Sky Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Sky.

Overall Customer Ratings for Sky

  • Satisfaction 2.5 Stars
  • Speed 2 Stars
  • Reliability 3 Stars
  • Customer Service 3 Stars

Based on 34685 customer ratings and 105 user reviews since 2009-04-02

  • Listing 105 reviews on 11 pages 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
I've been a Sky+ HD, telephone and broadband customer for the best part of 3 years and during that time had very little issues with the (non-customer support) service received in return for my £60 pcm. The broadband was always fast and reliable, the phone line was always active and the HD TV quality was great.

When we first signed up to Sky 3 years ago, they confirmed an installation date and then didn't even turn up/communicate they were no longer coming so having taken a day off work wasn't a good start.

In addition they started the cancellation process of my Sky contract on the instruction of a 3RD PARTY without even checking / validating the request with me!! This has led to weeks of jumping through hoops and being passed between Sky departments to avoid having the broadband and TV cut off.

I'm now looking to move house which will require me to move to a temporary property before moving into my new permanent one. This means that I can't simply move my Sky subscription so instead I'm having to cancel my subscription with the intention of re-joining in a month or so.

Trying to cancel my contract has been a complete nightmare. Sky appear to have deliberately made the cancellation as difficult as they possibly can, ignoring emails and letters, not returning phone calls, cutting me off whilst on active phone calls and passing me around department to department. When asked to speak to a senior manager/complaints department they repeatedly cut hung up on me or refused to put me through, stating that Sky doesn't have a complaints department (despite it clearly stating you can complain by phone on their website).

I am SO dissapointed with Sky's customer service that there is now no chance that I will re-sign up with them when I move into my new property as I will opt for BT or Virgin Media.
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 4 Stars
  • Customer Service 4 Stars
Life of Man UK Sky Broadband Unlimited with Talk Weekends 2014-04-03  
I called Sky with fault in sky broadband and they told me engineer will be with me on Sat between 8 - 13:00, I was told I must be home to attend engineer or else I will be charged £99, I cancelled all my plans for the weekend (a bright sunny day) and waited whole day no one arrived no call about cancellation. At 2:00pm I called Sky to find out an engineer may visit me later, so waited another hour and half and called again at 15:35 and at that time I was told actually no one is planned to visit me today as broadband is out due to common fault and I must wait for another 7+ days before this fault get fixed.

This company have guts to charge you £99 for booking an engineer and not attending the call, but have no customer service ethics to inform you in time when this engineer visit is cancelled, and when you complain that you called they give you candies for not providing you internet and all the service for good 10 days by refunding of £20.

I will never recommend such a company to anyone, and will be looking for a switch as first priority.

If you are thinking of going for a broadband with sky, think twice.
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 2 Stars
  • Customer Service 1 Stars
Basit London Sky Sky Offers 2014-03-29  
I would never again subscribe to Sky Broadband, TV or anything else from sky. I only got sky because of the pause, rewind and record function but now evey provider has that ability. I found i never actually watched any of the sky channels. I have had nothing but bad service, technical faults and poor technical advice from the begining. I was with them for 2 years overall. They didn't fix anything, they charge you for everything even if its their fault. They don't actually have a customer service department which i found out when i tried to complain, I was passed around to people who couldnt speak or write in English. I was about to re-instate the broadband just because I thought it would be easier than finding another provider - how wrong i was! I have just been on the phone for 10 minutes to sky who didnt actually do anything for me in the end and wanted to pass me to another department. I told him I was leaving sky permenantly because of this phonecall and he said ok and hung up! It turns out anything is easier than trying to get through to sky or get anything out of them. Once they take your money and set up direct debit. They no longer care. Also after looking around at some other providers have found that others offer the same kind fo package for broadband but at faster speeds and lower monthly payments! If sky knew how thier agents talk to customers and that skys only hope of staying ahead of the game is to retain thier existing customer base because once the exisiting customers see they are being over charged for a lesser service they will change too!
Don't bother use Sky chat they justignore your questions and give you a number to call! Dont try to complain because they dont have a complaints department! Im so glad im no longer with sky - what a horrible experience it has been over all - Waste of time, energy and money.
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 2 Stars
  • Customer Service 2 Stars
sanita london Sky Variety Bundle with Unlimited Broadband 2014-03-19  
So I changed address, I used to have Virginmedia but unfortunately they don't supply at my new place so I switched to Sky. Well, it's like stepping back in time 5 years, I'm supposed to get 16 mb download speed b ut only get 11 mb, the connection is dodgy at best and if I use On Demand it uses my broadband. So let's see, for exactly the same price with Virginmedia I had 60 mb download speed and a TiVo box with it's own dedicated 10 mb supply for On Demand, now I'm basically paying for the same speed my TiVo box had for itself. Please, please if you have a choice, go Virginmedia every time.
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 2 Stars
  • Reliability 1 Stars
  • Customer Service 2 Stars
Danoi Rotherham Sky Broadband Unlimited with Talk Weekends 2014-03-16  
I'm writing this as an ex sky customer having switched to EE. I want to move back go Sky. Ok, it's a big more, but worth it for no broadband glitches in iplayer, remote working, better Xbox performance.
  • Satisfaction 4 Stars
  • Speed 4 Stars
  • Reliability 5 Stars
  • Customer Service 5 Stars
Mark Cardiff Sky Broadband Unlimited with Talk Weekends 2014-03-15  
I cancelled my Sky account in November 2013 due to changing to Virgin for a cheaper solution, all went well and closed all accounts. At the end of February 2014 I get a letter from Sky detailing an outstanding balance on my account relating to bills after I cancelled with them and furthermore bills I have not seen. Straight on the phone to get to the bottom of it and I go round and round in circles with customer services being passed from pillar to post not getting a straight answer. Finally a billing consultant confirms the error is with Sky and that they will clear the bill and close the account. All seems good. one week later I get an email and letter from a debt recovery service working on behalf of Sky seeking to recover the outstanding balance! Contact debt recovery service and they say they are just doing as told. Contact Sky and have to go round the houses again to explain the problem and get a solution. Today I have spoken to Sky, all calls at my expense as they never call back or contacted me by other means and they say they have cleared the account and notified the debt recovery service. They claim a letter will arrive in 7 days to clear this mess up, I will be surprised and suspect the next knock at the door will be the police to take me away for unpaid Sky bills! Utter rubbish and a waste of money by Sky, would be better not to have customer services and make more profit!
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 2 Stars
  • Customer Service 2 Stars
Matt Ewing Bristol Sky Original Bundle with Broadband Lite 2014-03-14  
Rubbish as anything as i was with O2 and when i was moving house they transferred to Bloody sky. Ever since i am paying every month for NOT WORKING BROADBAND Called numerous time with sky no help at all. All they ask to do unplug and plugging the wires no any improvement on speed. And customer service talks rubbish as my main socket is by the main door and asking me to move the computer which is not possible. Now im going to cancel the contract or cancel the direct debit.
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 1 Stars
  • Customer Service 1 Stars
Rihan Slough Sky Broadband Connect 2014-03-11  
Unable to use any broadband after
16.00 Hrs.due to bad Sky equipment at exchange. BT was fine for 10Years
with no problems. Wish I had not changed to Sky broadband.I have had download speeds of .02Meg!!!, and also nothing.
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 1 Stars
  • Customer Service 1 Stars
J.V.Cooper Whitchurch, Hampshire Sky Broadband Unlimited with Talk Weekends (Existing Sky TV Customers) 2014-03-07  
Awful, awful, awful.
I would recommend Sky to people who are lonely and like the idea of being on the phone for 45 minutes every other day for a month trying to sort out installation problems. Especially if you like talking to people who have no understanding of what has been discused previously as they work in different buildings and information is not passed on.
It took us a month to get our internet sorted and even then the 'fibre optic' speed was slower than under my old contract. I will be leaving as soon as my contract allows.
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 1 Stars
  • Customer Service 1 Stars
Tony Sussex Sky Fibre Unlimited 2014-03-07  
Sadly there isnt a 'no star' rating, so Ive had to choose 1 star. Connection keeps dropping tho sky say its fine. It doesnt drop now and then, it drops regularly, dozens of times a day for as much as an hour at a time before you can get back on line. Joined 2/1/14 and as of today, we are STILL having issues. No connection for as much as 45/60 minutes at a time. Was with 02 for 6 or 7 years never an issue. Sky say they are waiting for the line to 'stableise'. They have had me plugging and unplugging things in and out. Sky are bloody useless. NO WAY would I recommend them. Its that bad, despite me currently having an offer of £15 for the YEAR (as a previous 02 customer) I am now off to Virgin and will gladly pay for it just to get the internet. AVOID AVOID AVOID. Dont waste your time and effort. Spend your money elsewhere, SKY are just totally and utterly diabolical. Cannot stress enough how useless they are. there arent sufficent words to describe their incompetance.
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 1 Stars
  • Customer Service 1 Stars
VINCE MINER BRISTOL Sky 2014-03-02  

Loading...

  • Listing 105 reviews on 11 pages 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9