Sky Reviews

Sometimes the best way to get a feel for a broadband provider is to read what those who are already customers think of the service they're receiving. Below are all the reviews we've received for Sky.

Recent Customer Ratings for Sky

  • Satisfaction 3 Stars
  • Speed 2.5 Stars
  • Reliability 3 Stars
  • Customer Service 3.5 Stars

Based on 7675 customer ratings since 2014-04-18 (Show all time ratings)

Visit Sky   Read our Sky buyers guide

Ratings are left by users of our speed test as well as by reviewers. Recent star ratings summarise the last 12 months of ratings or the last 100 ratings placed, whichever is largest.

278 Customer Reviews for Sky

  • Showing page 1 of 28, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Reviewer Location Reviewing Date Ratings
I'm sorry if readers are looking for a review on the reliability and speed of the broadband itself. I never got that far. I spent 4 months for the most part without working internet while they were trying to get Fibre Broadband installed in my flat. They kept saying they could provide the service to me, while over the 4 month period I had 5 separate engineers tell me they couldn't find my signal. Before each time an engineer arrived, Sky would tell me the problem was fixed. The only reason I had a landline with Sky was so I could use their broadband. My bills were only for calls to their customer service. Also I had taken time off work so that engineers could come to my property. As my Sky account history got more and more complex, I would spend 10 minutes waiting for the customer service assistant on the other end of the line to read up on my notes. I need broadband for freelance work. I had to travel to other places to get it. Sky promised again and again that it would work on the next install attempt. They wouldn't give me any compensation. Furthermore they decided to delete my account and start over because my account history was getting too complex. Because of this they now won't recognise how long and frustrating this process has been. At the end of the 4 month period I told them that I still didn't have a working connection. That was the last contact I had with them for a year. At which point I realised that they had been charging me for the broadband service for that year. I contacted them and they refuse a full refund, telling me that I am partly responsible for not telling them sooner that they were wrongfully charging me, despite the fact that I had told them in advance of the charges that their last install attempt failed. I don't see why any business should have the right to start charging a customer for service after the customer tells them they're not receiving service. I thought it was bad enough that I wasn't getting any compensation for the stress, 4 months of traveling to use broadband, and taking time off work to let engineers in. Now they won't give me a full refund for the money they took from me.

Just an utterly incompetent and immoral company. It was the worst experience I've ever had dealing with a group of human beings in my life.
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 1 Stars
  • Customer Service 1 Stars
J Sav Glasgow Sky 2015-04-15  
The WORST broadband I can imagine.
Your router tells you one thing (namely the speeds they promise you), but speedtest after speedtest show that you don't get those speed.

I actually need to go away and make a cup of tea so I can watch a 2 minute video on youtube.

Stay away.
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 1 Stars
  • Customer Service 1 Stars
Jim Aberdeen Sky 2015-04-14  
Cancelled sky, due to bad internet services. Had engineer out on 3-4 occasions to sort internet going down all the time. Had the same old response everything should be working fine now then they go and it stops working again. Moved to BT infinity brilliant internet no issues.
Sky have charged me after cancellation with the eating letter all because BT didn't take over the line properly. Sky said its BT fault but you need to pay the outstanding balance to close account. What an absolute joke. I wouldn't recommend sky to my worst enemy.
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 1 Stars
  • Customer Service 1 Stars
Mark S Macclesfield Sky 2015-04-13  
The worst provider of broadband I have ever come across. Just about the bottom of the pit. My broadband signal kept disconnecting and disrupting my work on the computer internet. Tried phoning them. Answerphone related message " No service afyer midnights " This went on for 7 nights on the trot. I tried phoning during day and could not get through to customer services until the 6th day. Half way through I was hung up on. Kept ringing several days after " nO CONNECTION MADE WITH STAFF. Then I phoned to cancel. They could not answer quick enough. Pleading with me what they could do to put matters right. But the problems had occurred time and time again over several months, and so I cancelled my contract.
The next thing was phone calls on my mobile wanting to speak to me and ask me to remain a sky customer. I said 'no'. After this, they started sending me childish emails on a 'no reply' basis. They continued pestering me by email. The result was I was obliged to report their emails as spam to Google.
Never again will I join SKY. Once they have sold you the contract...that is it. They are no longer interested in you as a customer.
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 1 Stars
  • Customer Service 1 Stars
Johnny Gloucestershire Gloucestershire Sky 2015-04-12  
Have been with sky for a few years now exercellent internet never a problem the only down side is I pay the bill but not on the account so can never talk to them as they won't discuss the account with me but happy the same to take my money
  • Satisfaction 5 Stars
  • Speed 2 Stars
  • Reliability 5 Stars
  • Customer Service 5 Stars
andy nottingham Sky 2015-04-12  
TAKE NOTE FOR YOUR OWN SAKE KEEP WELL CLEAR OF SKY.
The SKY Broadband Service has become widely known as the SKY TORTOISE SERVICE. It truly is pathetically slow.
TRY PHONING THEM UP WITH A PROBLEM - Press Button 'this and that' Result - No reply, no reply, no reply ! Call between such and such a time....Our lines are busy at the moment, please call back...Our lines are closed after midnight...all excuses under the sun not to answer you.
DIAL AND PRESS BUTTON for cancellation Result - " Hello SKY, how can we help you.. Sorry to hear that you want to cancel,is there anything we can do to put it right ?" You reply - No this is not the first time, the problem is occurring every day. I am constantly being disconnected via the pathetic so called new router {CRAP}. HA, IT HAS GOT TO BE A FAULT WITH YOUR WIRING CONNECTIONS.
" No, all has been checked out by a qualified engineer. The problem is SKY end .
TIME AFTER TIME AFTER TIME the same thing; can't get through to SKY to report a problem. HOWEVER, they speedily answer if you choose the button to cancel your subscription, and they talk to you ever so nice.
WARNING: Don't bother talking to their SKY CALL CENTRE at night time, they are a waste of time and space. You will get very little help if any. Their quality of clear spoken English is abysmal and they are difficult to understand.
WHEN YOU ARE ADAMENT THAT YOU WISH TO CANCEL, AND GIVE THEM NOTICE....Further troubles start with your broadband service. They slow up your broadband speed and disrupt your service even more...day after day after day. They do all the can to make you wish you had never cancelled. That is the attitude of these cretins, unfortunately. NEVERTHELESS, STICK IT OUT, AS THE SOONER THE BETTER THAT YOU CHANGE PROVIDERS FROM SKY TO ANOTHER BROADBAND PROVIDER. Better still, STAY CLEAR of this TORTOISE company, and choose another provider. Look at the ratings of each provider, and their reviews, and decide how much you are prepared to pay also. But BEWARE OF SKY, this abysmal bottom of the pit provider, or it will be you who will be the loser at the end of the day. Following this review, I shall no doubt have further deliberate disruptions. This review is not sour grapes, but merely an honest and truthful account of the service they provide to their Customers. There are many more providers out their who will be glad of your custom and are prepared to offer you a better service. Don't think about it....simply do it.
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 1 Stars
  • Customer Service 1 Stars
Johnny Gloucester GLOUCESTER, England Sky 2015-04-11  
It's been a nightmare with internet since I moved into the flat. I firstly thought maybe my roommates were downloading too much, I disable the Wifi and did a test: same results.
Over 400ms ping, a miserable download speed, ...
Avoid to go to Sky.
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 2 Stars
  • Reliability 1 Stars
  • Customer Service 1 Stars
Nicolas Liverpool Sky 2015-04-10  
Watchdog should investigate this diabolical company. I had O2 broadband for 3 years and didn't have a single problem. They were then bought by Sky and I didn't have the time to source another provider. Massive fail!!
At least twice a month I waste an evening on the phone to their technical 'robots' trying to solve the issue that's clearly at their end. My wireless works intermittently at the best of times but since the bank holiday weekend it's been practically non existent.
Thank god my contract ends at the end of the month and I no longer have to pay for this total sham of a service.
Disgraceful and deeply frustrating!!!
Steer clear at all costs!!!
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 1 Stars
  • Customer Service 1 Stars
Eels0929 London Sky 2015-04-09  
Overall sky is absolutely appauling internet. Consistantly playing up ( dropping and appauling download and upload speeds).
  • Satisfaction 1 Stars
  • Speed 1 Stars
  • Reliability 1 Stars
  • Customer Service 1 Stars
David Kent Sky 2015-04-06  
I've had sky for over a year and it's been problem after problem I was offline for over a month and they still charged me for it so gonna switch to bt
  • Satisfaction 2 Stars
  • Speed 4 Stars
  • Reliability 2 Stars
  • Customer Service 1 Stars
Daniel wood witham essex Sky 2015-04-04  

Loading...

  • 278 reviews, showing page 1 of 28, skip to page 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
Broadband.co.uk