EE Home Broadband Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for EE.

Recent Customer Ratings for EE

  • Satisfaction
    3.4 stars
  • Customer Service
    3.6 stars
  • Speed
    3 stars
  • Reliability
    3.1 stars

Based on 505 customer ratings since 2021-08-14 (Show all time ratings)

Visit EE   Read our EE buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

1,562 Customer Reviews over 40 pages

  • Reviewer
    Location
    Glasgow
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Great service with no issues, plus getting 10gb data booster for my phone since I'm already a t-mobile customer is ace. My fibre from ee has been running fine, most of the bad reviews on here are probably talk talk and sky employees running scared. I would recommend we broadband to anyone especially if they already have a mobile contract with them
  • Reviewer
    Location
    london
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    We are small business,we have been with BT for 2 years never had any problem with the phone line.
    We switch to EE broadband and line and since that time problem with the phone line.
    We have credit card machine connect to the line and every day does not work keep rejecting card.
    I have spoken to EE but what i waist of time.
    My advice stay away from EE very poor customer service
  • Reviewer
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I've been with Freeserve, Orange and then EE-for a long time. I had a reliable broadband service but when I agreed with EE to an upgrade package in October 2013 the upgrade never happened. After waiting over 4 months and many, many very long phone calls to customer services at EE I asked for MAC to move to BT. So EE threatened me for remainder of upgrade package contract,that never happened! They told me I would get a 'black letter'! I dealt with English speaking staff but at the end of the day they were all useless. Glad I've moved to BT. I just can't wait to have EE on my phone trying to get me back offering another one of their non-existent packages. I will probably tell them what they can do with it!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Transferred phone and BB from TalkTalk to EE. They lost my number and kept lying to me saying the number will be with me soon. After a month and calling half a dozen times, I called my bank and the redirected the direct debit payments to my account.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    An absolute shower, their call center personnel are just there to delay things and seem very reluctant to escalate customer problems that they cannot resolve. Their disconnection staff are unhelpful bordering on rude.
    Join them at your peril and watch your blood pressure rise. If it were possible to give a no star rating I would.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Luton
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Stay away from EE!
    Ordered my broadband, completed DD setup, they checked my account with that £2 transfer, now is 14 days as I wait for my delivery!!
    No internet for more than 2 weeks means wife want's me dead! :)
  • Reviewer
    Location
    W6
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Have a standard line and Speed varies between 0.1mb and 8mb. Very volatile. Can't watch HD streaming video, SD video constantly buffers, even vpns drop on it due to connectivity issues.
    Without a good 4g mobile connection I can swap to it would be a nightmare. Now I see why that's part of the package.

    Agent Promised me a £50 compensation for swapping from BT early. Despite having jumped through the numerous hoops to the quality, it took 5 calls to get money back over 5 months. Wanted to give me a credit even after initially stating it was a refund.
    Very poor broadband & service overall.

    Would not recommend.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Slow speeds even on fibre. Cut out frequently for no reason. Once cut out for days and getting customer services to help was more painful than pulling my one teeth. Rude customer service who can never help. Hidden charges upon leaving despite being out of contract. Just awful.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    wales
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Connection just drops randomly, usually at night when we need to use it most. EE of course say there's absolutely nothing wrong, sometimes they'll send us a new router which doesn't help, because the problem is obviously on their end.

    I honestly cannot comprehend the stupidity of these people, though it feels more like malice at this point.

    If you are reading this, AVOID EE!!

    I repeat - AVOID EE!

    They are the worst isp in the entire world. I'm barely 25, yet I'm already turning grey because these people are stressing me out so much. Daylight robbery. These people are nothing short of criminals.

    To summarise: EE are the worst isp in the world. Avoid them like the plague.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Oxford
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    can't believe I opted for EE, the speeds are the worst.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Woking
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Changed from Sky to EE on 31/10/16 and immediately broadband signal poor. Told to wait 10 days to settle but remained poor. Very long story short, To date 29/12 I've had a new router, an EE engineer, BT Engineer plus 2 BT resets plus many long phone calls. After the BT Engineer and resets the speed was 3mbps enabling me to watch iPlayer and use Internet but the speed drops off and Internet needs resetting after 2/3 days.

    EE webpage states speed up to 17mbps on the basic package which is suitable for a small households with 2/3 appliances. This matched my requirements and I paid for 18 months upfront. It's only when you get the acceptance email that there is a clause stating the minimum speed will be 1mbps. My current speed is 1.40mbps.

    I don't know what broadband speeds I've had over the past 6 years with different providers. I've always taken the cheapest, basic option and not had any problems. So I've never checked.

    EE state that as they are providing a speed of just over 1mbps they are fulfilling their contact. I can't cancel the contract. I have been offered fibre optic at additional cost.

    Following yet another 2.5 hour phone call today ending with a conversation with an obnoxious Manager I'm a very disgruntled customer. If Sky could provide an adequate service using the BT line (which has now been renewed and replaced) why can't EE provide the same?
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Telford
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Joined EE approx one week ago. Was informed change would be seamless!!!!
    What a joke. No one informed me of the date of change but I mistakenly assumed the router would arrive before I was disconnected from my previous provider. Not the case. Service abysmal. Server down. Phoned yesterday,told if not working in 2 hours phone again. 24 hrs later,phoned again,told if not working in 2 hrs ,phone again. Am returning to my previous provider.
    Do not join this excuse for a provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Would give zero stars if I could. The internet is useless, often can't even connect and cuts out in the middle of watching a video (for example).
    Have complained multiple times, but because my speed test (when I can connect) is within the promised limit they say everything must be fine so they can't do anything. The speed test doesn't account for being unable to connect. It also doest seem to be possible that we are receiving the said speeds as if the internet does connect it is painfully slow (2 minutes to open a simple email, no pictures).
    Have been holding out before leaving to get fibre optic, unfortunately EE are the only ever providers currently in the area!
    Can't put up with no internet any longer, using all of my mobile phone data to hotspot when I need to work at home is unacceptable. Will be leaving EE today.

    TL;DR: DO NOT GET EE INTERNET. IT DOES WORK AND THEY WON'T DO ANYTHING TO TRY AND FIX IT
  • Reviewer
    Location
    England
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Always crashes, it's really slow, and you can be kept on hold for an hour or more. Terrible.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Shocking braodband. Opted for fibre and it is slow and intermittent. HATE that I'm locked into a contract because it is nothing short of dire! I now use more mobile data.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Nottingham
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      4 stars
    • Customer Service
      4 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    i have not been displeased until i tried to move to another provider, then the guy in retention tried to bully me into staying advising that i would hate talk talk and they were the worst provider ever. before that i have been been pleased with the service, not sure whether to stay or go now
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Somerset
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I've had 3 engineers over. 2 new routers. 1 booster. Numerous calls. Changes to all the connections etc. I must have been on the phone for a total of 48hrs to ee about their broadband. I live in a 2bed flat and you can only get Internet in the living room and partially in 1st bedroom. My average download is 7mbps and upload is 12mbps.
    The contract is finally due to end in Feb.
    I have signal from my neighbour's BT broadband in my home.
    I would not recommend to anyone.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Hillsborough, Co.Down
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Recently switched to EE. Went from bad to even worse- if that is possible.
    You spend hours and hours of your life on hold waiting to speak to someone, then get cut off when the phone is answered.
    The customer service is dreadful - I have had the EE broadband service for around 3 weeks now, and most of that time,I have had no internet. I have been calling India to get someone to fix my internet in Northern Ireland...cheap for them, but very difficult to communicate with.
    If you want no broadband, poor customer service and to spend hours of your life on hold listening to tinny music, then EE is the one to choose.
    Do NOT pick this company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Dundee
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      2 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I had been with Orange for years but now it is EE the broadband speed and reliability is terrible. Paying for 8 MBps and lucky if I get 0.5 MBps. The speed has been going this way for the last few months.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    The WORST company I have EVER come across. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY! The WiFi turns off every single night without fail and funnily enough it always seems to happen once the office are closed therefore I cannot contact them. And when I have called I’ve been told that the WiFi needs to have a problem at the time I call so that they can see the issue. They also refuse to help you unless all your bills are up to date even if you have a payment plan. I wouldn’t even recommend this company to my dog
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Essex
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely the worse broadband suppliers on the planet! DO NOT JOIN, yes they are cheap but you really do get what you pay for. I joined only a week ago & have left to go with BT! They mess around with you connection speed so every time it happens you ring them up to complain & within a day it's not working again or running really slow. Don't believe me ask them, they don't deny it. I hope they go bust, fraudsters at its finest & even there phone line says they have high calls due to broadband, now I wonder why, oh yes cos they are absolutely shocking!!
    1 week & I have called them over 10 times to sort it out & they try & blame you & make out the connections fine when it's not. The customer service is rude & just massively disapointing, they are also worse than TalkTalk & that says something as they are awful too.
    If I could give no stars I would cos they don't deserve even 1 but wanted to warn people not to join you will soon regret it.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Heanor
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Abysmal from day 1. Just been rung back by a guy in customer services after I said I didn't want to continue the call because I found him rude and aggressive. He only phoned back to continue the slanging match! It's not what I thought I was signing up for and whenever I've tried it call, there's either no answer or I get disconnected. I never experienced anything like this with orange. We will end our mobile contracts as soon as we can too
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sunderland
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    ZERO STARS! ABYSMAL! I ordered broadband in December 2014 with installation for 21st Jan 2015. No engineer turned up and nobody had bothered to communicate this. I submitted around 3 phone calls to the contact centre, submitted 5 online complaints and I got a joke of a response that contained bad grammar & spelling mistakes. The response basically told me to ring new line which I already had, 3 times and 40mins each call. The latest was I wouldn't be able to get an update on installation until May 2015!!!!!!! Total disgrace. Inefficient. Useless. Trying to get my deposit back & have gone with sky instead!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      3 stars
    Comments
    WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED!!!!
    I have been an EE customer for a year. Broadband speed and reliability for me were mostly ok, but then I moved house (still within London)....3 weeks later I still have no landline phone and no broadband. I have spent over 2 hours on the phone (at my cost) trying to find out what is going on - most of this is spent on hold, or being asked the same questions over and over by call centre staff who clearly couldn't care less. On one occasion when I spoke to the call centre late one evening, the man asked me to hang on after answering, then cut me off when it reached 11pm without saying a thing! I have spoken to more than 10 different people and received 10 different answers. On two occasions I was told they would look into the problem and call back - they never did. On one occasion when I did get a call-back it came from a BT helpline number! All in all I would AVOID EE - the customer service is SO useless and rude that if anything goes wrong you'll end up paying as much to solve it as you would by taking a slightly more expensive package with another provider.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Manchester
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      2 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Constant problems with speed , really slow. Sometimes the WiFi doesn’t work for a full day which is really annoying & it came to a point where everybody in the house was just using their mobile data.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leeds
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I joined EE thinking I had signed up to a good deal.. was i fooled.. YES! I was billed a ridiculous amount and after speaking to someone, we arranged a amount i will pay each month.. i missed ONE payment and was then billed 390 pound!!!!!! are use for real? no contact was made.. one text to say your bill is ready, then after been disconnected a letter to inform on that! save yourself debt they don't tell you there gonna rob you!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    EE is the worst broadband i have ever had i only get 876 kbs its disgraceful. Its crap, end of.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Lancashire
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Do not get involved with EE or Orange, not only is their customer service dreadful, the whole company ethos seems to be about trickery and broken promises rather than providing a service worth paying for, save yourself a lot of trouble and go somewhere else.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Burnham
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    It has come as a real shock that broadband can be as slow as this with no customer care support and no interest from EE at all once you have been duped into signing the contract. I would give no points or even minus points if I could it is that bad!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    NI
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Gangsters, mis sold product,terrible customer service, rude and misinformed. Cant even believe they can get away with their conduct. They are the most complained about service for a reason.They lock you into a contract telling lies and then when you want to look into anything or have an issue your put on hold for up to an hour and a half. This issue has been ongoing for weeks and out of about 20 people I have spoken too none knew what was going on and most were rude and kept transferring me onto someone else.Actually in shock that they are a big legitimate company. Constant lies and incompetence
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Bristol
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Absolutely useless
    Moved house 10 weeks ago and they can't switch the line
    After contacting them several times

    If you can't do the job don't stay on business
    Waist off time
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Comments
    EE are absolutely awful, I wish I had searched online to read the other terrible reviews before signing up with them. I signed up at the beginning of September 2014 and as of today in January 2015 4 MONTHS LATER I STILL HAVE NO INTERNET OR PHONE CONNECTION. I have been patient but have finally snapped when the rude woman at the Indian Call Centre said I would have to pay for the engineer to come out since according to their system everything was fine. I pointed out that it was EE who were responsible for setting up the phone/internet line in the first place on the engineer's first visit, and that I have not done anything to it since, I didn't see why I should have to pay. She insisted their computer system said it was working and that it was my fault. Everyone please do not waste your time or money with this company.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Home
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Poor connection and loss of speed. Called today for help and after almost an hour on the phone I was none the wiser and not better off. Not happy. Have had a completely wasted day with work.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Leicester
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    Engineer sent to wrong address
    5 weeks to get a connection and 42 phonecalls
    Damage done to business
    They never have any clue what the issues are with the service
    Takes a day to upload 5 minute video
    Engineers do not show up
    Call centre is AWFUL
    Despite having no service call centre informs me they will charge me hundreds of pounds to leave and they can leave me without a service for up to a month before I can break the contract
    Awful company - the worst
    I pay over £80 a month for the pleasure
    Still sending DPA and personal information to my old address
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Sheffield
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    EE is the worst company I've ever come a cross. The customer service is disgraceful I can get more sense out of my 7 year old son then them. The whole price plan had been mixed up and had to call them 6 times explaining the same thing as the overcharged me for service that was supposed to be free. Every person I spoke to was worst then the last one. Thank god I left during the 14 day cooling off period as I had to be on the phone up to 4 times a day with them to sort out all their issues. One customer service assistant told me I shouldn't leave them as I just get the same service for more money from any other company.....what a cheek!!! Avoid avoid avoid!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    newport
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      3 stars
    • Customer Service
      3 stars
    • Speed
      2 stars
    • Reliability
      2 stars
    Comments
    Internet is too slow! Deeply regret moving to EE.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      3 stars
    • Reliability
      4 stars
    Comments
    Always when I try to call customer service I wait for 20-30 minutes on the line until I get through. The representative promised to call me back 2 hours later but he didn't so I had to call them again and wait on the line for another 30 minutes. This looks like a standard way of trying to get through. Frustrating.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I called EE twice this month asking whether I can move my broadband onto my housemate by calling them. They told me twice it was an easy quick process. I called them today and they said I had to send them a formal letter !!! I canceled my contract completely. Never again.
  • Reviewer
    Location
    London
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      1 star
    • Customer Service
      1 star
    • Speed
      1 star
    • Reliability
      1 star
    Comments
    I will never use EE again!!!!
  • Reviewer
    Location
    78 dickens road
    Reviewing
    EE
    Date
    Ratings
    • Satisfaction
      5 stars
    • Customer Service
      5 stars
    • Speed
      5 stars
    • Reliability
      5 stars
    Comments
    Absolutely excellent speeds i definitely recommend the fibre plus broadband if you have loads of devices connected to the wifi at the same time on the first day i recieved speeds of 50mbps

The reviews published on this page are those of the individual authors who have warrantied that they abide by our review guidelines. Reviews are not the opinion of Broadband.co.uk.