish
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
kent John Lewis Broadband  
3 days shy of a month and zero service or any contact. No letter, no router, no response to 4 online queries. I’ve cancelled my direct debit and wished them luck pursuing me based on their egregious failure to provide any form of service whatsoever. STAY AWAY (it’s run by Plusnet but they were bought out by BT when they got too successful, that’s what BT do then run them into the ground. It’s clever).
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Lymington, Hampshire John Lewis Broadband  
This is truly dire customer service. I have obviously made a huge mistake choosing John Lewis Broadband. 16 working days now (22 filull days!) and no phone or broadband/router. Not even a response to my request for information. I wish I’d cancelled within the 14 days. So disappointing.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Lymington, Hampshire John Lewis Broadband  
Please believe the poor reviews you read here. I have never before left a review but this one needed doing. Two days before I was due to move over to John Lewis I still hadn't received a modem so I rang them. Without boring you with all the details, they had cancelled my broadband with BT, but then found they could not supply me wit internet. Never bothered to tell me this, never bothered to cancel their contract with BT and have left me with no internet and no provider. If you choose to ignore all the poor reviews you may like me deeply regret it.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
staffs John Lewis Broadband  
Cannot give a review for speed or reliability as still not connected after 13 days. Ordered Fibre and now told unable to provide it after numerous phone calls to customer service and being told a different story every time. Told a manager will call me within 4 hours and 8 hours later still no call. Now having to wait another week to be connected to Adsl.... why!!!!!Avoid at all costs if you value your sanity .
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
High Peak John Lewis Broadband  
Took ages and many interactions to get phone and broadband set up following my house move. Have had regular problems since then. I endorse what others have said about waiting time to speak to a support person, and the 'on hold' music is excruciating - not what I expect from John Lewis. The service level is way below what I expect from John Lewis. Given that I could have gone direct to Plusnet for less money, I am very disappointed.
Norwich John Lewis Broadband  
Switched from Waitrose to John Lewis broadband only (no phone line) about 2 years ago. Sorted initial problems problems using wifi booster. Phoned to cancel yesterday and was told there would be a cessation charge and they would need to disconnect my phone!! When I queried cessation charge I was threatened with a debt collection agency! This was my first phone conversation with them. I was disgusted at the rudeness of the person I spoke to. Asked to speak to a manager but was left on hold. Phoned back to speak to another person and was told services would be cancelled in 15 days but the website account has been closed and cannot email complaint to JLB. Feel so let down by the John Lewis name and reputation.
  • Satisfaction
    2 stars
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Leatherhead John Lewis Broadband  
So many bad reviews, I think people only tend to review when a bad experience so I just thought I would say I have been with JL for almost a year, perfect switch and first class service ever since
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    5 stars
  • Reliability
    5 stars
Salisburt John Lewis Broadband  
John Lewis Brodaband has become impossibly bad. I've been with them for many years (initially as Waitrose)
Now problems with direct debit (no problem at my bank), support don't reply to queries and telephone support always has at least 20 minutes wait.
Currently I'm transferring my emails to another provider so I can move ISP.
I would recommend not touching them.
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    2 stars
  • Reliability
    2 stars
Cheshire John Lewis Broadband  
Signed up for John Lewis broadband as price was competitive, then read reviews and was filled with some doubt, but I am now up and running for a week and have nothing but positive feedback. I called the Helpdesk with questions and the phone was answered instantly. Router set up was simple. Live set up occurred as promised. Communications always clear and timely and even a phone call today, just to check up everything was good. Line speed pretty much as promised. 5* at this moment, long may that last, and no regrets about moving my business to John Lewis.
  • Satisfaction
    5 stars
  • Customer Service
    5 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Haslemere John Lewis Broadband  
I was with Waitrose for many years and never had a problem. Customer service was very good as was broadband speed and reliability. The change over to "Green bee" went very well and I retained my old email address and personal website URL and all has remained as good as ever it was except for Waitrose webmail which I've used for years with no problems. About a year ago I started to experience drop outs and disruption to Waitrose webmail so much so it's become virtually unusable! I recently found out after posting a complaint that John Lewis is aware of the problem
and they have now suggested I use the John Lewis webmail service? I was never informed that there are two services running and I have been tearing my hair out wondering why the old Waitrose webmail service had become so appalling! Why on earth did John Lewis not inform me and why has the old Waitrose webmail site not been closed down?
To give John Lewis their due they have been experiencing countrywide problems and their/plusnet service is undergoing a massive upgrade at present. So apart from the webmail fiasco I remain very happy with their overall service and having heard some of the horror stories about other ISP's I will remain with John Lewis.
  • Satisfaction
    4 stars
  • Customer Service
    4 stars
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
norfolk John Lewis Broadband  
Worst company ever paid £25 sign up fee have now waited another 2 months no money taken from my account.just keep getting told they have problems setting up account.can you believe that.was told it doesn't matter reporting it to any one else as they will get the same response.
Chester John Lewis Broadband  
Don't join John Lewis broadband been with them for 8 months and have yet to be billed after30_40 calls and e mails they just keep saying we are working on it,but after8 months no fix ,not a good company.
  • Speed
    4 stars
  • Reliability
    4 stars
Chester John Lewis Broadband  
Absolutely useless. Thought I was signing up to a company with a good customer service. Instead its Plusnet with a different name but with all of their dreadful service. They care nothing about the customer, do everything wrong (eg try to sign me up a week before I move, connect to the wrong property and so on). Plusnet, TalkTalk and John Lewis Broadband are all terrible: pick one of the smaller suppliers if possible (sadly they don't cover this location).
  • Satisfaction
    1 star
  • Customer Service
    1 star
  • Speed
    1 star
  • Reliability
    1 star
Cornwall John Lewis Broadband  

Loading...

  • 552 reviews, showing page 10 of 14, skip to page 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.

Broadband.co.uk